Home of a mother, wife, writer

This week has been going pretty well. I got ahead on Monday and stayed caught up yesterday. I’m already most of the way through my goals for today. At the rate I’m going, I should be to my reading goal by lunchtime. If I get all my reading done for today, I can even get started on tomorrow’s goals.

Today is Wednesday, which means time to share another snippet for WiPPet Wednesday. I have 10 paragraphs(1+2+7) from Love Who You Love(Kurztown #3). This is Susan(Doren’s sister) & Kendall’s story, with some Chris thrown in(I actually thought there was going to be more of a love triangle, but that wasn’t working, so he’s stepping back. But, he’ll have his own story later).

“No,” he said, his face flaming with heat. “No, I don’t think any of that. I just know there’s always been something about you and Kendall. And the way you are with her, the way you talk about her. I just wondered if there was something there.”
“There’s nothing,” Susan said but wouldn’t meet his eyes.
“Sue,” he said softly and waited for her gaze to come back to his. Something wounded in her dark brown eyes tore at his heart. “We’ve already established we’re friends, right?” She nodded, and he added, “And that you’re practically a little sister to me.” She winced, and he let out a rough laugh. “I know we thought maybe it could be more, but that’s what it is. I’d hope Lyndsey would tell me what was going on in her life, too.”
She dropped her gaze again and twisted a ring she wore on her right middle finger. “I don’t know,” she whispered. “There’s always been…something. You’re right about that. But, she’s my best friend. I don’t know if it’s enough to ruin that.”
“Why do you think it would? Going out with me hasn’t ruined our friendship. Has it?”
She shook her head. “I hope not. But, that’s different. You’re not the same kind of friend she is. I can tell her anything. I don’t want to ruin that.”
“Have you told her you have feelings for her?”
“No. Didn’t I just say I didn’t want to ruin everything we do have?”
“I’ve seen the way she looks at you, Sue. It’s not going to ruin anything.” He squeezed her hand then stepped back. “Think about it. You shouldn’t have to keep your feelings a secret. There’s nothing wrong with them.”
He turned and walked out of the house. He would have told Lyndsey the same thing, but he had lied about one thing. It wasn’t completely brotherly affection he felt for Susan. He just wasn’t sure it was enough to put himself through being with her when she loved someone else.

I feel like I’ve been struggling with this story. But, that could be partly because I’ve only been writing about 1k a day before switching to revisions. Next month, I’m going to shift how I do things, but I’m going to keep at it for the rest of this week.

  • Love Who You Love – 33000 words – 31042/33000 words.
  • My Way to You – Pre-revision(scene map, time line, note cards) – I got the scene map & time line done.
  • Stained Snow – continue to edit as I get chapters back – 13 chapters edited. Waiting to get more back now.
  • Come Back Down – get to 18000 words – 16115/18000 words.
  • Read: Writing Vivid Settings – 100% – at about 94% through this.
  • Read: The Year We Fell Down(Sarina Bowen), Star Cruise: Marooned(Veronica Scott), Not in the Script(Amy Finnegan), & A Home By the Sea(Christina Skye), Rev It Up(Julie Ann Walker), Last Will & Testament(Dahlia Adler), Roses are Red, Violet is Dead(Monica-Marie Vincent), The Things You Kiss Goodbye(Leslie Connor), Of Metal and Wishes(Sarah Fine), Red(Kate Serine), Warrior Mage(Lindsay Buroker), and First Time in Forever(Sarah Morgan) – Enjoyed all the ones I’ve finished so far this week. I’m about 69% through A Home by the Sea. I may not get to the rest of these, but it’s what’s left on my list for the month.
  • Loom: Zig Zag Hat – Finished this yesterday. wp-1453911831298.jpg

Hoping this week continues to go well. On Sunday, I’ll have my monthly wrap-up and my plan for next month.

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Getting Ahead" (12)

  1. Nice progress! Sorry to hear that you’re struggling. Sometimes a story just won’t cooperate. But keep at it, it will come together. I enjoyed the snippet. 🙂

  2. Gorgeous hat! Now to the snippet. I liked how Chris was supportive to Susan, and it’s only at the end of the scene that the reader realizes he’s holding back on revealing his feelings — just as Susan is holding back on revealing her feelings for Kendall. Nice twist. A thousand words a day? Pretty amazing progress.

    • Thanks.
      And I know 1k is good for some people, but when I’m focusing on drafting, a good day is at least 4-5k. So, this just makes it seem like it’s taking forever to write.

  3. I really like this. It feels realistic. Love triangles often make me roll my eyes because they’re so predictable, but this (him having feelings but her not spending the book being torn between two love interests) is really nice.

  4. Interesting snippet, for the reasons both Beth and Kate have mentioned. It is realistic that someone would step back, both because they want the best for that person, and honestly, for themselves as well.

    I hope concentrating on drafting gets you back to your accustomed speed. It’s disconcerting to be slower than one is used to being.

  5. I very much appreciate a non-love-triangle. My friend and I were discussing just recently how it is possible for more than one person to be attracted to the same other person and for it not to go into love triangle territory, but damn are they popular in fiction. So kudos for that!

    • I don’t mind reading them occasionally. To often though it seems one just isn’t a good match for the one they’re going after, and I just don’t feel it. And Chris is genuinely a good guy, so I felt like it made more sense for him to step back, definitely when there didn’t seem to be the chemistry between them I thought there would be

  6. I hope your story starts to cooperate soon! ALSO OMG THAT TWIST AT THE END OF THE SNIPPET! I’m definitely intrigued now!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

