Home of a mother, wife, writer

I’m running late today. I could make excuses, but basically: I meant to edit 1 chapter of Stained Snow, but then ended up reading through the rest of it and got caught up in it. Oops? So, I fell behind on the rest of my stuff, too. Typing this up while I get dinner ready.

First, it’s WiPPeT Wednesday again. Today I have 16 sentences(1-20+2+0+1-6) from Chapter 17.

Adrian pulled up in front of Caitie’s apartment. “You sure you don’t want me to drop you at Mark’s?”
She shook her head. “Doesn’t make sense for him to bring me back here every morning so I can change. I’m going to pack a few things up and drive my car over.”
He stared at her. “You ready to move in with him already?”
“I’m not moving in. Just leaving a few things there.”
His lips quirked up. “That’s the first step, you know. More and more stuff will get left there, until you live there more than you do here.”
“Fine with me. He can get used to me that way.”
Adrian laughed. “Caitie, none of us can get used to you.”

Gotta love family. Especially when you work with them. 😉

Now, on to my RoW80 update:

  • Love Who You Love – get to 28000 words – sitting at 26096 right now. Staying on track.
  • Flames of Retribution – Polish – working on the last 1/3 of the list of words. On ‘was’ right now, which always takes forever.
  • Stained Snow – continue to edit chapters as I get them back. – I have 9/11 chapters edited
  • Come Back Down – get to 16000 words – 14123/16000 words
  • Read: Writing Vivid Settings – 80% – 67%
  • Read: Between Everything and Us(Rebecca Paula), The Siren(Tiffany Reisz), Only His(Susan Mallery), The Year We Fell Down(Sarina Bowen), Star Cruise: Marooned(Veronica Scott), Not in the Script(Amy Finnegan), & A Home By the Sea (Christina Skye) – Finished Between Everything and Us on Monday and really enjoyed it, even if I was crying through part of the end. Started The Siren yesterday and got about half of it. Nothing wrong with it, but it’s just not the book for me. So, I’m going to be moving on to Only His later today.
  • Loom: Zig Zag Hat – have made a little progress on this.

A lot of green so far this week. Hoping to turn some of that to blue by this weekend.

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Late Today" (8)

  1. Sounds like you’re making great progress on your ROW80 goals 🙂

  2. I love that going back to read and getting lost feeling! I hope you enjoy it, guilt free. =)

    • Yes! And then after reading a scene in Flames of Retribution, I got the urge to read through the next one in that series. So I’ve been doing that in between other tasks today.

  3. Lots of green means work-in-progress, which is way better than lots of red. I’m always amazed at the number of projects you’re juggling/working on. I’m not sure how many chapters STAINED SNOW has, 11? and you’re done editing 9? I like the way you got caught up in ‘reading the whole thing’ because even unconsciously, that kind of reading w/editing means more coherence, tighter story telling. And if you’re engaged, we readers will be too! That humor in the WIPpet worked nicely to end the scene. Hope you have a great week ahead.

    • Stained Snow actually had 28 chapters+an epilogue. But I’ve only gotten the first 11 back from my beta reader so far.
      Thanks.

  4. I love the family dynamic you show in the snippet!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

