Home of a mother, wife, writer

It’s day 12 of Just Jot It January. Today’s prompt is “skulls”. And I have nothing for this, really. I do have another teaser for Stained Snow, though. I searched through to see if I used the word skull anywhere in the story. But, nope. Instead here’s a bit about hard-headedness.

“David, you’re not coming.” The sheriff had already started forming a posse. Even if William hadn’t been a deputy, the responsibility to join it would have pulled at him. He would have rather get his family home, but that wasn’t a possibility now.
“I can ride a horse too. Why can’t I go, Pa?”
“Because you’re too young. I said you’re not coming.” Had he ever been so hard-headed? Where else could David have gotten the trait from? “It’s too dangerous.”
“You’re going.”
This boy would be the death of him.

I’m still hoping to have this out in March or April, though it may end up being late April. We’ll have to see. Right now I’m working through Edits as I get chapters back from my beta reader. So, once I have them all back, I’ll have a better idea of a release date.

 

Comments on: "Teaser Tuesday/JusJoJan: Day 12 – Skulls" (5)

  1. Not substituting “thick skulled” for “hard-headed” then?

  2. You beta approves of this version. Much tighter and therefore more potent. More of William’s voice.

    If I showed my daughter your snow and your puppy, she’d pout. We’re too far from the big lakes- we’ve got a dusting that looks like it’ll get rained on this weekend…She did get to play a little in the 2 or 3 inches we had, and with the backyard ice, but she loves snow…and it’s been scarce here all season (less than 5 inches total for the season so far…).

    Another chapter coming your way, hopefully before you wake up.=)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

