Home of a mother, wife, writer

Two more days until Christmas. Yesterday was the kids’ last day of school until the new year. This morning we made some chocolate chip cookies, and I’m just about ready to take the second sheet of M&M cookies out of the oven. Those are going to be our Christmas cookies for this year.

wp-1450883451217.jpg wp-1450883444833.jpg

Tomorrow we’ll be going to see my husband’s grandma then over to his mom’s for our Christmas with her. Picking up pizza on the way there. Then, we’ll go down to my mom’s Friday morning after we open presents here. Saturday we’re going to husband’s stepmom’s for our Christmas with her and his siblings. We used to try to see everyone on Christmas. It’s so much easier this way.

cat joined the girl's stuffed animal collection

cat joined the girl’s stuffed animal collection

It’s WiPPet Wednesday, so time for another snippet. I started some pre-revisions on Flames of Retribution this week, but I’m going to share one more snippet from Chasing the Ghost before I move on. This one takes place the day after last week’s. Garren did some looking into Jason’s past, even though his father was willing to trust Jason’s word and his own instincts about people. I have 17 paragraphs(12+2+3) today.

“What did you find?” He hated that his voice grated through his throat.
Garren’s face did soften then. “I spoke to detectives Smolka and Duval in Farmington. They told me Lauren and Adam Matthews were killed in their home. Even though the case is still open, her husband is not considered a suspect. Charles Stevens though, the victims’ father and grandfather is known to hire private detectives to prove otherwise. As well as filing complaints against the department for shoddy investigation practices.” His eyes went hard at. “And to the press with pleas for information on his daughter’s killer, her husband.” He blew out a breath. “I’m sorry, Jason.”
“His daughter,” he muttered. “His daughter but no mention of his grandson.”
“No,” Garren said. “He never mentioned the child in any interviews.”
“Damn bullheaded old bastard,” he muttered. “He told her if she married me, he would never recognize our children. He never once held him. Did nothing for him. But, he tried to get her to leave me because I raised my voice to him.”
Brendan’s hand squeezed his shoulder. “I won’t ask you to leave, Jason, and I hope you won’t.”
“I’ll see about having someone keep an eye on this guy following you,” Garren said. “He hasn’t killed anyone, so there’s not a lot I can do. But, I can call in a few favors.”
The words took him by surprise. “Why? I’m not anything to you. You made it pretty clear last night you don’t like me.”
“I never said that, but I will protect my sister.” He let out a little laugh and ran his fingers through his hair. “Not that she’ll let me. I don’t want to see her hurt.”
Jason met Garren’s eyes. “I don’t want to hurt her either.”
“If someone’s after you, it could happen. Again. I don’t want her hurt again.”
“Garren.” Brendan’s voice was soft. “Would you have stayed away from Lisa if you would have known what would happen?”
Garren turned to his father. “Do you forget me getting drunk and sending her away? Right into the arms of that psycho.” He scrubbed his hand over his face. “She wouldn’t let me send her away anyway. She kept pushing to give us a chance. I wouldn’t give up what we have now.” He sent a sharp look at Jason. “I almost lost my sister to one person bent on revenge. I don’t want it to happen again.”
“Neither do I,” he murmured. “I’m not here to get involved with anyone. I don’t have any plans for that.”
“You know what, Jason,—” one side of Garren’s mouth quirked up again, “when my sister went missing, and I went to talk to her best friend and roommate, I didn’t plan to get involved either. Now, I’m married, sober for the longest stretch of my life, and have two precious little babies. Our plans don’t always make a difference.” He was quiet for a moment before saying, “I think it’s about time Connie had some happiness. The last couple years have been rough for her.”
His words floored Jason. The night before, he’d looked ready to call him out for a duel if he so much as touched his sister. He shook his head. “I don’t-”
Brendan reached out to touch his shoulder. “Stay, Jason. You have a place here, and you’re one of ours now. We fight for ours. I have a feeling not too many people have fought for you.”

So, is Jason going to stick around? Is more trouble going to follow him? Will he ever find out who killed his family?

This week is going very well. I didn’t make a to-do list for this Friday, as it is Christmas. Going to make myself actually take a break. And I’m trying to get everything finished before we go to MIL’s tomorrow. Doing pretty good at that so far. I only have a few more things to get through today, then I’ll start on tomorrow’s list.

  • Love Who You Love: get to 9000 words(taking Christmas off) –  8820/9000. I’ve added 3747 words so far this week. Not going to have any problem meeting my goal. And while writing this morning I learned that Kendall’s oldest brother has a daughter & apparently a custody fight. gotta love the things that pop up and surprise even me.
  • Flames of Retribution: finish pre-revision steps – Got these all finished yesterday. I probably still won’t start revisions until next week.
  • Come Back Down – get to 8000 words – weekend project
  • Read: Writing about Villains – 45% – 22% through this
  • Read: Upside Down(Lia Riley), All Played Out(Cora Carmack), Part-time Cowboy(Maisey Yates), & A Kiss at Midnight(Eloisa James) – finished Upside Down and really enjoyed it. 66% All Played Out. Should finish it today.
  • Loom: Hat – finished this yesterday. wp-1450883440175.jpg

I thought about including my end of round wrap-up in today’s post, but I’d say it’s already long enough. So, I’ll have that on Sunday.

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Coming to the End" (9)

  1. I thought we were the only place that had kids in school until yesterday!

    Those cookies look delicious.

    • Usually we go right up to Christmas eve, depending on where it falls during the week. I was a little surprised they even had Wednesday off.

      They are pretty good cookies.

  2. Lovely hat! Mmm, cookies! And wow, congratulations on working on so many stories at once!

    • Thanks!

      I seem to have trouble only working on one thing at a time, especially if that one thing isn’t drafting something new.

  3. Great snippet that shows real caring for Jason . . . and perhaps a happy-for-now ending? I really enjoy those pics you post of your projects though I’m never sure if it’s knitting or crocheting! That hat looks just right for winter snow. I also like that your goals are very specific in word count and by project. Maybe someday I’ll be back at drafting and looking at word count as well. Have a great Christmas!

    • Thanks. You can pretty much guarantee there’ll be a happy ending to my stories. It may not be a “I’ll love you forever and everything’s perfect” ending, but it will be happy.

  4. I don’t like HEA endings, because real life isn’t like that.Happy for now is much more real.

    I hope Jason stays, and that he and Connie can find something worth sharing with one another.

    • This is why I like writing connected series. You still get to see the other couples as they go on. Even with Garren and Lisa being married, it’s not happily ever after for them exactly.

      • I’m discovering the same thing with my Kifo Island stories…the characters are fascinating, and I get to develop them over time, and through multiple connections and situations, and, even when “their” story ends, I don’t have to just drop them…which is good, because I really like a lot of these people, and I want to know about their lives. =)

        I don’t think it’s ever exactly happily ever after, for anyone. I have a pretty terrific life, all in all – but there are moments, and frictions, and recurring arguments about the same thing, and money that doesn’t always go as far as we’d like and laptops that fail and the list goes on…if characters are going to live real lives, that stuff has to be there with all the beautiful parts.

        You do that very well, and it makes me happy. Much more believable than – they got through this crisis, and never had another. The End.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

