Home of a mother, wife, writer

Less than a week until Christmas. We have our tree up and…yeah, that’s about it. I have most of the shopping done(have to get a gift card for nephew and figure out what we’re doing for parents). But, we haven’t even made cookies yet. Kids only have school Monday and Tuesday, so maybe we’ll make some on Wednesday. Hopefully they’ll turn out better than last year’s when the dough was too sticky to even roll out. Or maybe we’ll make different cookies(I prefer my mom’s M&M cookie recipe to sugar cookies anyway). Our festivities will start Thursday and last through Saturday. At least we’ve got things set up now wehere we aren’t rushing from place to place in one day. We spend Christmas Eve with my MIL, Christmas day at my mom’s, and the next day we’ll be at my step-MIL’s. Having it spread out like that helps so much.

It started snowing Friday night. When I went to bed, there was barely more than a dusting of snow on the porch. By the time I got up, there were several inches(I’m never good at estimating how much, but it was about as high as the top of my snow boots when I went out to shovel). Of course, it’s supposed to be almost 60 degrees by the middle of the week, so it will probably all be gone by Christmas.

finally getting to play in the snow.

finally getting to play in the snow.

this was last Sunday. Big difference.

this was last Sunday. Big difference.

This week has been pretty good. Word count isn’t especially high, but that’s all right. Still getting things done.

  • Love Who You Love – 5000 words – 5073/5000. Was doing pretty good on this until Friday. Just wasn’t feeling it that morning, but still managed to add 586 words. The day before that I’d gotten 1258. Hoping I can get past whatever the problem was tomorrow morning.
  • Chasing the Ghost – finish polishing – got this done Wednesday and started some pre-revision stuff on Flames of Retribution. So glad to be back with my firefighters. Hoping to at least finish the pre-revision stuff this week & maybe even start first round of revisions.
  • Come Back Down – get to 7000 words – 7464/7000 words. Yesterday I only wrote 422 words. Today I got just past the 7000 mark, but words were flowing. I ended up adding 947. Next month I’m planning to up my weekend goal from 1000 to 2000. If they keep coming like today’s words, that shouldn’t be a problem.
  • Read: Word loss Diet – 70% – finished this Friday and the book, which basically ended at 70%. I did add quite a few words to my search & destroy list, though some of the tone of the book irritated me.
  • Read: Bloodlore (Krista Walsh), Sparks Fly (Mari Carr), Fey Touched(Erin Zarro), Unbreak Me(Lexi Ryan), Only Mine (Susan Mallery) – I finished all of these. Even if a couple of them brought me close to tears(I’m a very emotional reader, so this isn’t really a surprise). And Fey Touched is the second book I’ve read in the last few months with a major character with my name. Not a problem really(I did enjoy the story), I just find it funny when I only know 1 or 2 other Fallons in real life. And I read a summary for another book with a Fallon in it. Maybe the name’s becoming more popular?
  • Crochet: Twist’N Shout Hat – finished this Thursdaywp-1450615817240.jpg
  • Loom: Hat – haven’t picked this back up yet. I might get some work done on it today.

Lots of blue today. Hoping there will be even more by the end of the round.

Goals for next week:

  • Love Who You Love: get to 9000 words(taking Christmas off)
  • Flames of Retribution: finish pre-revision steps
  • Come Back Down – get to 8000 words
  • Read: Writing about Villains – 45%
  • Read: Upside Down(Lia Riley), All Played Out(Cora Carmack), Part-time Cowboy(Maisey Yates), & A Kiss at Midnight(Eloisa James)
  • Loom: Hat
Comments on: "Sunday Summary: Almost Christmas" (7)

  1. Can wait til Christmas! Great post, and Happy Holidays!

  2. All we have for snow is an inch or so, with forecast in the 30s all week, so I don’t think we will have a white Christmas either. Makes it hard to get in the spirit, but I do have a few batches of cookies done and wrapped Hubby’s presents this morning.

  3. We’ve had very little snow lately, and I was hoping for a white Christmas. There’s still time!

    I’m glad you enjoyed Fey Touched. I’ve always loved the name Fallon. I think it would be a bit jarring to read a book with a character with my name (I did read one, but she was dead when the book started, so she doesn’t count!). Fallon (my character) was so much fun to write!

    CONGRATS on all of your progress! And Merry Christmas!

    • Ours is already gone again. And is supposed to be 60s this week. Doesn’t look like more snow before Christmas.

      I used to hate my name, seriously HATED it. A big party of that was a lot of trading from kids at school (“help, I’m Fallon and I can’t get up” was a big one). I really did like the character though.

  4. There was snow on our cars the other morning, but none stuck in the yard. Annalise is getting very antsy!

    We just have Lise’s little pink tree, and the kiids’ gifts have been arriving for the last week or so. It’s an extended and very mellow celebration…just right for us.

    Have a very merry Christmas, with more and more and more words!

    • All our snow has melted again already. Not liking like we’ll have a white Christmas this year.
      I have everything all wrapped up now and ready to go.
      Thanks, you too.

      • No white Christmas here, either. I’ve got the kids’ gift bags (this year’s stockings) to finish up, which I’m about to do.

        That’s all that’s left. Because of the weather, we’re planning a little outdoor fire tomorrow evening, and having a mellow day at home.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

