Home of a mother, wife, writer

It’s already been a pretty good week. I’d planned to revise 4 chapters of Chasing the Ghost a day to finish it by the end of this week. I got 10 revised on Monday. So, I ended up getting through the last 10 yesterday. And started my ‘search & destroy’ round. I’ve already cut 500 words.

For WiPPeT Wednesday, I have another 13 paragraphs(12+9-2-0-1-5) from Chasing the Ghost. This is later the same day of last week’s snippet. This is the first time Garren(Connie’s brother) has met Jason since he started working at their family’s ranch. And let’s just say, he’s a bit protective of his little sister.

Garren’s wife leaned around him. “That’s not what he’s worried about. Jason, right?” At his nod, she smiled then continued. “Garren likes to imagine he’s supercop and can stop anything bad from happening.”
“Lisa.” Her name came out as a groan, but she only smiled.
“It’s true, and you know it.” She kissed his cheek before looking back at Jason. “He’s only worried about if his parents or sister will get hurt by letting you in. I’m sure that won’t happen though.”
“No,” he said, looking away from her sharp eyes. “I’m not here to hurt anyone.”
He took another drink but set the glass down when he saw Connie walking through the room. Just behind her walked another man, who he was sure was staring him down. She said something and laughed over her shoulder. He could feel his fingers curling into his palm already. He took a deep breath and let it out, but he could still feel Lisa’s eyes on him.
The man’s hand came to Connie’s shoulder, and he started to step toward them, but Leo grabbed his arm. “Let her come to you, Jason.”
He glanced over at Leo, confused by his words. There was a twinkle in his eye. “What are you talking about? I thought she was with you.”
Leo laughed at that, and Jason even heard Lisa giggle beside him. “Jason, I’ve known Connie since she was ten years old, and my father came to work on the ranch. I’d see her as my sister even if that wasn’t my partner walking in with her. I’m very committed to him, so you don’t have to worry about me standing in your way. Plus, my interests don’t run that way at all.”
Jason felt his face heat a little. “I saw the two of you together earlier today. You looked awfully…affectionate.”
He heard a booming laugh and turned to see the other man standing right in front of them. “Affectionate’s a good term for Leo,” he said to Jason. “He just likes to touch.”
Leo got up from the stool and brushed his lips over the man’s cheek. “That I do.” Then, he looked back at Jason. “Like I said, Connie’s more like a sister to me than anything. The path’s clear for you.”
“No, it isn’t,” Garren growled from beside him.
Jason heard Lisa murmur his name, but he didn’t take his eyes from Connie, so he didn’t know if it calmed the other man or not. “I don’t need a path,” he said, raising his glass again. “I’m not here for a woman.” Yet, he still couldn’t take his eyes from her.

Garren’s worries about Jason will get worse before they get better. And Connie will chew him out once or twice for being too protective of her.

 

  • Love Who You Lovefinish backstories. Start Outlining. – finished back stories. Wrote plot summary and outlines for each main character, then merged those into one. Just need to put it into scrivener and do chapter/scene summaries. 2367 words of plotting words written this week.
  • Chasing the Ghost – finish 2nd round revisions. Start Polishing round. Like I said, finished 2nd round yesterday. Added 131 words before starting polishing round.
  • Come Back Down – get to 6000 words – weekend project
  • Read: Word-loss Diet – 45% – just over 35%
  • Read: Finish Dirty Thoughts, Dash of Peril(Lori Foster), Fix You(Mari Carr), A Harry Situation(Kristy K James), & The Iron Daughter(Julie Kagawa) – finished Dirty Thoughts(loved) and Dash of Peril(another good one). Started Fix You this morning. Already 25% through it, so it’s going to be a quick read.
  • Crochet: Brimmed Hat – I’ve almost finished this. Just have to finish the brim and finish it up.

 

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Ahead of Schedule" (10)

  1. Another product week for you. I can’t wait to read the whole story!

  2. Leo… LMAO. Excellent. I love the set-up here.

  3. Ha! I like Leo. And I’m glad Connie’s going to chew Garren out. Men like him annoy me so much. LOL!

    • So glad you like Leo.
      In Garren’s defense, 2 years ago, he wasn’t sure he’d see his sister alive again, so his protective streak got a bit bigger. He does go a bit overboard with it sometimes, though.

  4. I like the interaction, but I had trouble keeping track of the players. I’m sure that would be less of an issue if I were Reding straight through, though.

    Great progress!

  5. […] so I’ll be sharing more from that. I have 16 paragraphs for today. This is shortly after last week’s. New character who knows a little more about Jason’s history. And ‘the detective’ […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

