Home of a mother, wife, writer

Getting colder here as we move into December. We still haven’t seen very much snow, though, which is surprising for the area. Doesn’t look like we’re supposed to be getting much of any in the next week either. One good thing about that, though, is the trip next weekend to my sister’s for my niece’s birthday/Christmas with our dad won’t be too bad.

The last of the presents I ordered online came in this past Thursday.wp-1449406408373.jpg I have all but 2 of them wrapped. I like having everything done ahead of time. Well, not everything. We still need to get something for oldest niece & nephew. They just want gift cards, though, so that won’t be too bad. And we need to figure out what we’re doing for parents. Usually we get pictures done and give them some sort of frame. Haven’t done pictures yet this year, though.

After church today, we helped decorate one of the trees there, then we went up to Erie to get groceries. Also, since I had a gift card from my Dad, we had lunch at Olive Garden. The kids were thrown by the fact there were two forks for everyone. We got groceries, and the kids got to talk to Santa and get their picture taken(it surprised me they actually wanted to. They’ve never been fond of people in costumes, particularly the girl). Then, we went back to the church for a memorial service. And finally home.

I started writing this post before church this morning(we always go to the early service, when we go). It’s now dinner time, and I’m finally getting back to it.

After Monday, I switched from drafting back to a focus on revising. Making good progress there.

  • My Way to You: finish 1st draft – finished this on Monday. Ended up with over 36k for this one.
  • Love Who You Love(Kurztown #3) – brainstorm – got this done and finished Kendall’s back story. Working on Susan’s(may remember her as Doren’s sister) now. Then, I have 2 more to write.
  • Chasing the Ghost: Read through – got this done on Thursday. Had over 160 comments by the time I finished, though some of those are little things. On Friday I revised through Chapter 10 and added 306 words.
  • Come Back Down: add 1000 words – added 1012 words between yesterday and today. I’m liking writing from Birdie’s POV.
  • Read: Word-Loss Diet – 20% – made it a little past this. So far, it’s mostly been what I already have on my search & destroy list.
  • Read: Love, Diamonds, and Spades(Violet Duke), Meet Me When the Sun Goes Down(Lisa Olsen), Almost Perfect(Susan Mallery), Concealed in Death(J.D. Robb), & Beautiful Little Fool(K.K. Hendin) – read all of these, and enjoyed them. Also about 50% through Dirty Thoughts(Megan Erickson). Really enjoying it.
  • Knit: Cuddly Chevron Blanket – finish – finished this(finally!) on Thursday. wp-1449406413975.jpgAnd started crocheting a hat. Then, I ran out of yarn. I got some while we were shopping today. Even better…had a 60% off coupon in my email so only had to pay $1.80 for it(normally 4.49)

Look at all that blue!! Love getting things finished.

  • Love Who You Love – finish backstories. Start Outlining.
  • Chasing the Ghost – finish 2nd round revisions. Start Polishing round.
  • Come Back Down – get to 6000 words
  • Read: Word-loss Diet – 45%
  • Read: Finish Dirty Thoughts, Dash of Peril(Lori Foster), Fix You(Mari Carr), A Harry Situation(Kristy K James), & The Iron Daughter(Julie Kagawa)
  • Knit: Brimmed Hat – making this for my grandma for Christmas. She’d wanted one of my hats, but I’d already donated them all before she got in touch with me. And this is the first year they’re going to be home for Christmas in several years.
Comments on: "Sunday Summary: Moving Focus" (7)

  1. OMG you’ve made exceptional progress this week! Congrats!

  2. Love that blanket… and all that blue,too!

  3. Awesome progress, Fallon!

  4. Just added your book DUTY TO PROTECT to my to-read pile and looking forward to it. I also am facing a pile of gifts to wrap, but today we got 6 rolls of paper at 50% off, so I’m ready! And just maybe I’ll take a little break from quilting to tackle some yarn. I really like those neck scarves that are in a circle, though I don’t have a clue how to make one. Re the writing, same old slow process — revising and editing, editing and revising. Inspirational progress, Fallon!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

