Home of a mother, wife, writer

Fiction Friday: Post NaNo

I let a lot of my extra blog posts fall to the side during November. Doesn’t mean I didn’t do much over the month. In fact, I got a lot done. To the tune of over 100,000 words.

Yes, I participated in NaNoWriMo. Like I’ve done every year since 2010. That first year is the only time I “lost”. I didn’t even start until almost a week into the month. And I jumped right into a story with no planning.

Every year it seems I’ve written more and finished sooner than the last. This year I “finished” on Nov 17. I was also a rebel for the first time. Every other year, I’ve started a new project. But, this year I had a few different projects already in progress. So, I decided to work on finishing those during the month.

First up was Guarding the Heart. Which I started more than a year ago. It was one I worked on off and on during that time. Once I finally settled down to it, it rolled right out. I wrote 24506 words during the first week and finished it. Total word count: 94768.

Then, I picked up Some Fools Never Learn, the second book in my Hunter Family series, which is a spin-off from my Flames series. I spent the next 2 weeks on this one and added 44567 words to it, to finish it. Total word count: 61255.

During the last week of the month, I worked on My Way to You, a novella in my Gilbert, CO series. I really enjoyed writing this one, and these characters. I wrote exactly 25000 words during the fourth week of the month on this. And finished it Monday, the 30th, with another 3850 words. Total word count: 36236.

I also did first round of revisions on Chasing the Ghost(which takes place right before My Way to You). Added 2274 words to that. And I started a new short story/novella that is a sequel to Into the Sun, which will be in the World Unknown Review that will be coming out later this month. I wrote 4098 words on that.

Going forward, I’m working on the second round of revisions on Chasing the Ghost. And possibly even starting revisions on Flames of Retribution(book 3 in Flames series). I’m also plotting out Love Who You Love(book 3 in Kurztown series) on the side and am hoping to even get some words written on it. I’ll be focusing on revisions this month and the next two. Then in March, I’ll be back to focusing on drafting for a bit.

Comments on: "Fiction Friday: Post NaNo" (1)

  1. Wow, you were busy! I let my extra posts go for NaNo, too. I’m back to all but one, now, and I want to think about that one, because it takes a lot of time, and I have a different vision evolving for it.

    I love the return to settling in. No new words for me since NaNo, other than blog posts. I’m OK with that, because a lot of more administrative things were also set aside, and I’m feeling a need to “clear the decks”, physically, mentally, and emotionally, before diving back into new story worlds. I expect to be in a good place by the tenth, which will give me exactly three weeks to finish the last half of Foul Deeds Will Rise. That will give me four completed novel drafts for the year…I think that’s a new record for me!

    I hope you get some rest, and take a bit to celebrate your accomplishments!☺

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

