Home of a mother, wife, writer

Today is my last day as a 30 year old. I actually had to stop and think about that. But, yes, tomorrow I’ll turn 31. πŸŽ‚

This time change is really wrecking my sleep schedule. I’ve been waking up an hour before my alarm goes off then struggling to stay awake until nine at night. Last night I didn’t. I fell asleep on the couch around 7 and woke up at 11:30. Went to bed (and had to kick the dog out of my spot) and woke back up before 3. I’m sure I’ll adjust soon and then it will be almost time to change the clocks again.

Words have been going well so far this week. I’ve already got over 10k toward NaNoWriMo. More on that in a bit. First for a snippet from Guarding the Heart. I have 11 paragraphs from some of yesterday’s writing. Xavier works for Casey, he called him in to stay with Emelyn while he had to be somewhere else. And the [xx] is because I need to decide on a name for that guy, still.

“I still don’t understand,” Emelyn said as Xavier held the door open for her. “I was going to go back in and see Sarah when Alex came out. I don’t get why we had to leave. And why you’re sneaking me out like a celebrity with the paparazzi after her.”
Xavier didn’t say anything until after he’d shut her door and rounded the car to his own to slip inside. “That guy you were talking to, [xx] Turlington.”
“What about him? He can’t be that dangerous. He’s too soft to do anything.”
Xavier shook his head. “You apparently still have a lot to learn about people. It doesn’t take a lot of physical strength to be dangerous. He called the media.” Xavier pulled something up on his phone and handed it over to her as he backed out of the parking space. “They were right out in front of the hospital. That’s why we went out the back.”
Her stomach clenched as the video played out. “He keeps mentioning his sister. Who was she?”
“Our last client. And no matter what he, or anyone else in that family, says, what happened wasn’t Casey’s fault. He did everything right to protect her. She broke one of his rules, her ex-husband realized where she was, and he came after her. Nearly killed Casey before he went after Lydia. And Casey still stopped him, but it was too late for her.”
Tears filled her eyes when he said Casey almost died. So, she could have lost him before she’d ever even known him.
“What happened to him?” she asked, wanting to think about something else. “The ex-husband.”
“In jail. Hopefully he’ll rot there. He beat on Lydia almost daily, threatened to kill her if she ever tried to leave him. And he saw that through.”
She thought she saw more than the loss of a client in his eyes. And she remembered the things he’d said to Turlington, how he’d talked to him. “You knew her, didn’t you? Before she was a client, I mean.”
His knuckles tightened against the steering wheel and for a moment she thought he wouldn’t answer. Then, he let out a long breath. “No wonder someone’s after you, Emelyn. You’re dangerous for a man’s secrets.”

This is coming along well this week. I realized on Friday that I had a big plot hole in the last quarter of it, so I re-plotted the end. Ended up cutting a few scenes and adding in a few others. I’ve already hit 80k(which is how long I figured it would be) and I still have at least 12 more scenes to finish. I’d still like to finish the first draft this week.

  • Guarding the Heart – finish 1st draft – making good progress on this. 10842 words so far this week.
  • Chasing the Ghost – 1st revisions – more than halfway through these. Have 4 scenes I might add in plus other changes. Still hoping to finish it this week but might not happen.
  • Read: Gotta Read It – 25% – 10% through this right now.
  • Read: The Heiress Effect(Courtney Milan), Bringing Home the Bad Boy(Jessica Lemmon), Hot On Her Heels(Susan Mallery), Forever Grace(Linda Poitevin), & Lucky In Love(Jill Shalvis) – I finished The Heiress Effect, really enjoyed it. Finished Bringing Home the Bad Boy last night. Liked it, though I had some issues with it. Started Hot on Her Heels last night, but didn’t get too far before falling asleep on the couch.
  • Knit: Cuddly Chevron Blanket – Get through Strip 19 – made some progress on this yesterday.
  • Loom: Hat – Planning to work on this over the weekend.
Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Last Day of 30" (11)

  1. Congrats on all the progress, that’s great!

    I really like this scene. I don’t know which plot thread is main, but there’s all kinds of potential conflict to work with!

  2. Happy birthday! My birthday is next week. Wish I was turning 31. And I wish I had 10k words on my NaNo project. Guess I should get back to writing. πŸ™‚

  3. Oh, I love all the possibilities this introduces! And progress – yup, you’ve got the progress!

    Happy belated, and happy wording, too. =)

    • Definitely possibilities. I finished the first draft today and can’t wait to explore Xavier’s story more in the next two books.

      • I do love when one book sparks more….wouldn’t ever want to run out of things to write about (even though I’ve got enough for at least three lifetimes, already!)….

        Have fun with Xavier! =)

  4. Happy birthday! And great progress. πŸ˜€ I love this line “You’re dangerous for a man’s secrets.” Very nice. And a great way to hint at more secrets unfolding.

    • Thanks. She’d already figured out one of his secrets, so…
      I hadn’t expected him to have much of a role here, but like so many of my other characters, he had other ideas. So looks like he’ll have his own story after all.

  5. Belatedly, happy birthday! And as always I love your characterisation. I knew Emelyn wouldn’t be able to dislike Casey too long, he seems far too sweet for that. πŸ˜‰ Poor Xavier though… I’m looking forward to finding out more about him too!

    • Thank you!
      I’m glad you liked it. And he can have his moments. πŸ˜†
      I’m looking forward to finding out more about Xavier too.πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

