Home of a mother, wife, writer

Time for another trip with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who likes to write. I’m still sharing from Into the Sun, and this week’s 10 sentences starts directly(ok, I left out some head shaking) after last week’s.

“Helped you what, become a criminal?”
“It’s not like that. They help people. We want to help you.”
“I don’t need any help. I need my son back.”
I couldn’t help but reach out and run my thumb over a bruise on her jaw, then up over a scab on her cheek and to the dark bruise under her eye. “You need more than that, Mom. What else has he done to you since I left? I thought he’d be easier on you without me around.”

Is she going to let them help? What are they going to do? Stick around; you just might find out. 😉

Saturday we went to a Halloween kids’ festival at a local campground. It was inside and they had a couple different stations for the kids to make crafts or get prizes as well as a few other games set up. It wasn’t really to busy at first,  but there were enough people there to put my nerves on edge(which really doesn’t take all that many people). But the kids got to wear their costumes and they had fun.

wpid-wp-1445706333680.jpgwpid-wp-1445706348281.jpgwpid-wp-1445706372370.jpgwpid-wp-1445706382078.jpgwpid-wp-1445706386955.jpg

I’ve had a pretty good week writing-wise as well. I changed up my calendar for the next two months. I’ll be continuing the way I have been for the last week of October,  but in November & October I’ll be switching to a weekly pattern of bouncing between projects instead of daily. I’ll probably have more on that next week when I do my monthly goals.

  • By the Gun -finish outline – got this finished up. Ready to stay writing again this coming week. Also need to see how much I can salvage from the first attempt.
  • Let It Begin – reach 29000 words – 30289/29000. Only have 3 more planned scenes to get through. Hoping to finish it this week.
  • Some Fools Never Learn – reach 13000 words – 13497/13000 making good progress on this
  • Guarding the Heart – reach 67000 words – 67155/67000 – Making good progress here to though another character decided to pop up and had me wondering what his story is. This is only supposed to be a 3 book series, but he may at least get a novella
  • My Way To You – reach 3000 words – 3189/3000. Good start on this one so far.
  • Stained Blood – finish polishing – got this done on Friday
  • Just Add Moonlight – Revise – added over 500 words to this on Saturday.  Need to read through it one more time then submit
  • Read: 2k-10k – 85%
  • Read: A Kiss for Midwinter (Courtney Milan), Broken Spell (Fabio Bueno), Fifty First Times(various), Into the Devil’s Underground (Stacy Green), The Summit (Kat Martin), & Slow Heat(Jill Shalvis) – I started to read The Summit but couldn’t get into it. Then, I was going to start Slow Heat, but I realized it is book 2 in the series, and even in a more standalone series, I have this thing about reading in order. So I decided to set that one aside until I read book 1. I have been continuing my read through of Roni Loren’s Loving on the Edge series, though. I’m hoping to have that finished by Tuesday when the next novella comes out. I’m about halfway through the series now.
  • Knit: Cuddly Chevron Blanket – Still making slow progress on this. About 2/3 of the way finished with it.

Goals for next week:

  • By the Gun – get to 3000 words
  • Some Fools Never Learn – reach 16000 words
  • Let It Begin – finish 1st draft
  • My Way to You – reach 6000 words
  • Guarding the Heart – reach 70000 words
  • Chasing the Ghost – revision note cards
  • Just Add Moonlight – Finish revisions & submit
  • Read: 2k-5k
  • Read: Into the Devil’s Underground, Cutting Edge(Allison Brennan), Foolproof(Jennifer Blackwood), The Heiress Effect(Courtney Milan), & Bringing Home the Bad Boy(Jessica Lemmon)
  • Knit: Cuddly Chevron Blanket

 

Comments on: "Sunday Summary: WeWriWa – “Without Me Around”" (12)

  1. A very touching scene, threatening future confrontations.

  2. I hope her son does not come back to such a horrid home. Abuse has a very long arm!

  3. Aw, touching and sad. But now that her son knows his presence won’t make things worse maybe he’ll stick around.

  4. What a touching moment.

    Definitely sounds like you had a good week.

  5. I’m glad Trace is out of this situation, and hope his mother will accept help before it’s too late for her to get free (if it isn’t already, that is).

    No one deserves to be the target of someone else’s violently explosive rages.

    Hooray on all the progress, and the shifting. I’m resetting my goals for the rest of the month, as well…but I’m a bit late in getting to it, due to an unexpectedly busy weekend.

    May this week be even better than last!

  6. An emotional snippet, very well done.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

