Home of a mother, wife, writer

Time for another visit with the Weekend Writing Warriors. Still sharing from Into the Sun. 10 sentences almost directly after last week’s snippet.

   ”Where have you been, Trace? You should have been here.”
“I’ve tried to call,” I told her, “you never picked up.”
“If I’d known it was you, I would have. I worried so much about you.”
Her gaze took in the rest of me as she let out a gasp and stepped back. “What have you gotten into, Trace?”
“It’s not what you’re thinking, Mom. I found some people, good people. They helped me.”

So what does she think he’s gotten into?  Is it the truth? And just what is he doing back now? May have some answers for you next week.

This week has gone pretty well, despite a cough that doesn’t seem to want to go away. It hadn’t really gotten in the way of my writing at least. Thursday was a bit of four me, but that was really my own fault. I decided to read through the story that comes before Some Fools Never Learn instead of just concentrating on that one, so it took me longer to meet my goal. Still got there though.

Woke up yesterday morning to snow! It’s still to early for that, right? Apparently not in NW PA. It had mostly melted by lunchtime, though it did continue off and on throughout the afternoon. Hopefully it won’t stick around for too long. I resist getting out my winter coat until after my birthday (which isn’t for another 19 days).

As for this week’s progress:

  • Write: 3k each on Let It Begin, Guarding the Heart, and Some Fools Never Learn – I wrote over 10k between these. Making good progress here.
  • Outline: Bryan & Leo & By the Gun – got outline for Bryan& Leo done & changed title to My Way To You. Also wrote the first 400 words on it. I thought I could just add a prologue to By the Gun and it would help fix the problem, but as I thought more, I think I want telling enough of the story. I now have it set up with the parts,  each told from different character’s pov. Depending on how long they are, these parts may become their own books. I’ll have to see once I get started. This also meant I had to write a couple more back stories.  I got those done and the first 4 chapters of past 1 outlined.
  • Revise: Stained Blood – 2nd round revisions.  If time: start polishing – finished 2nd revisions Tuesday and started polishing on Wednesday. Didn’t even look at it Thursday or Friday though. Need to make it a priority this week.
  • Just Add Moonlight: Flesh out – I worked on this Saturday morning, added about 200 words. Planning on adding new scene in today.
  • Read: 2k – 10k – 60%
  • Read: Just a Little Crush,  Someday Girl, City of Lost Souls (Cassandra Clare), Showdown at Yellow Butte (Louis L’Amour ), All For You (Jessica Scott), & Behind the Scenes (Dahlia Adler) – loved City of Lost Souls,  though a little heartbroken about how one of the relationships was left. Really hope things get patched up in last book (and is not even the main characters,  but may be my favorite one in the series). I actually think I’ve read Slowdown at Yellow Butte before.  I found it in used book store and didn’t have it on my shelf, but some of it seemed familiar,  so it may be one I got from library a while ago. Loved All For You. I started Behind the Scenes yesterday morning and got more than halfway through it. Really enjoying it.
  • Knit: Cuddly Chevron Blanket – slow progress still. I just need to not Knit blankets. They take too long.

Goals for next week:

  • By the Gun -finish outline
  • Let It Begin – reach 29000 words
  • Some Fools Never Learn – reach 13000 words
  • Guarding the Heart – reach 67000 words
  • My Way To You – reach 3000 words
  • Stained Blood – finish polishing
  • Just Add Moonlight – Revise
  • Read: 2k-10k – 85%
  • Read: A Kiss for Midwinter (Courtney Milan), Broken Spell (Fabio Bueno), Fifty First Times(various), Into the Devil’s Underground (Stacy Green), The Summit (Kat Martin), & Slow Heat(Jill Shalvis)
  • Knit: Cuddly Chevron Blanket
Comments on: "Sunday Summary: WeWriWa – “Helped Me”" (17)

  1. Why don’t l like his mother? Just like that! Poor Trace.

  2. Oh my, this excerpt left me wondering(and that’s a good thing when the reader wonders). 🙂 I live in SW PA, and some of that danged snow made it clear down here! 🙂

  3. Looking at your goals, I can’t help but wonder how many things you’re writing at once and how can you keep them all straight!? I get confused enough just going between working on my WIP and planning my NaNo!
    Keep up the good work, and sadly, October 17 is not too early for snow in NW PA. I spent nearly 20 years in SE PA and saw it all the time. You’re too close to the Great Lakes. You need to move them farther away from you.

    • I have 5 different projects I’m currently drafting / outlining1 that I’m editing. They’re all in different seriesand for the most part don’t have trouble keeping them separate. Just seems to be the way my mind works, though.
      Yeah, I’ve lived here over 30 years(my whole life), so I *Know* it’s not too early. But, it’s still too early.😉

  4. Seems as if there must be a lot of backstory for these people, which is intriguing of course. Great snippet!

  5. I wonder why his mother jumps to conclusions. It doesn’t say a lot of good about either of them.

  6. Snow? And you’re not in Minnesota?! I’m actually a tiny bit envious since we’re still getting high 90s in Arizona.

    I love how many things you always have crossed off each week. Good Writing to You!

  7. Lots of questions remain! Good job with dialogue.

  8. I snow a little here in central New York and Sunday, but it didn’t stick. Monday morning though there was frost over everything, almost like a Winter Wonderland.

    Sound like a good week, Fallon. Here’s to a new week to come!!

  9. […] Time for another trip with the Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for anyone who likes to write. I’m still sharing from Into the Sun, and this week’s 10 sentences starts directly(ok, I left out some head shaking) after last week’s. […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

