Home of a mother, wife, writer

Writing Wednesday:

This week’s been going well so far. Other than the cough I seem to have developed. The girl had it for about 3 weeks, now it looks like it’s my turn.

But, the writing, that has been going well. And I’ll get more into that below. But, first is Wippet Wednesday. Today I have 6 paragraphs(1+0+1+4) from Guarding the Heart. These are the last 6 paragraphs I wrote on this last week. Alex is Casey’s partner, and his wife, Sarah, has gone missing.

She reached out to him. “I need to be here until she’s back. Alex needs you, and I do, too. You can’t watch me at a safe house and be here for him, too. I need to be here. With you.”
His arms wrapped tight around her. “I can’t. I can’t let anything hurt you, Em. I can’t…I couldn’t handle it,” he whispered.
“Once she’s back,” she said, “I’ll do whatever you want, go wherever you say. But, I’ve already lost one friend, I have to be here until she’s found.”
His arms tightened, and he buried his face in her hair. “Okay,” he finally said. “You do what I say, though. Whatever I say. Can you promise me that?”
“Yes, Casey. I’ll listen to you.”
His mouth quirked up at one corner. “Well, princess, that will be a first.”

So, will she actually listen to him? Or will this lead to more trouble? Well…oh, did you actually think I was going to tell you? 😉

  • Write: 3k each on Let It Begin, Guarding the Heart, and Some Fools Never Learn – I wrote 3639 words on Let It Begin and 3563 on Guarding the Heart. Some Fools is tomorrow’s project.
  • Outline: Bryan & Leo & By the Gun – I finished the outline for Bryan & Leo’s story (now titled My Way to You) and got the first 400 words written on it. By the Gun is Friday’s project.
  • Revise: Stained Blood – 2nd round revisions.  If time: start polishing – I finished the revisions yesterday. I’ll be starting the polishing round today.
  • Just Add Moonlight: Flesh out – weekend project
  • Read: 2k – 10k – 60% – I’m 45% through this.
  • Read: Just a Little Crush,  Someday Girl, City of Lost Souls (Cassandra Clare), Showdown at Yellow Butte (Louis L’Amour ), All For You (Jessica Scott), & Behind the Scenes (Dahlia Adler) – I enjoyed both of the ones I finished (though Just a Little Crush had a side character,  Fallon,  and that was weird to keep reading my name in the book and she’s the main character in the next book in the series). More than halfway through City of Lost Souls. I might even finish it today.
  • Knit: Cuddly Chevron Blanket – Still making progress on this.
Comments on: "Writing Wednesday:" (10)

  1. I confess to being a tad confused as to who is who, even with your prompting. That’s probably just me, though.

    This is a sweet scene. 🙂

  2. I should add learn to knit to my goals. I have always wanted to learn.

  3. I love the last two lines of your excerpt 🙂

  4. Whoops. I was very sleepy making comments all over this morning. God knows what I said to people.Hopefully nothing too bad. What I meant to say was I liked your excerpt but the last two lines really make it, they say a lot about the characters

  5. I’m loving these little peeks into this relationship. And, no, I didn’t expect you to clue me in on what’s coming. I assume there will be trouble, because what kjnd of story would it be without it?!

    Hooray for all that progress, too! Looks like the new system is yielding results!

    • Glad you liked it. And, yes, definitely more trouble because, well, the story isn’t over yet.😉
      Thanks. It does seem to be working well for the most part.

  6. Been fighting a cough and sinus drainage the last scouple of week, so I understand completely. The introduction of WInter (as it seems to NY is apparent).

    So it is weird to see your name in a book, eh? That’s cool though to know someone did use it. You have an unusual and lovely name that it is nice to see someone wanted to use it for a character. 🙂

    I love how you always leave us hanging (in a good way that I want to know more about these characters).

    Glad to hear that your week has been productive. Sorry I am commenting lat eon this post. Was a full week (from Thursday even on and had little time to sit down to visit people. So Ik am making time to check in and say hi. Hi! ~waves~

    Here’s to a good upcoming week and see you On Sunday’s post…later today. 🙂

    • If I had a more common name, I don’t think it would throw me off too much. But, I can only think of one other person I know in real life that shares it.
      I’m glad you liked it. I love these characters even though they can be a little intense.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

