Home of a mother, wife, writer

 

Welcome to another installment of Weekend Writing Warriors. I have more from Into the Sun for you, which I finally bit the bullet on and submitted Saturday morning. I have 8 sentences today from just a little past last week’s.

She grabbed my arms and pulled me into the house. “Oh, Trace, you’re back,” she said, kissing my face. “I’m so glad you decided to come home. I’ve missed you so much.”
I made myself pull back from her. “I’m not home, Mom. I just had to see you. Talk to you.”

What does he have to say to her? Well it go the way he hopes? Hang around. You might find out.

It’s been a bit of a mixed bag this week. Started out strong with over 3k on Monday. Tuesday’s count was less but still not bad. Wednesday I barely managed 1k and I think I’m going to re-plot and start over on that story because it’s been giving me trouble since I started it. Hoping I can figure out what the problem is with it, otherwise I may end up just scrapping it. Thursday I did some outlining and Friday was another pretty strong day. Overall not a bad week,  just not as productive as I’d like.

Today we took the motorcycleout for probably one of the last rides of the season. It was …a little chilly. Even with chaps, leather jacket, vest, and gloves. But the newseat made it a much more comfortable ride. It also may have helped start to clear up my problem with By the Gun.

  • Write 12k words – 11,011 words. Considering the trouble I had with By the Gun on Wednesday, this isn’t too bad. Hoping for more next week.
  • Outline Bryan & Leo – didn’t get this quite finished. Got the first chapter summary done. Hoping to finish it this week, maybe even get a few words written on it.
  • Stained Blood (forgot to include this originally: Read Through – finished the read through. Not a lot of big changes other than a scene or two I might add in.
  • Into the Sun – Submit – Like I said above, I finally bit the bullet on this one yesterday morning. Now, I wait.
  • Just Add Moonlight – Read Through & Revision Notes – Hoping to get to this one today.
  • Read: 2k-10k – 35% – Got to this. Already putting some of it into practice.
  • Read: Bare It All (Lori Foster), Instant Gratification (Jill Shalvis), Inflame (Tessa Teevan), Just a Little Crush (Renita Pizzitola), Someday Girl (Melanie Shawn) – Finished Inflame Thursday night even though I kept telling myself I should go to bed already. 11:30 and I finally did. Because the book was done. Also listened to The Clockwork princess (Cassandra Clare)and Buried(Kendra Elliot). Loved them both.
  • Knit: Cuddly Chevron Blanket – Strip 18 – still making slow progress on this.

Goals for next week:

  • Write: 3k each on Let It Begin, Guarding the Heart, and Some Fools Never Learn
  • Outline: Bryan & Leo & By the Gun
  • Revise: Stained Blood – 2nd round revisions.  If time: start polishing
  • Just Add Moonlight: Flesh out
  • Read: 2k – 10k – 60%
  • Read: Just a Little Crush,  Someday Girl, City of Lost Souls (Cassandra Clare), Showdown at Yellow Butte (Louis L’Amour ), All For You (Jessica Scott), & Behind the Scenes (Dahlia Adler)
  • Knit: Cuddly Chevron Blanket

 

Comments on: "Sunday Summary: WeWriWa – “Not Home”" (13)

  1. Your goals are aggressive and awesome. I hope to do as well!

  2. burnsmillie said:

    I am curious to see what questions he has for her?

  3. Well at least he’s there to talk! Interetsing snippet…

  4. At least there’s communication and it sounds like it’s making way for new tensions and more story. Can’t wait to read more.

    You did very well, Fallon!! Keep up the great work!

  5. No matter how you develop your several stories that are in the boiling stage, I’m impressed. This is the kind of steady writing work (drafting, writing, evaluating, changing, plotting) that leads to progress. OK, so I totally revamped my office this week to prepare for real work . . . next week? Small progress, but each step brings us closer. Thanks for an inspirational post . . . and I think ‘his’ news for Mom will challenge their relationship. Conflict!

  6. I’m glad Trace is going to try to clear things up with his mother, and that he’s clear about not BEING home. That’s the kind of strength that I struggle with in contentious situations…

    Congratulations on the submission, and all the progress! It does seem to be getting a little chilly for riding here, too.

  7. […] the Weekend Writing Warriors. Still sharing from Into the Sun. 10 sentences almost directly after last week’s […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

