Home of a mother, wife, writer

So the round doesn’t actually end until tomorrow,  but I have my routine/schedule I like to stick to,  so I’ll be doing my round wrap-up today.

I mentioned on Sunday that I’m changing up how I’m doing things yet again.  Bouncing between projects.  This means you might be getting something different from me on a weekly basis for Wippet Wednesday. Also,  depending on whether I start my post in the morning or afternoon,  you’ll either get something from what I’m drafting or what I’m revising. This week I’m working on Guarding the Heart and By the Gun.  Today’sa Guarding the Heat day though so you get 14 paragraphs (9+2+3) from the scene I was working on this morning.  A lot has happened since the last bit I posted,  but you can probably catch that from what’s here. Alex is Casey’s partner,  and Sarah is his wife.

“Shut it off,” Casey snapped and wrapped his arms tighter around Emelyn. She was shaking. The TV switched off, and he heard Alex’s steps as he left the room. He pulled Emelyn so she was practically sitting on his lap, his arms banded around her. If he couldn’t feel it against his neck, he’d worry he constricted her breath.
Tears splashed on his neck, but he didn’t loosen his hold on her. He had to focus so he didn’t squeeze her even tighter. All he could think was that if they’d stayed, it could have been Emelyn being wheeled out of that house in a bag. That thought nearly shattered him.
“I’m so sorry,” he said, wanting her tears to stop. “Em, please-”
Her fist struck his collarbone, numbing one arm so it dropped away from her. “It’s your fault. This is your fault,” she yelled. “We could have brought her with us. She’d still be alive. You were supposed to protect us, and you didn’t do it. You just left her there to be killed.”
He’d thought Melissa could have been behind the break-in. He knew her death didn’t completely absolve her of that suspicion either. She could have just been a loose end, a pawn, to get off the board. He wasn’t going to mention that, though. Not right now.
“I didn’t think she was in danger,” he said instead. “I was hired to keep you safe, and that’s what I did. You were the target. I thought-”
“You thought wrong,” she shouted at him, twisting so she could beat both fists against his chest. “You were wrong and now she’s dead. My best friend. She’d dead. How could you do this?”
His throat burned, but he had to push down his own emotions right now. “I’m so sorry, Emelyn. If I would have known this would happen…” He couldn’t tell her that, couldn’t lie. He wasn’t sure he would have done anything different. His only concern that night had been making sure she was safe. He’d done that. But, at what expense?
“It might not be connected.” He was grasping at straws, and he knew it. It was very unlikely that two crimes had been committed at the same location in so short a time.
He was almost sure of it. Melissa had been some pawn in a game she didn’t know she was playing. And whoever had been moving her around the board was snipping loose ends.
Emelyn still sobbed against him. “You should have saved her. You were there to protect us. I’m not the only important one.”
You are to me. The words were so close to coming out, and he was nearly shocked enough to let them spill. He couldn’t do that, though.
Her fists still hit against his chest, but he didn’t release her. Then, Sarah was there pulling her away. Emelyn turned into the other woman, her head against her shoulder, even as the sobs continued to wrack her body. Each sob ripped right through his own chest. Even as Sarah led Emelyn down the hallway toward the guest bedrooms. It hadn’t even been an hour since they’d been in one of them together. Since he’d been inside her.
Christ.

Will Emelyn keep blaming him?  Will he blame himself?  Where will they go from here? You may get another snippet another day.

  • Guarding the Heart(BC Security #1) – add 9000 words – Making good progress on this.  Only wrote about 2200 on Monday,  but managed 3927 words today.  6200 for the week so far.  So on track.
  • By the Gun (western standalone) – 6000 words – I managed 2032 on this yesterday.  Got the first chapter written. 
  • Stained Blood (Stained #3) – revision note cards. If time: 1st revisions – almost finished with the revision cards.  Only have 7 more to do.
  • Into the Sun – finish proofreading & submit – silk working through this.  Hopefully will finish this weekend
  • Read: Take Off Your Pants – 80% through this.
  • Read: The Falconer(Elizabeth May), Wings (Aprilynne Pike), Heartless (L.S Engler ), On the Fence(Kasie West), & Openly Straight (Bill Konigsberg) – loved The Falconer,  but that ending…just killed me. Can’t wait for the next book.  I felt kind of meh about Wings,  it wasn’t bad just didn’t really pull me in.  42% through Heartless. 
  • Knit: Cuddly Chevron Blanket – hoping to be at least halfway finished with this – Making slow progress on this, too.

Round 3 Goals:

Plotting:

  • Ready When You Are(Kelan’s Story) – finish outline. Shouldn’t take long as all I have to do is put scenes into Scrivener and do the G,M,C,D. – got this done early in the round then set it aside
  • Jessica’s Story(Hunter Family #4) – Outline – didn’t get to this one.

Writing:

  • Guarding the Heart – 1st draft – not there yet. At 51443 words
  • Some Fools Never Learn – 20k words – didn’t do this one either. I will be picking it up next week though

Editing:

  • First Choice, Second Chance(formerly The Choice) – beta edits & proofread – yes
  • Law of Choice – 2nd round revisions & polish for CP – yes
  • Demons Rising – 2 revision rounds(lot of rewriting on this one, so that may be pushing it) – yes

Publish:

  • First Choice, Second Chance – Got this out last month
  • Stained Snow – if I can…will be late in the round, though -nope

Reading:

  • Listen/read – 49 books – 71/49. 17 of those were audiobooks.
  • 3 craft/research books – working on the third one.  Read Super Structure (James Scott Bell) & Goal, Motivation,  Conflict(Debra Dixon)

Crafting:

  • Knit: 3 projects – Dino cap, Hive Dishcloth,  about 1/4 of the way through Cuddly Chevron Blanket
  • Crochet: 3 projects – Amazing Grace Blissful Beanie, Spring Training Cap
Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Nearing the End" (8)

  1. Ooh, that was intense. Emotions run high when something like that happens, and it’s so easy to affix blame rather than dealing with the underlying feelings. I hope they work things out.

    • I don’t like being denied a happy ending(or at least happy-ish) even in my own writing. So, eventually.It just dependshow long it takes them to get there. 🙂

  2. Ouch. >.< Owie ouch ouch. And to have that suspicion there that Melissa was stabbing Emylyn in the back all the time (intentionally or un)… Poor everyone. 😦

  3. Wow, intense scene.

    Congrats on all your progress this round. That’s impressive!

  4. HOLY CRAP! That was awesome and tense, and AAAAAHHH. I love it. On the edge of my seat. Well done!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

