Home of a mother, wife, writer

Writing Wednesday: Cooling Off

Well, Fall is definitely approaching here in Northwestern PA. Over the weekend, it didn’t get above 60. Nights and mornings are cooler, even though this week, it’s supposed to be back up into the 70s & 80s during the day. Still, I won’t be one to complain about the slightly cooler temps. I handle them a lot better than the heat.

Today also happens to be my ninth wedding anniversary.  Stingrays that’s hard to believe (I was going to fix that autocorrect mistake,  but I think I just made up a new curse. Some days = stingrays). Overall it’s been a pretty good nine years.

Got a new project for Wippet Wednesday this week. It’s a novella in my Kurztown series,  and takes place just a couple months after Scars and All.  If anyone remembers my snippets from Law of Choice,  this is Brian’s boss (and Natalie is Brian’s mom). I have the first 17 sentences(16 for the day + 1 as a bonus for my anniversary).

Patrick DiSalvo adjusted his tie, first loosening then tightening the knot he’d already fussed over for much too long. He let out a disgusted sigh and turned away from the mirror. “Get over yourself,” he muttered but couldn’t quite stop himself from tugging on it one more time.
She wasn’t going to care anyway. He’d been putting himself out there for almost five years, and she still never cared. He should have taken a hint a long time ago.
At fifty, it was long past time to get over his high school sweetheart.
Maybe he could if he didn’t see the flash of…something in her eyes from time to time. Something Caleb Sharrock hadn’t completely smothered out. Even after that man had died, Patrick had known Natalie would need some time. He may have been little more than an abusive bully, but Natalie had been his wife for more than twenty years. So, he’d waited. More than three years he waited while she got back on her feet. And he saw her thrive. And while he did see that spark of whatever it was from time to time, more often than not, it was still fear and shadows he saw there.
He wanted to wipe all of that away. If only she would let him.

Is all of Patrick’s waiting going to be rewarded?  Well. ..ha! Did you actually think I was going to tell you? 😉

  • Let It Begin – 25k (that’s 5k a day.  I should be able to get this, but we’ll see) – I’ve written 11898 words so far this week. Hoping to hit 15k today.
  • Leo & Bryan – finish back stories – haven’t done any of this yet this week.
  • Into the Sun – finish proofreading & submit – weekend project
  • Read: Take Off Your Pants – 70% – I’m a little over 55% through this. On track.
  • Read: Hot Head(Damon Suede), The Falconer (Elizabeth May), Wings (Aprilynne Pike), & Heartless (L.S. Engler) – I finished the Klaus Brothers set on Monday and finished Hot Head last night. I really enjoyed it. I’ll be staying The Falconer today.
  • Knit: Cuddly Chevron Blanket – I’ve made some progress on this.  Not a lot,  but some.

Doing good so far this week.  Hope that continues.

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Cooling Off" (19)

  1. Aren’t stingrays the new traditional gift for the Ninth Anniversary? (Happy anniversary!)

    Although I enjoy the cooling that comes with fall, it does scare me a little. I don’t mind letting the house get unreasonably cold at night if I know that the next day is going to be in the 80’s. We’re still pretty darn warm here in Vermont. I have the air conditioning on right now. I’m trying to avoid the very wasteful habit of turning on the air conditioning for part of the day and the heat later on. I feel guilty enough doing that in the car lol!

  2. Congrats on your anniversary. The temps in your area are better than mine. We still top out in the upper 80s. I can’t wait for fall.

  3. I didn’t expect you to tell us – we’re gonna have to work for it! =) But he’d BETTER get some payoff, with a passage like that! Five years is a looong time to wait!

    Happy, happy anniversary. I love ‘stingrays’ as a curse – I may adopt it myself. “Oh, stingrays!”

    Yup, that’s got flair! =)

    We had cooler weather over the weekend, and used the heater for some of the last two nights (no fires yet this season).

    )It’s warmed up now, now, but I can feel autumn in the air…

    You’re burning up your weekly goals, as usual. Way to go!

  4. Happy anniversary!

    I’m going to guess that the answer is yes. 🙂

  5. What a sweet snippet! I’ve always had a soft spot for stories of old love revived.

    Happy anniversary from me too. And I’m with Kate. *g*

  6. Happy Anniversary, and hope it doesn’t turn into a stingray. 😉

    I have no idea why, but my eyes and brain told me in the first line that he was adjusting his rifle. O_o No clue. Must have been reading too fast and smashed a bunch of words together.

  7. I HOPE it will be awarded eventually! Great little glimpse of character here.

  8. Happy Anniversary Fallon!! Hope you get a chance to enjoy some time with hubby. 🙂

    As for new curse words, I like Stingrays! Ikk am fond of switching out words when little chitlins are around: Sugar, Chautuaqua, Shamrook, Frog it, Fudge it. See where I am going with this? 🙂

    Awe, my heart melted a little at Patrick. Excellenet snippet. (I miss this week. Will be back next though)

  9. Happy anniversary!

    And wow, that dude is patient! Impressive self-control. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

