Home of a mother, wife, writer

First Choice, Second Chance released yesterday! You can get it on Amazon, Nook, Kobo, or iBooks. Also, if you check the side bar, you’ll see the link to subscribe to my newsletter. I couldn’t figure out how to get just the box to put in your email, but I kind of worked around that. So, anyway, you can subscribe and get maybe 1-2 emails from me a month.

And that’s all my self-promotion. 🙂 Now, on to WiPPeT Wednesday! Working on polishing up Demons Rising still, so I’ll share from that since it’s what I have open currently. I have 27 sentences(8+19) from Chapter 8.

“Hey there, pretty lady.”
“Back off.” She pulled her badge out as he started to reach toward her. “Do not touch me. I’m looking for Todd Rudler. I thought this was his apartment.”
The man held his hands up, but the smirk didn’t leave his face. “Nah, he lives across the hall. 3A, this is 3D. You wanna come in and cuff me, Officer?” He gave her a wink as if that would drive her into his arms.
“Trust me, if I did, you wouldn’t like it.”
Then, she turned her back on him. His chuckle rolled across the hallway and she smiled despite herself. Then, the door across the hall opened and Todd stepped into the doorway. The smile instantly fled. Because there was nothing here that didn’t attract her. She couldn’t afford to think like that. “Sorry, Todd,” the man’s lazy voice came from across the hall. “Didn’t mean to try to steal your lady. You’ve got a feisty one this time.”
“Go away, Anthony,” he said with a roll of his eyes. She could hear the laugh in his voice.
She turned her head, and he held his hands up again. “I’m going. I’m going,” Anthony said, backing back into his apartment. “Didn’t realize I’d be infringing on your territory.”

This is probably the last snippet from this one(at least until after my CP gets her hands on it). Next week, I’ll either be back to Guarding the Heart or possibly share some from Flames of Justice, the next project in my editing line-up. This is a novella, so I’m thinking I can get through the revisions fairly quickly.

We have the boy’s K-4 orientation tonight. We’ll get to meet his teacher, see his classroom, ride the bus, and see who else is going to be in his class. They go back next Tuesday. We took them to the water park Sunday and ended up running into my best friend from high school. She was there with her husband and their oldest daughter(the younger one is only about 3 months old, so my friend’s mom was watching her). I haven’t seen her in quite a while, so that was nice.

  • Demons Rising: Polish – A little more than halfway through my list. Shouldn’t have any trouble finishing it this week. Though, I haven’t even touched ‘was’ yet(the one that usually takes the longest). I’ve cut 2350 words so far.
  • Guarding the Heart: Finish Chapter 18 – not quite there yet. I’ve added 1809 words to this.
  • Into the Sun: Finish 1st draft – really close. Like maybe 1 or 2 more scenes to go. I’ve added 1777 words so far this week.
  • Read: GMC: Goal, Motivation, Conflict – get through 75% – I’m 60% through right now. On track for this.
  • Read: Make It Count(Megan Erickson), & Second Chance at the Sugar Shack(Candis Terry) – finished both & loved both. Now I’m reading The Guy Next Door(anthology w/ Lori Foster, Susan Donovan, & Victoria Dahl).

 

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Another Released" (13)

  1. “Because there was nothing here that didn’t attract her.”

    Heh. At least she’s aware of it. I have to confess, Anthony amused me.

    • She doesn’t deny, too much, to herself that she’s attracted. Still convincing herself she doesn’t really like him. 🙂

  2. Ah, the old “I don’t really like him.” I celebrate my eighteenth anniversary with the guy I tried to convince myself I didn’t really like this Sunday.

    I found Anthony amusing, too.

    May the return to school go well, and your edits as well. =D

    • Thanks. Kids have been at each other’s throats almost constantly the last week or so. I think we’re all ready to get back to routine. And I finished polishing up Demons Rising today. More than a week early. 🙂

      • My kids tend to get on each other’s nerves when one or both is growing quickly (and, since one is a teen and one a pre-teen, there’s a LOT of growing around here, these days!).

        It helps right now to remind Miah that Lise is, in fact, nearly three years younger than he is, expecting her to act his age is bound to lead to disappointment, and that he was once 11, too…

        It’s helping right now that they’re on different sleep/wake schedules, so each of them has a few hours without the other awake (we’ve got a rather small house, and, even when they irritate one another, they tend to gravitate toward one another…).

        I hope the run-up to school goes as smoothly as it can. Congratulations on the early polishing! =)

  3. haha I love this excerpt. It shows great personality from a character (anthony) who’s probably not anywhere near a main character. I love when side characters have just as much personality as the main ones! Great job!

  4. Great excerpt. I like the feisty heroine and her attitude!

    Congrats on all the progress. I’m always amazed at how much you manage to accomplish, even with “younguns” running around. 🙂 A day with my granddaughters, and I’m toast …

  5. Congrats on the release! *throws champagne, drinks confetti*

    Wow. That went wrong. Dang. See? That’s what comes of celebrating in the morning when I haven’t finished marinating in caffeine yet. 😉

    Great snippet. Love the hints of character you give us in just the space of a few paragraphs. It really makes them stand off the page, even if they are minor.

  6. A little belatedly, but congratulations on the release! Ever since my preorder arrived neatly on my Kindle I’ve been desperately trying to get through my currently-reading list! It’s taking far longer than I’d like. 😦 Might just ditch some of them, I don’t think I can wait. 🙂

    I love the snippet! I love how much character everyone has, even the neighbour across the hall, along with the implication from Todd’s laugh that he does that sort of thing on a regular basis. And she can say she can’t afford to think like that, but we know it never really works that way… 😉

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

