Home of a mother, wife, writer

So, this week has been going pretty well. I did have a snag on Monday.

Not sure how exactly it happened. But, I thought I was ahead, until I realized the number of notes was low(10 when it had been over 50 when I’d stopped earlier). Ended up having to go back and go through the first 25% again. Was frustrating, but I got caught back up. And got even farther ahead yesterday(actually got through today’s goal yesterday afternoon).

I’ll get to more on that later. First, though, it’s WiPPet Wednesday! And I have…something to share. Looks like I’m back to Guarding the Heart this week. Since that’s what I have open at the moment. Today I have 24 words(8+12-1+5). These are the last words I’ve written on it, so it’s quite a bit after the last snippet I posted(which was from Chapter 6, I’m on Chapter 17 now).

“This is a really, really bad idea,” he said.
“I excel at those,” she said as she flicked the button on his jeans open.

Is it going to be as bad of an idea as he assumes? How many bad ideas has she had? Will it really hurt to let go for one night?(She doesn’t think so, but he knows one night can change a lot).

As I said above, I’m making pretty good progress for the week. It’s only 6 a.m. and I’m already halfway through today’s to-do list. Hoping to get even farther ahead by the end of the day. At this rate, Friday may end up being a reading day.

  • Demons Rising: Read Through on my Kindle about 75%. Should be able to finish this today.
  • Guarding the Heart: Work through Chapter 17(this will be early morning project) – I’ve added 829 words so far this week. I only had 1 scene planned, but they may end up changing.
  • Into the Sun: finish 1st draft – I’ve added 891 words since Sunday. It’s not over 25k. I should have it wrapped up in a couple more scenes, though.
  • Read: GMC: Goal, Motivation, Conflict – 50% – I’m about 35% through which keeps me on track.
  • Read: Debt Collector: Season 1(Susan Kaye Quinn), Murder by the Seaside(Julie Anne Lindsey), & Everly After(Rebecca Paula) – I liked Debt Collector and really enjoyed Murder by the Seaside. About halfway through Everly After. And I’ve been listening to Under Different Stars(Amy Barton). 2 hours left, and it’s hitting all my sappy romantic buttons.
  •  Crochet: Spring Training Cap– I’ve got the body of this done. Have to do the brim and embroidery.
Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Bouncing Ahead" (19)

  1. “I excel at those.” Mwahahahahaha!! Yup, I can definitely relate.

    Ah man. Losing notes… grrrrrrr. I’ve had that happen but only if I open the ms on my phone kindle, add notes, then later open on my kindle kindle and… no notes. 😦

    • glad you liked that.

      Yeah, I think I hit the back arrow instead of home and that might be why they disappeared. not sure, though. Still, I finished reading through this morning, so it ended up not being that big a deal. Still, frustrating.

  2. LOVE the snippet. Bad ideas sometimes turn out to be the best kind. 😉

  3. That’s a GREAT little snippet, Fallon! LOL

    Sorry about the lost notes. Losing work is a bitch. But at least you caught up with yourself again!

    • Thanks!!

      Yeah, and I even got them all typed up in Scrivener today, so I’m even ahead of schedule(didn’t plan to have that done until tomorrow)

  4. Lots of tension in that snippet. 🙂 Spicy!

    How do you like “Goal, Motivation, Conflict?” It’s been on my to-be-read list for a while but I haven’t gotten around to it yet. I’m curious to know what you think of it.

  5. Oh my! Well… Huh. I’ll just, um, be over here, waiting for the fall-out.

  6. *snickers t ReGi’s ‘the fall-out’, and what might be about to fall out, with that button-flicking….*

    I love the snippet, and I’m happy for you that the lost notes didn’t translate to actual long-term trauma.

    I hope this ‘bad idea’ turns out to be better than he expected, in all possible ways! 😉

    • hahaha!! Oh, yeah 😀
      Thanks!! Yeah, I was quite irritated when it happened, but I’m still a full day ahead of schedule, so it really wasn’t a big deal.
      In the end, it will, of course. 🙂 They still have some stuff to get through first, though.

  7. Glad to hear the lost notes didn’t set you too far behind!

    So, if he really thought this would be a bad idea, he’d make more of an effort to stop it from going ahead, right? 😉

  8. haha that excerpt actually made me laugh out loud. I think just about everyone has been there a time or two!

  9. Love the intent and the mischievous feel to the snippet!

    So, I have to ask, what did you think of Murder by the Seaside? I rather liked it. Patience reminds me of me with all the stubborn, not necessarily the getting cars and offices blown up. 🙂

    Sorry to hear about technology being dumb, but at least it was only 25% and not 75%. Hope the rest of your week goes smoothly and with few technological hiccups.

    • Thanks! 🙂

      I really liked it. I had my suspicion from the beginning, but I even started to think ‘maybe he really is just an ass’. But, I was right. ha!
      Definitely a good way to look at it. And the week’s gone well other than that.

  10. […] – I did get through this. It was only 1(rather steamy, you may have figured if you read Wednesday’s post) scene, but I still finished it. 😉 I wrote 1240 […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

