Home of a mother, wife, writer

First, my Sponsor Post is up today on A Round of Words in 80 Days today, so you can go check that out if you want.

My posts to share today seem to focus on characters. First, one from Ava Jae on how she develops characters. I’m pretty much exactly the opposite. The characters are one of the first things I figure out. Often the plot comes from learning about them. Now, sometimes what I know about them changes, or I learn something new, as I write. But, I need to have a pretty good idea before I even start.

And I found this post by Ellen Alden on naming traditions really interesting. It would definitely be something to keep in mind if writing historical fiction.

And from Kristen Lamb, on Lies, Denials, and Buried Secrets. Everyone lies. Everyone has secrets. They may not be the “destroy someone’s life/end of the world” type, but they’re there and can effect the characters/plot. No one puts everything out there. No one is perfect.

What do you think? Have you read any good posts lately?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

