Home of a mother, wife, writer

Time for another installment of Weekend Writing Warriors, the blog hop for everyone who likes to write. I am, once again, writing this up on Friday. But, as I’ve finished everything for the week, this counts as my weekend, right? Anyway, I have 10 sentences following shortly after last week’s snippet. The three men are talking away from Trace, but he can still hear them.

   ”Think he’s trouble, Cap’n. Or it could follow him.”
“He’s just a boy.” Icarus’ voice, still soft, but with steel behind it. “And there’s something ’bout him.”
That had my stomach twisting in knots. Did he see it too?
“Looks like he could use a few good nights sleep,” a rumbling voice said. “And extra meals.”
“God, he reminds me of someone.”

So, who does Trace remind Icarus of? Is he going to bring trouble? Just what are they planning? Come back next week, and you might find out. 😉

IMG_0785

We had my daughter’s 8th birthday party yesterday. 8, really? How did that happen?(Yes, I know how it actually happened, but still…) It went well, and she got some new toys, clothes, and books(and notebooks and pencils, of course).

gift from one of her school friends

gift from one of her school friends

Today, Daddy is taking her out for breakfast and possibly bringing pizza home for dinner tomorrow night for her actual birthday. And then, 3 1/2 weeks until the boy’s birthday.

playing with the new doll we got her

playing with the new doll we got her

Since I’m starting to write this on Friday, it’s probably obvious how this week has gone. 😀 I really thought it would take longer to do revisions on Demons Rising. I didn’t rewrite as much as I thought I’d have to. I still may end up rewriting those scenes, for now I reworked a few things. And I threw one scene out entirely(well moved to a ‘cut scenes’ folder in my scrivener folder in case I want to put it back in).

  • Demons Rising: Round 1 Revisions – DONE!! Added over 7800 words to this. Now, sitting at just under 95k. That’s long for one of mine, usually they’re between 80-85k or even under that.
  • Into the Sun: Try to finish Edited: forgot about this – have added 1525 words this weekend. Getting close to the finish & having ideas for more stories with these characters.
  • Read: GMC: Goal, Motivation, and Conflict(Debra Dixon) – 25% – got this done
  • Read: Scratch(Rhonda Helms), Pivot Point(Kasie West), & Love the Way You Lie(Skye Warren) – I had these done by Wednesday’s check-in. Have also read Curious(R.G. Alexander) – really enjoyed- and finished No Limits(Lori Foster) yesterday. Liked it. Although there are tie-ins to a series I haven’t read yet(have it on my list now, though). Also finished listening to Hidden(Kendra Elliot) and really liked it. Apparently I should have listened to these before the Callahan & McLane series, since they happened before and we see some of the same characters. But…*shrug*
  • Knit: Hive Dishcloth – Finished this on Friday.IMG_0774

For next week:

  • Demons Rising: Read Through on my Kindle
  • Guarding the Heart: Work through Chapter 17(this will be early morning project)
  • Into the Sun: finish 1st draft
  • Read: GMC: Goal, Motivation, Conflict – 50%
  • Read: Debt Collector: Season 1(Susan Kaye Quinn), Murder by the Seaside(Julie Anne Lindsey), & Everly After(Rebecca Paula)
  • Crochet: Spring Training Cap
Comments on: "Sunday Summary: WeWriWa – “Just a Boy”" (12)

  1. Intriguing snippet, which could take the story anywhere – always a good thing!

  2. Oh now there’s a question that needs answering. Who does he remind them of? Great snippet

  3. Always so wonderful to leave off with a question 🙂 I still love your to do list!!!

  4. A character named Icarus … very memorable.

  5. You are seriously motoring along. Way to go!

  6. I’m currently reading Murder Comes Ashore, the second book in the series. I am interested in your thoughts about it Seaside when you finish it. I actually enjoyed Murder by the Seaside., something a little different for me. But the characters are strong and the plot was engaging. I an rather a mystery buff (reading all those Agatha Christie’s novels as such).

    Sound like the weeks been good for you! Here’s to another one coming around the mountain! 🙂

    • I finished it last night and did really enjoy it. Looking forward to reading the next book

      Thanks! Ran into a snag yesterday(technology issue) but I was already ahead, so it didn’t really set me back at least.

  7. […] of Weekend Writing Warriors. Still sharing from my short story-turned-novella, Into the Sun. Last week, we left off with some questions. This week, some might be answered.(I’ll answer one: they […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

