Home of a mother, wife, writer

Monday night when my husband got home, we put the air conditioners in the windows. Usually this waits until sometime in August. But, since the next 2 days were calling for 90 degree temperatures, we decided now was a good time. It was 85 degrees in our house by 10 yesterday morning. I definitely turned the a/c on.

This week is going rather well so far. I got First Choice, Second Chance back from the proofreader on Monday(actually Sunday night, but I didn’t check my email until Monday morning). So, I got that fixed up before starting my reverse outline for Demons Rising. I’m actually a bit ahead on that.

Before I get to all my progress for the week so far, it’s Wednesday, so that means time for another WiPPet Snippet!! Today I have nine paragraphs(7+2+9=18=1+8=9) following almost right after last week’s snippet(there’s like 1 paragraph between them).

Emelyn drew in a breath, letting it out slowly again, then straightened from the counter. Time to put that, and Casey, out of her mind. He was just the bodyguard. He didn’t matter at all. As long as she reminded herself of that, he couldn’t get to her.
She pulled a pan out of one of the lower cupboards then raided the cabinets. She settled on one of her proven concoctions, with just a few alterations going by what ingredients she found. She lost herself in the comfort of the creation. It was easier knowing this was something she wouldn’t mess up. Until it was finished, and she had plated the meal. Then, all the thoughts rushed back in, stealing her breath at the intensity. She turned and saw Casey standing in the doorway, his gaze focused right on her.
“How long have you been there?” she demanded, wondering how she hadn’t felt him sooner.
“Long enough,” he said, not taking his eyes off her. His blue eyes seemed darker, heated by something.
She opened her mouth to say something, hopefully something biting that would get him to turn away from her. Otherwise she thought she’d burst into flames. But, he just grabbed two of the plates and carried them over to the table. She stared at him for a moment, then grabbed the last of the plates and carried it to her own seat. “How do you know one of those was for you?” she asked. “Maybe I invited someone else over.”
“Your roommate said you were making dinner, and I’d enjoy whatever it was. She said nothing about anyone else joining us.”
One lip started to lift in a snarl, but he hadn’t really said anything that deserved the defensive response. She forced herself to relax and turn away from him. Again, why was she letting him burrow so deep under her skin? “Would that be a problem, or would I have to run that by you too?”
He studied her for a minute then just shook his head. “You may think it, but I’m not trying to ruin your life, Emelyn. Your father hired me to keep you safe until this threat is over, so that’s what I plan to do. So, yes, if you plan to have someone over, I’d like to know about it so I can be prepared.”
She studied him now. He had dropped the drawl again, and he spoke stiffly. Was he trying to prove something or what. It’s the only reason she knew for someone to act like that, to make themselves seem like something other than they were. She wanted to tell him to drop the act. But, the few times he had, it had done something to her. Something she didn’t think she really liked. With anyone else, she may have jumped on the feeling. But between him being the bodyguard and her just leaving behind one of those other train wrecks she’d jumped on, she knew it was better this way.

Are these two ever going to learn to get along or…well, what would be the fun in that?

  • Demons Rising(title subject to change, as there are no actual demons in the story): do reverse outline on notecards – I’m past the midpoint on this. A little ahead of schedule. A lot more scenes from Jade’s POV than Todd’s so there may be some rewriting in store(actually I know there will be anyway).

    orange are Jade's PoV, green are Todd's

    orange are Jade’s PoV, green are Todd’s

  • Guarding the Heart: finish Chapter 15(hoping to get to Chapter 16 as well, but who knows) – just finished Chapter 15 this morning. I’ve added 1360 words so far this week. That’s almost what I got on it all last week.
  • Into the Sun: finish 1st draft(I know basically how I want to do this, so we’ll see if the words cooperate) – I’ve still got at least a few more scenes to go. Not sure if I’ll finish this week, but I should get close. Added 1455 words so far this week.
  • Read: Finish Super Structure – getting close on this. about 84% through it.
  • Read: Finish Straight from the Hip, and work through other free books – finished Straight from the Hip. Enjoyed it more than the first two. Also read: Hard Knocks(Lori Foster) and Hot as Hades(Cynthia Rayne). I started another of the books I got from my MiL, but didn’t care for it so set it aside. I’ve started Silken Threads(Patricia Ryan). About 16% through it but not sure what I think still. Going to give it a little longer.
  • Crochet: Amazing Grace Blissful Beanie – finished this on Sunday.IMG_0763

Hoping the week continues to go well.

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Getting Hot" (19)

  1. I love their interactions so much, and how Emelyn’s having to force herself not to snap at him just to protect herself. I don’t blame her… he could be walking out of her life at any time, even without her thinking of her past “train wrecks”.

    And also (maybe because I’m hungry), I’m suddenly weirdly curious about what she was making for dinner, haha.

    That’s another awesome hat. 😮 Your crocheting skills are fantastic… and I’m maybe a wee bit in awe of the fact you actually get your projects done!

    • Thanks! and haha! I haven’t even figured out that detail. 🙂
      Thanks, if I didn’t put it on my to-do lists, I probably wouldn’t get many done either.

  2. Hee, I love you colored stickies! All I’ve ever done is color povs in Scrivener. 🙂

    Great scene!

    • They’re actually note cards, cut in half(and I still managed to nearly fill up the board by the time I finished). Have the summary of the scene on the front and list of edits on the back.

      Thanks!

  3. Aah ha! So she knows she might be falling for him. I wonder if that will help her resist, or just make it harder.

  4. These two are just so sweet for each other. It’s almost sad how little does Emylyn know how many train wrecks Casey’s been in of late…..

    • haha, yeah, or as a character says later when Emelyn insists he hates her, “You get to him.” – I’d say that’s mutual 🙂

  5. Interesting premise. I like how there’s obviously some tension there but she’s not losing her head (yet) or anything

  6. This is a great interaction. The little details you throw in about him losing his drawl and what that did to her in the first place are excellent. And I want to know what’s for dinner as well. 😉

    • Thank you. And earlier he laid it on a bit thick, which got to her too. 🙂 haha…I haven’t even figured that little detail out yet. 😉

  7. Love the tension between Emelyn and Casey. Excited to see what’s next! 🙂

    Have an awesome week, Fallon!

  8. Great dialogue and tension. I admit I’m also curious about what she was cooking too 🙂

  9. I agree with the others. They’re both just dancing around each other, putting on this front. I think I would probably be the same way in her shoes, snipping about what she has to run past him.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

