Home of a mother, wife, writer

WeWriWa: Into the Sun

This is my first time joining in with the Weekend Writing Warriors. I usually post with the WiPPet group on Wednesdays, but figured I’d join in with this one, too. Here, I’ll be sharing from a project I’ve been working on over weekends since about April. Into the Sun started as a short story, but it’s looking like it may be more of a novella. I have 9 sentences for my initiation post from pretty close to the beginning of it.

“Trace,” she called out to me, “you don’t have to do this.” But, I did. She knew I did. “Your father-” My head jerked up at that one, finally looking at her. Another day, the anxiety in her eyes, the fading bruise on her cheek, the way she hung back would have made me want to comfort her. “Don’t call him that. Don’t you ever dare call him that again, Mom.” “He raised you,” she insisted, her gaze darting out into the yard before coming back to me.

I wanted to share the next line, but that’d break the rules. So, come back next week, and hopefully I’ll share it with you. Also, thinking of merging this and my Sunday RoW80 check-ins(with the check-in after the excerpt, of course). Or wondering if I should just keep them separate. Any opinions on that?

Comments on: "WeWriWa: Into the Sun" (14)

  1. Hi Fallon, welcome to WeWriWa πŸ™‚ You’ve got a gripping excerpt here. Even without knowing exactly what happened to the characters, I feel bad for both of them and really hope things turn out okay!

    As a WeWriWa moderator, I want to thank you for following our rules πŸ™‚ You can combine posts for both blog hops if you want, assuming you can stick to the rules for both in one post. We hope you’ll be around in our blog hop for a long time!

  2. Welcome to WWW! Great snippet- I was immediately caught by the tension in the scene and want to know what it is he has to do.

    • Thanks! That would have been more obvious if I’d included the paragraph before this, but…I didn’t. πŸ˜‰ I’d wanted to be able to include more of this dialogue.

  3. Ah! Next line please πŸ™‚ Next week…

  4. […] Warriors. So, if you’re interested in my weekend project, you can check out an excerpt of it here. I’ll still be sharing from my current WiP(right now: Burning Bright, next month: Guarding […]

  5. Welcome to wewriwa! Great emotion in this snippet. And you’ve infused a lot of information seamlessly into the writing. Nicely done! πŸ™‚

  6. Hi, Fallon! Looks like more and more of us are moving into both challenges. Just like the Wednesday WIPpet, this blog hop is full of really supportive and helpful people.

    As for the snippet… nice way to tug us into the conflict. I don’t know what bad thing happened, but I do know something bad did.

  7. Welcome Fallon. I am looking forward to next weeks snippets. Dad doesn’t sound like much fun.

  8. […] back for another week of Weekend Writing Warriors. Last week I promised the next line(+more), so here is the next 10 […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

