Home of a mother, wife, writer

My new goal of working by scene seems to be going well. Monday I had 3 planned scenes to write. Ended up writing 6. Another 3 planned for Tuesday. Ended up writing 4.5(blaming Roni Loren’s new novella coming out for not finishing that last one). I’ve decided to shut everything down at dinnertime, and leave the rest of the evening open for reading. So, if I don’t get all the goals done for that day, I’ll move them to the next day. Seems to be working so far as I wrote over 12,800 words in those two days.

Before I break down my progress so far this week, it’s WEDNESDAY!!! Yes, yes, I’m easily excited(also not quite 5:30 a.m. and on second cup of coffee. shhhhhh).  Today, I have 16 paragraphs(6-1+7-2+0+1+5) from Burning Bright between Kelan and Jace. The beginning of this references something that happened in Flames of Restoration, and nope, not telling you what they’re talking about(may share when I start revising Restoration, but for now, shhhh).

“He could never go back, and I’d be just as happy,” Kelan muttered. “If he goes after Nolan again-”
“I really don’t think he will,” Jace said. “Nolan said he seemed very remorseful when he visited him in the hospital.”
“Our brother is a much better man than I’d be.”
“He is,” Jace said. He’d thought the same of himself. The things Hallows had said and done hadn’t even been directed at him, and he found it difficult to forgive the man. He barely ducked the flying eraser then laughed. “I didn’t mean it like that, Kel. Damn. And they say artists are temperamental.”
He barely caught his brother’s scowl before he turned away. What was that about? “I, uh, saw your girlfriend today, too.”
Kelan’s shoulders tightened at that, then he turned back toward him. “What are you talking about?”
“The woman you brought to my last show. Finn’s teacher? Ms. Yates? Any of those ring a bell?”
Kelan stared at him another moment then started laughed. “Oh God,” he said finally sinking onto a stool. “You think I’m dating her?”
“Why wouldn’t I? Why wouldn’t you? There’s nothing wrong with her.”
He chuckled again and shook his head. “Her father’s one of the history teachers here. In fact, his room is right down that hallway,” Kelan said, pointing out the door. “I’d mentioned planning on going to your show. Dillon said he thought his daughter would like to go too. That led to me picking her up and taking her there. We had some fun, discussed some of your paintings, drank some champagne. Well, mostly she did, since I was driving, Then, I took her home. That’s all, Jace. I’ve talked to her a couple more times when she’s stopped in to see Dillon after school, but I’m not seeing her. I told her that first night I wasn’t interested in dating her. God, that would be like going out with Jessica.”
“Except Kammi isn’t your sister.” That was it. He’d been struggling to remember her first name.
And now Kelan’s eyes lit up. “So, it’s Kammi now, is it?”
Jace tossed the eraser back at him. “Figured that was easier than calling her Ms. Yates. So, you’re really not dating her?”
Kelan laughed. “No, Jace. We went to your show together. Why? You thinking about dating her?”
Jace glanced down at the toes of his boots, but he could feel his face warm. “I should get going,” he said. “I’ve got a painting I need to finish.”
He caught his brother’s grin as he turned away though. And knew he hadn’t fooled the other man. But, it didn’t really matter. He probably wouldn’t see her again anyway.

You can check out other snippets here or even add your own. I’m actually thinking of plotting out Kelan’s story and then Jess’s and writing the last three(Tate’s is already plotted) back to back. I’m planning on working on a complete rewrite of my 2011 NaNo novel next month for Camp NaNo and then I’ll start writing Tate’s.

As for how I’ve done this week:

  • Burning Bright – Write 14 scenes – I’ve written 11/14 scenes, but I actually have 8 more to go to get to the point I wanted to be, unless I add more in there. And it looks like I’ll be camping with my dad and stepmom the last week of this month, so I’d like to try to finish this next week. That might not happen. We’ll see.
  • Some Fools Never Learn – Finish Outline– I did finish this up on Sunday. I wasn’t going to plot anything else for a while, but I think I’m going to do the rest of the Hunter family series.
  • Into the Sun – total: 14k – I wrote some more on this on Sunday, it’s just over 12k right now. Will add more this weekend.
  • Reading: Finish Deathmaker, Wait for You(J. Lynn), & The Madman’s Daughter(Megan Shepherd) – I finished Deathmaker(loved it) and enjoyed Wait for You. I got about 35% through The Madman’s Daughter then Yours All Along came out. I don’t usually read a book as soon as it comes out, but yeah. I did. And loved it(seems to be a given for Roni’s books). I picked The Madman’s Daughter back up today, but it hasn’t really drawn me in. I don’t know if I’ll keep with it or not.
  • Knit: Schooner Hat – finish – finished this too. IMG_0611-0
  • Crochet: Peaked Women’s Cap – got the first few rounds done on this
Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Scene by Scene" (14)

  1. What did Hallows say and do? Did I miss something?

    Great scene! The brotherly interplay is wonderful. I love the way Jace sort of works his way around to the idea of dating Kammi and Kelan totally catches on. 🙂

    • It happened in Nolan’s story, but they’re still dealing with the fallout from it.
      Thanks. Kelan’s been kind of hard to get a handle on. He keeps a lot to himself, but I’m starting to figure him out as I write his brothers’ stories.

  2. Awesome progress this week, Fallon. Great dialogue in this week’s WIPpet!

  3. I had to remember who was whose, but a fun little conversation. Great job on the progress this week, Fallon! 🙂

    I slacked yesterday, with the writing. Had coffee with a friend I hadn’t had a chance to see but 10 minutes at Zombie Prom. Even got on his schedule to take some head shots with my new hair in a few weeks. So, it’s a good excuse. Been busy today to make up for it,

    • yeah, I seem to have a tendency to not be clear who’s speaking when I get into the back and forth. I’ll try to clear it up in revisions
      Sometimes you need a day off to just relax

  4. Whenever they think they’ll never see someone again, the Universe always has a way of making sure those words come back to haunt them. LOL! I like the way they interact with each other.

  5. Loved your WIPPet and seeing your fiber arts creations. I am going to learn how to crochet after Camp NaNo. You seem to be making good progress on your goals. Good luck from a ROW80 blog hopping friend.

  6. You always write dialogue that feels real, Fallon. It’s awesome.

    And you’re making great progress… I like the idea of shutting things down and reading for the evening. I did some of that last night and it was rejuvenating. Or it could be that I’m done with teaching for the year….

  7. Yep – I had the feeling it was Jace that wanted to ask her out – sneaky way of getting around to that. Nice progress on your goals – I tend to think in terms of scenes when I write also.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

