Home of a mother, wife, writer

I have mentioned that I have trouble sticking with one way of doing something for very long, yes? Well, while the work on writing for 5 hours a day was “working”, sometimes those 5 hours stretched through the whole day, and it seemed I struggled to get everything else done. And it didn’t always mean a lot of writing. So, I’ve gone back to an earlier plan of getting through a certain number of planned scenes. I have a tendency to add more in as I write even though I have the story outlined, so this may end up being more than what I originally had planned. Right now, I have to write 2.8 scenes to finish by the end of the month.

Also, I was going to shift to focus on editing starting next month. But, next month is Camp NaNoWriMo again. And while you can edit during it, it’s so much easier to track new words written. I am going to work on beta edits for The Choice(though I still haven’t heard back from 1/2 of them). But, I’ll also be working on a new-ish story. It was actually my 2011 NaNo, but I started rewriting it last year and then set it outside. Going to pull it back out next month though.

Anyway for how this week has gone:

 

  • Burning Bright(formerly known as Jace’s Story) – get to ~35000 words – only got to 30000 words.
  • Some Fools Never Learn – finish outline – Kept procrastinating on this. I still have 2 more chapters to outline.
  • Into the Sun – total: 12k – at 11,452 right now. Planning to keep going until I hit 12k today though.
  • Reading: Finish Torrent, Republic(Lindsay Buroker), Operation Cinderella(Hope Tarr), Death Scream(S.M. Reine), & Blurring the Lines(Roni Loren) I couldn’t get into Operation Cinderella, but I really enjoyed the other ones. I also read: The Sound of Us(Ashley Poston), All Broke Down(Cora Carmack), Nocte(Courtney Cole), and Crossing the Line(Katie McGarry). Enjoyed all of these, though Nocte was definitely different, a bit mind twisting. I’m currently about halfway through Deathmaker(Lindsay Buroker). Loving this one.
  • Knit: Schooner Hat – finish – not quite. I have about 2 more inches to knit then need to sew up the seam and make the pom pom for the top. Still hoping to do this today.

So, it seems reading is the only goal I actually met this week. Hope that changes for next week.

  • Burning Bright – Write 14 scenes
  • Some Fools Never Learn – Finish Outline
  • Into the Sun – total: 14k
  • Reading: Finish Deathmaker, Wait for You(J. Lynn), & The Madman’s Daughter(Megan Shepherd)
  • Knit: Schooner Hat – finish
  • Crochet: Peaked Women’s Cap

 

Comments on: "Sunday Summary: Another Shift" (10)

  1. You did very well! I read Death Scream by SM Reine too and it was awesome! She is such a great writer!

  2. I can still see some progress, Fallon. You done good, kid. 🙂 Some weeks are just going to be more about one goal. Hang in there.

  3. I think I have shifted my goals and how I plan to reach them at least 5 times this round. It’s good to be flexible. I have been told doing the same thing repeatedly when it’s not working is the definition of insanity. Good luck from a ROW80 blog hopping friend.

    • yeah, I think this is the best way for to figure out how to meet my deadline. Simply word count doesn’t work too well, since I’m not sure exactly how many words will be in a draft(usually I have an idea, but the final count could be less or more) and time doesn’t work well for me either. But, I’m usually close with the scenes.
      Thanks

  4. I’m planning on an editing binge in August and September, possibly into October, although I’ll be plotting my NaNo and ding OctPoWriMo then, so we’ll see. If only I weren’t a lot slower at editing than drafting…but i’m learning, and I have been moving forward with a currently 10kish TnT story, which is easier to incorporate into a writing month – but, since I’ve been revising it since February or even earlier, it’s certainly not a fast process!

    I think some weeks need to be about input more than output. Refilling the well…I always have a surge of writing soon after one of these weeks.

    Hope you do, too!

    • I’ll probably be editing through October, with some writing on the side. I’ve found I can’t just stop writing or I get…twitchy. So, I figure I’ll write for an hour/finish a scene first thing in the morning then switch to editing.

      My weekends are usually pretty much for refilling the well. Except for working on that side project, I most read and knit/crochet. Seems like that helps me be ready for more writing come Monday morning.

  5. With summer and kids you still manage so much. Sure you feel you did less than, but from this outsider’s perspective you did great. And change your method all you want. You are always moving forward and getting lots done. 🙂

    • Thanks. I’ve always been harder on myself than anyone else would ever be. I remember in school getting a bad grade, beating myself up(figuratively, of course), and my mom just being “well, you’ll do better next time.”

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

