Home of a mother, wife, writer

Just two posts to share today, but they are kind of related.

First, I read this post from Ava Jae on First Drafting. I agree with everything she says here. Sometimes I’ll look up little details  while I’m drafting, particularly if it’s going to affect other aspects of the story. But overall, I just worry about getting the story down. In fact, I tend to have a lot [xx] scattered through my WiPs. That can be anything from a name to a place, or any other detail I know I need to look up later. These are things I try to fill in during my first round of revisions. But, during the first draft, I don’t worry too much about them.

Then, I read this post from L.S. Mooney on The Great Noveling Adventure. Again, agree with all of this. I’m definitely more of a quantity writer when first drafting. Like I said above, I’m more worried about getting the story down in this stage. I participate in a couple different word sprints. The morning @novel_adventure sprints on twitter. On Fridays, there’s the #writeclub sprints, 30 minutes with a 10 minute break between. They run in pretty much all time zones, so you can almost guarantee you’ll find one no matter when you write. And this month, we have #JuNoWriMo. Again, there’s sprints running most of the day.

I don’t really use Write or Die anymore. I’ve found I like ForceDraft better. You can set a time or word count goal, and you have to meet that goal before you can get out of it. And it saves it in one file instead of having several of them. It also saves automatically(I had a few problems with the newer Write or Die not saving). I’ve only had a couple problems with ForceDraft, and that was mostly operator error(meaning to put 900 words, but clicking on minutes instead).

I know this pace of writing doesn’t work for everyone, but if I try to focus too much on getting the right words down, I don’t get any words down. So, this definitely works for me.

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

