Home of a mother, wife, writer

Planning by scene hasn’t gone so well for me this week. Mostly because I keep adding scenes in as I go. So, I’m about 2 scenes behind where I want to be. Because of that, I’m also behind on my revising and plotting goals. So, I’m thinking about changing back to a time goal. I’ve done this before and it usually works for a while. It helps to have a certain target to reach, though, so I’ll still be keeping those scene goals as my target. Otherwise I stare at the screen and hardly get anything written. So, I’m planning on writing for 3 hours, revising 2 hours, and plot for 1 hour. This will give me time to get other stuff done as well.

  • Flames of Restoration – finish 1st draft – done
  • Freeing His Heart – Write 4000/day – wrote 15344 for the week. Over 4 days that was an average of over 3800 words, so close.
  • Law of Choice – Read through/reverse outline – Got all the note cards done, just need to apply it to the project now.
  • Let It Begin(Kurztown 2.5) – Outline – just about. I have to put all the scenes into scrivener still and figure out the Goals, Motivation, Conflict, Disaster for each one.
  • Into the Sun – total: 7500 words – I got up to 6000. I may write more later today, but probably won’t make this goal.
  • Story a Day – haven’t written one for today yet, but otherwise have kept up with it.
  • Read: Finish Hope Flames, Alliance(Trisha Leigh), Head Over Heels(Jill Shalvis), Eyes Turned Skyward(Rebecca Yarros), & Torn(Kate Sparkes) – really loved Head Over Heels and Eyes Turned Skyward was really good. Only 6% into Torn.
  • Crochet: Loopy Love Blanket(going to actually try to get to it this week) – made it through row 19 of 45. Hopefully I can finish it this week.

Didn’t get nearly as much done this week as I would have liked. But some of them go that way.

  • Freeing His Heart – Finish 1st draft
  • Law of Choice – 1st round revisions
  • Let It Begin – finish outline
  • Some Fools Never Learn(Hunter Family #2) – Brainstorm
  • Into the Sun – total: 8000 words
  • Story a Day
  • Read: Finish Torn, Hard as You Can(Laura Kaye), Chasing Perfect(Susan Mallery), Brewing Up Murder(Catherine Lynn), & Bad Boys of Eden(this is a collection, & I have at least 1 or 2 separately)
  • Crochet: Loopy Love Blanket
  • Knit: Schooner hat
Comments on: "Sunday Summary: Timing It" (2)

  1. It can be so hard finding the right way to set your target. For some projects one method works, but for others another one is better. Not to mention how those same things mesh with family/social life. It’s a strange balancing act, but we eventually find it (if only for a short while). I’m sure you’ll get lots done this week. You work hard and it shows. 🙂

    • I think this method will work better for while the kids are home over the summer as well. At least I’m hoping it does.

      Thanks for stopping by

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

