Home of a mother, wife, writer

No, I’m not changing my plans again. Not exactly anyway. I’m still working on Freeing His Heart(Gilbert, Co 4.5) since I finished Flames of Restoration on Monday. But, I was planning on writing ~5000 words a day. Instead, I have certain scenes I want to get through each day. Some days this might take longer than others, as I may end up adding more between those scenes as I go. But, for what I have now, this should have this done by the end of the month(actually 5/28 if I stick to it). On day 2 of this plan, and it’s working so far. I’m about halfway to today’s goal. We’ll see if it continues to work though. And between each scene I’m getting non-writing tasks checked off my to-do list.

The kids only have 2 weeks left of school. Still figuring out how I’m going to handle having both at home all day again and still get things done. I’m sure I’ll find a way to juggle it though. The school is having their book fair this week. The girl’s class(1st grade) went yesterday & she got 2 new books. One of them is labeled as 4th grade reading level. She read some of it on the bus on the way home & finished it before bedtime last night. And then, started reading it over again. Oh, yeah, she definitely takes after me.

This morning when I was washing the dishes I sliced my finger on the blade for the food processor. Typing is a little difficult with a bandaid on my finger. But, on we go.

And enough randomness from me. First up, a snippet from Freeing His Heart. 7 paragraphs from Chapter 1. This actually references one of my Story a Day pieces from this week. Patrick(which I realized yesterday, both the one I’m drafting & one I’m plotting have a Patrick in them. In different series, but may have to change one) is talking to his stepmom here.

She squeezed his arm then offered him a soft smile. “Come on downstairs. I made your favorite cookies yesterday before we even knew you were coming. It must be a sign.”
He forced himself to smile back at her. Then, he followed her down to the kitchen. He knew it made her feel good to take care of them. Even if he was old enough to take care of himself. He was already biting into the first M&M cookie when she set a glass of milk in front of him. He’d finished that one and was grabbing a second when she broke the silence.
“So, what really has you upset, Patrick?”
His hand froze, and he waited for his heart to slow again. “I don’t know what you mean. I told you what happened with my job. I’m on vacation, and I didn’t have anything else to do.”
“But, you could have found something. And I’ve known you for more than twenty years, Patrick. I know when there’s something more you’re feeling and won’t say.”
“Why do I suddenly feel thirteen again?” he wondered out loud.
Sophia smiled at him. “If you’re referencing the one and only time you said you hated me, I feel it too. But, I doubt it has anything to do with your mother this time. Or homework you have no desire to do.”

She knows him pretty well, but will he actually tell her what’s going on? (hint: not quite)

As for my RoW80 progress:

  • Flames of Restoration – finish 1st draft – done! Wrote 4053 words on Monday to finish it. It’s sitting at a bit over 79k. That will of course change when I start revisions.
  • Freeing His Heart – Write 4000/day(not sure of total – depends on finishing ‘Restoration’) – I’ve written 5206 so far this week. 3240 yesterday and 1966 so far today.
  • Law of Choice – Read through/reverse outline – I’ve gotten note cards done through the midpoint. Found a few issues already. This definitely feels like a better way to see it all.

    revision board so far

    revision board so far

  • Let It Begin(Kurztown 2.5) – Outline – I have plot summary written out & signpost scenes listed. Need to do beat sheet, full scene list & outline in scrivener & it will be ready(don’t know when I’ll actually get to writing though).
  • Into the Sun – total: 7500 words – weekend project
  •  Story a Day – keeping up with this. You can follow that link to the list of all this month’s pieces so far. Or for this week:
    • 5/18: Back in Town – back story for Let It Begin
    • 5/19: Not Your Mom – this is the one linked above, referenced in this week’s WiPPet
    • 5/20: Condolences & Consequences – more back story for Let It Begin. My one(and probably only) attempt at present tense. Warning for mentions of abuse.
  • Read: Finish Hope Flames, Alliance(Trisha Leigh), Head Over Heels(Jill Shalvis), Eyes Turned Skyward(Rebecca Yarros), & Torn(Kate Sparkes) – enjoyed Hope Flames. Alliance was…I don’t know. Good story, but it really felt like it dragged for a lot of it. Still looking forward to the third book whenever it comes out.
  • Crochet: Loopy Love Blanket(going to actually try to get to it this week) – got this started.

 

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Shifting Plans" (24)

  1. Congrats of finishing that first draft. *high five from far away* Good luck on revisions–now the fun begins, eh?

    • Thanks! This one will sit a while before I start revising. I have a backlog of drafts that need revising. So, I should probably stop writing new ones…but, I don’t see that happening. 🙂

  2. LOL Sophia’s last line there. That’s great. 😀

  3. haha that last line from her is great made me snort!!

  4. Your bulletin board is adorable. Does it ever go on a wall or do you keep it handy to use for your writing?

    Summer just keeps getting closer. It feels far away and so close all at once for me. I think you’ll find your groove. I’m sure you’ll run circles around me as always. 😉

    • Thanks! I used to hang it on a wall(when I’d have character notes on it), but it never stayed up very well. This is my first time using this technique to revise. I’m hoping it works.

      I imagine my computer or notebooks will be seeing lots of outside time this summer. 🙂

  5. Ha! I love the relationship here. I think stepmoms often get a bad rap, so I’m glad to see these two seem to enjoy a positive relationship. I like how he notices (and appreciates) her care and the little detail about the M&M cookies. This is funny and sweet but hints at something more, too. I just love it.

  6. It’s interesting how parents are “always your parents” in that sense they can make you feel childlike and in need protection at vulnerable moments…. no matter how old you are.

    As always, lots of progress… Your daughter sounds like my son with books. It’s a beautiful thing, isn’t it? I mean, it’s beautiful either way, but it’s nice to have that extra layer of connection too.

  7. Yay for 1st drafts completed!! ~readys the confetti canon~ And so begins the revisions!! 🙂

    • Well, revisions on this one won’t start for a while. The one I am revising now, I actually wrote about a year ago. I have a bit of a back log of first drafts to get to revising.

  8. Love the story about the first grader — yeah, sounds like me too. 🙂

    Telling scene, like the interaction between the characters.

    Congrats on the first draft — and all your great progress on other goals!

  9. Being a step mom myself, this really struck me as so dead on. Want to read more! Well done on all the goals achieved and all the writing! I chuckled when you described your little one to yourself. My daughter was like that as well.

  10. Since my kids read mostly on their Kindles, and at all hours (no, I’m not kidding; even a little), and in their rooms, I often don’t know what they’re reading and when unless they care to share, or come read over my shoulder.

    I’m planning to carry the Story a Day concept through July, adapting it so that I can finish a scene a day (my scenes tend to be longer, maybe, than average).

    Love this interaction, and the well-handled hints of their long history together. I hope Patrick can open up to her, or someone, about the whole of what’s going on in his life.

  11. Wow, you’re productive! Congrats on finishing your draft! I like this interaction between characters. It’s very comfortable, and sweet, very clearly family. It’s a good show of that dynamic between parent and adult child.

  12. kathils said:

    Hurray for first draft completedness! Is so a word. I just made it one. ;p

    Nice scene that reveals a lot about the relationship between these two.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

