Home of a mother, wife, writer

I

A little different post today. I was going to write about interior attack, but decided instead to give a little look into one of my characters from the Flames series.

I actually didn’t know how much influence James was going to have on the story when I started writing Flames of Redemption. I knew he was Kayla’s(my Main character) uncle, and he was going to be training her to be a fire investigator. I didn’t know he was going to have his own story to tell. Especially since when I started writing his story, Flames of Renewal, he’s the oldest main character I’ve ever written, being in his early 50s. I’m actually started the first round of revisions on this story now.

Some information on James:

Name: James Brooke

Age: 52

Parents: Robert & Carol Brooke

Siblings: Brother – Zachary

Occupation: Fire Investigator

Background: Following in their father’s footsteps, both James and Zachary went into the fire service. When he was still a rookie, James met Sarah Rafferty. Two years into their marriage, her and their young son died in a fire. With them, James lost his heart for fighting fires. He still did the job, but his passion for it was gone. Until he got into the investigation side, and he found a new calling. Even though he tried to bury the memories of his family, he never could move on from the loss.

And a little excerpt from Flames of Renewal:

Zachary looked up from the book in his hands. “I didn’t know you were coming over, James.”
“I didn’t either. Just thought I’d stop by.” He glanced around the room, noted the scattered projects. A model airplane, half a train track. A birdhouse? He barely contained a chuckle. “Still looking for that hobby, Zach?”
“Angela thinks I need to find something I can do outside the house. Damn it, James, I never thought retirement would be so difficult.”
“It would be for you.”
“Speaking of, how are you doing?”
“What are you talking about? I’m not retired.”
It was Zachary’s turn to laugh. “Don’t I know it. You’ll probably never retire. Kayla’s just like you. Are you sure she’s my daughter?”
The corners of his lips turned up. “Trust me. She’s yours. She’s a damn carbon copy.” He saw the shadows pass through his brother’s eyes and almost wished he hadn’t said it. Being just like him is what had gotten her almost killed this past winter. She had inherited her father’s impulsiveness, and it tended to get her in trouble. “Zach, I’m sorry.”
He waved that away. “It’s not your fault. You’ve dragged both of us out of enough disasters.”
“I’ve never regretted a moment of it.”
Zachary smiled. “I know it. So, what are you doing here? I thought you had that class today.”
“I did. It’s over. I…” He trailed off and ran a hand over his head. “I just didn’t feel like going home.”
His brother’s eyes narrowed and James knew he worried. They all worried and watched him like he was going to have a nervous breakdown. He’d handled everything for thirty years. Why would he break down now? “Are you okay?”
“I’m fine. How many times will I have to tell you people that?”
“Until you actually start acting fine. I know it was hard to lose Mom, and it probably brought some things back up for you.”
“Mom was suffering. She hadn’t been the same for over a year now. It was a blessing really.”
“It still hurts.”
James nodded. “It does. It’s not like losing Sarah and Kieran though. I’m fine, Zach, really.”
His brother relaxed, apparently satisfied for now. “So, how was this class?”

 

Comments on: "A to Z: I is for Investigator James Brooke" (3)

  1. This behind-the-scenes look at how writers think about their characters is quite interesting to me.
    ~Visiting from AtoZ

  2. […] written about James before. He was a character that surprised me. A lot of them seem to do that. But, really, I didn’t […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

