Home of a mother, wife, writer

It feels like I’ve had a bit of an odd week. Monday & Tuesday I was up early, very, very early. Like just after 2 a.m. Then, last night I fell asleep on the couch after putting the kids to bed. Woke up a bit after 1 and actually went in to bed then. Didn’t figure I’d actually get much sleep. Except that I didn’t wake up until 4:30(I’m usually up around 4). Apparently I needed some sleep. I have been getting things done, although I am a little behind today. Still, things are going well, and hopefully my sleep schedule will be back on track.

For today’s WiPPet, I have 18 sentences(4+8+1+5) from Chapter 15 of Flames of Recompense. Callum has gone to talk to Megan. He’s already tried to do it once, but they got interrupted.

“I know,” she said and finally came over to sit across from him at the table. “I shouldn’t have said you couldn’t see her now. It scared me to think you’d so easily go back to that when I was finally starting to trust you.”
“Were you really?” he asked, his voice going hard again. God, how could she make him go from angry to sad to hopeful and right back to angry so easily? “If you trusted me, you wouldn’t have just assumed the worst of me.”
“I said starting to, Cal. We still had a ways to go to full trust.”
“So, that’s it?” he asked, pushing up from the chair. “You can’t fully trust me, so I can’t be in your or Kaelin’s lives? How is that fair?”
She stood up too. “It’s not,” she agreed. “It’s not fair at all, Callum. It wasn’t fair for me to go through the pregnancy alone. It wasn’t fair for her to go through her first years without a father. It wasn’t fair to keep her from you for so long. It’s not fair that I still feel so much for you even when I’m afraid of what it will do to her.”

So, is this the start of them working things out? Or not? Check back next week and find out. 😀 In the meantime, go check out the other WiPPeTeers or add your own here.

As for my Row80 goals, we’re only a couple days into the round, but things are going well.

  • Stained Blood – 25000 words – I’m up to a little over 21000 words. They’ve been coming a little easier since I got past that one troublesome scene. Should meet this goal by Friday.
  • Flames of Restoration – 5000 words – These words have been flowing rather well. I may end up cutting the first 2 scenes(not sure I want to start there), but keeping them for now. A little over 3k into it right now.
  • Flames of Renewal – First Read Through – I’m about 56% through this. Marked a few places where I need to add more and a few details I need to check out some more.
  • By the Gun – Outline – I just have to do the beat sheet and outline scenes for this. Should have it finished this week.
  • Blog – E-J posts – I have through H done. I’d planned to try to get I & J done last night then I fell asleep on the couch. Maybe tonight.
  • Read – Claimed(Lindsay Buroker), Love’s Paradox(Laura Kreitzer), Captured Love(Juliana Haygert), Heirs of War(Mara Valderran), & Island of Glass(Ruth Nestvold) – Loved Claimed!! But…now I have to wait for the next book. Enjoyed Love’s Paradox though I had a few problems with it. Just started Captured Love but hoping to read more tonight.
  • Knit – Simple Cable Scarf – Finish Cable pattern 1 & 2 – Been working on this. Finished that first pattern repeat. Just started the repeats for pattern 2. On track with this.
Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Odd Week" (29)

  1. Ugh. I need some sleep too. Hope you get some extra Z’s soon.

    • Extra Zs- probably not. I can’t get much more than 6 hours or I feel rather cruddy. I did get a little less than that last night, but actually feel better.

  2. Great WIPpet (so much tension!), and love the goals. Best of luck catching those ZZzz’s.

  3. Loved this snippet. So much tension and then she throws out she still cares in the last line. What’s he to do with that.
    Great set of goals this round!

  4. I hope her admission in the last part is the start of working things out. Now if only he remembers to give the proper response to that!

  5. Tooo maannyyy feeeelings for me!!! *clutches heart, starts to twitch* *deep breaths, deep breaths* Excuse me. I need to go kill a character in the most humorous way possible or something.

    (Nicely done. 🙂 )

  6. I’m going to guess… yes. Working things out. 🙂

  7. You’re doing great . . . and we just started this ROW80 round. Woohoo! Hope you have a great day. TTFN

  8. Your goals look very attainable, and it seems like you’re already making great progress! Any tips for juggling several projects at a time?

    • Thanks!
      I only know what works for me. I split them into smaller chunks. The 2 projects I’m drafting I have split word counts. 2k on one a day and 1k on the other. And I just work through what’s on the list. I know some people have trouble jumping between, but I find I can close the lid on one thing and open the other without too much trouble. It just seems to be the way my mind works.

  9. Sometimes our bodies just tell us when we need sleep.

    I love your excerpt. Like I’ve said before, I really like your writing style.

  10. Sounds like things are becoming clearer, whether this is the beginning of resolving their issues, or not.

    The full moon tends to make everyone here more nocturnal, so maybe that had something to do with your odd sleep.

    You’ve still gotten a lot accomplished!

    I’m just finishing up a break – a little breather after the first coming-together of the focus couple. It’s not exactly a difficult scene to write, but it is a complex and sensitive one…I’m loving writing it, but will also be relieved when I’ve got it finished and my momentum picks up!

  11. If I’m guessing right, there’s going to be a bit of non-verbal discussion done here soon… the kind that requires yet another discussion because nothing was really “worked out”.

    Great work on those goals of yours…. even if sleep threw you for a bit of a loop. Maybe it’s the weird weather going around? Or the change in season?

    • “non-verbal discussion” – that could be one way to put it. 🙂

      Thanks. I seem to go through weird cycles where I can’t stay up late, but wake super early. Then, it changes and I’m up late(and usually still up super early). I still haven’t figured out why. Usually as long as I get between 4-6 hours of sleep, I’m good though.

      • We all have our own rhythms. Maybe the weather is part of yours, maybe food… As long as you can work with it.

        only one way to put it, hmm? 🙂

  12. Ahh… to sleep. Perchance to dream… I’ll go through stretches where decent sleep, or at least more than an hour at a time, is a dream. Sometimes it’s my brain’s fault. You think it would need to shut off once in a while.

    Great excerpt. To rebuild shattered trust is a difficult thing. For some people, impossible. I’ll be watching to see how these two do.

    • I have that problem sometimes, too. A lot of times I’ll end up reading on my phone until I smack myself in the face with it(because I fell asleep).

      Thanks

  13. I cannot even imagine waking up at 4am. I’m a sleepaholic. I go to bed at 10pm (or earlier if I can manage it) and have trouble getting up at 5:57 (because that’s the latest I can manage). But, I know the pain of having sleep off track, so I hope yours is back on track by now.

    Looks like you have stuff under control with your goals. You are such a hard worker! Keep being awesome!

  14. Nice tension and inner monologue from Cal. I hope things work out – even if it’s just for the sake of their daughter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

