Home of a mother, wife, writer

For the first time, I’m going to attempt the A-Z blogging challenge. I’ve thought about it in the past, but that’s about all the farther I’ve gotten since I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to come up with enough topics and keep up with it. But, this year, I’ve decided to at least give it a try.

APRIL-CALENDAR [2015]

Knowing myself as well as I do, I know without a theme, this just isn’t going to happen. For those who have been following me for a while, you know I write a series that revolves around firefighters. You may not know that I’m also married to one(volunteer). Also, I grew up right next to a fire station, and my uncle and various cousins(first and distant) are also volunteers. So, for this month, I will be blogging about different terms related to the fire service. Some(maybe a lot) of these will have some personal experience mixed in. So, that will be 6 posts a week for this plus my twice weekly RoW80 updates. This should be interesting. 🙂

IMG_0497

Week 1:

4/1: A – Arson

4/2: B – Backdraft

4/3: C – Class of Fire

4/4: D – Drafting

Week 2:

4/6: E – Explorers

4/7: F – Forcible Entry

4/8: G – Ground Ladder

4/9: H – Halligan

4/10: I – Interior Attack

4/11: J – Jaws of Life

Week 3:

4/13: K – K-tool

4/14: L – Ladder

4/15: M – Mutual Aid

4/16: N – NFPA

4/17: O – Overhaul

4/18: P – PASS Device

Week 4:

4/20: Q – Quad or Quint

4/21: R – Rapid Intervention

4/22: S – SCBA

4/23: T – Turnout Gear

4/24: U – Under Control

4/25: V – Volunteers

Week 5:

4/27: W – Working Fire

4/28: X – X-trication

4/29: Y – Wye

4/30: Z – Zone

Wow, some of those were hard to decide on. Not many terms for X, Y, and Z. Had to get a little creative. 🙂 Anyway, I’m thinking of making this a monthly feature, even after this challenge is over. I may stick it in with my revolving Friday topics.

Comments on: "Fire Friday: A-Z Challenge" (10)

  1. I’m really happy you’re doing the challenge! You’re already halfway there with your word list. That’s always the hardest part, coming up with the words. I always start with the words that start with X, because it’s so uncommon as a starting letter. Most people pick a word that starts with “ex” for that reason. Hey, works for me.

    • Thanks. I’m looking forward to attempting it. Apparently I need more than NaNo for a challenge, since writing at least 50k in a month has become my normal. 🙂

  2. You’ve got an interesting theme! I look forward to reading your posts. 😀

  3. […] you caught my post on Friday, you know I’m doing the A-Z blogging challenge next month. What that means is that there […]

  4. Best of luck with your A-Z. 🙂

  5. I’ve been catching your A to Z posts, and came back here to check out what your actual theme was… I knew it had something to do with fire. Cool! I started following you because of ROW80, and now I’m happy to be reading along for A to Z. Always something interesting going on, isn’t there!

    I nominated you for a Liebster Award, by the way! You can check it out here: https://millennialcreativity.wordpress.com/2015/04/03/liebster-award/ Keep being an awesome blogger!

  6. […] I mentioned in my theme reveal post, my husband is a volunteer firefighter. He’s also the Chief Safety Officer for our department, […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

