Home of a mother, wife, writer

It’s been a pretty good week so far. Temperatures are moving up. I spent Monday afternoon widening the path to our front door while the kids played outside. And wearing just a sweatshirt instead of a coat. Was very nice. Yesterday it was raining, so we just came inside when kids got home. And I’ve managed to stay pretty well caught up on goals. Although my knitting fell a little behind.

I’m a bad daughter. My dad’s birthday was Monday, and I didn’t even call him. Tried to make up for it yesterday, but his phone went right to voicemail. I’m very adverse to leaving messages. I hate talking to a machine even more than I hate talking to people over the phone(and if you know me, you know just how much I love that). But, I did. I’d feel worse about it if it wasn’t for the fact he often forgets mine. Also called yesterday to schedule an appointment with the school to register the boy for K-4(the school’s pre-k program). When we registered my daughter, we only had to go in and do it. Now, they want you to set up an appointment first. PITA, but once it’s done, won’t have to worry about doing it again for Kindergarten.

Last week, I tore Callum and Megan’s relationship apart while writing Flames of Recompense. I’m still working on stitching things back together. But, for WiPPet Wednesday, I’ll go back a little farther. I have 14 paragraphs(3+11) from Chapter 8. Only a couple days have passed since Callum & Megan ran into each other though.

Teresa looked up from the counter and smiled at him. “Callum, what are you doing here?”
He’d started to lean against the counter but froze at her question. “What do you mean? Kayla said you’d needed my help for something.”
“I asked her to get you here.”
He spun around and saw Megan standing in front of him. Then, he heard Teresa make a sound of surprise, not quite a gasp. “That’s why she looked so familiar,” she murmured.
Megan kept her eyes on Callum, and he only felt more confusion. What was going on here? “Why would you do that?” he asked her. “I didn’t think you even wanted anything to do with me. You ran from me fast enough the other night.”
“I know, and I’m sorry. I was told I wasn’t being very nice by ignoring you,” she said with a slight twitch to her lips.
“By who? Surely not your mom. She always hated me.”
“No, not her,” she said, not even bothering to deny it. “There’s some-thing I need to show you,” she said, but he caught her hesitation on the one word. “I didn’t know how else to get in touch with you. Sorry about using your sister-in-law. And you, Teresa,” she added, looking over his shoulder.
“It’s fine,” Teresa said, and Callum turned to see tears in her eyes.
“What the hell’s going on here?” he demanded. “Why is she crying?”
“Watch your language, Callum,” Teresa told him. “And your tone. You’re in a library, and there are children here.”
“Mommy? You said you were going to help me find a book to take home.”
Callum turned back around and saw Megan’s face pale. Then, he glanced down at the little girl standing next to Megan. She looked so much like her, the same blonde curls around her face, that same tilt to her chin, the same-no, not the same eyes. “Holy shit,” he murmured.
The girl looked up at him. “You shouldn’t say that. My grandpa does, and Gramma yells at him.”

Megan’s been keeping secrets. Next week, maybe we’ll see more of why & Callum’s reaction. Check out others’ snippets over here.

  • Flames of Recompense: get to 54000 words – I’m at over 46,000 right now. Not done with all of today’s words, but once I am, I’ll still be on track for this.
  • Stained by Ashes: Finish 2nd round revisions – I’m through Chapter 15(of 26 + epilogue). On track here, too.
  • Western Hearts: Character Work – I have the first of the back stories written. I kept procrastinating on it, and considered just setting this story aside. Then, I started writing the back story & found there was more to this character than I knew. So, I’ll keep at this.
  • Take Me Under: Revise – not yet. That’s for this weekend.
  • Read: Relax, I’m a Ninja(Natalie Whipple), Incinerate(Tessa Teevan), Midnight Caller(Haley Whitehall), Chameleon in a Mirror(Ruth Nestvold), & Dare to Surrender(Carly Phillips) – I finished Relax, I’m a Ninja and enjoyed it and am a little more than halfway through Incinerate. I also finished listening to The Winner’s Crime the other day and will just say I can’t wait for book 3. Seriously, cannot wait.
  • Read: Dialogue(A Busy Writer’s Guide) – 50% – I’m 35% through this. Haven’t got to today’s reading yet, but I’m still on track.
  • Knit: Faux Crochet Stole – nearly finished with this.

The week is going well so far. Hope everyone else’s is good too.

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Secrets" (22)

  1. I bet he feels like he got punched in the stomach. I can’t even imagine, so I definitely want to see his reaction next week! Great job.

  2. I just love his reaction! I was a bit confused for a bit, on who was saying what and who was referring to who, but I think in part that comes from the formatting. Not sure if that’s on your end or WPs. But a nice job of showing Callum’s confusion up to the final realization.

  3. What a shock for Callum! What a jolt for Megan, who clearly wanted to do this differently…and for the little girl who doesn’t have her mother’s eyes….

    Great progress this week. May you discover even more about that backstory character.

    • Definitely a shock. And, yeah, she was hoping to explain things before he actually saw the girl.

      Thank you! I’m sure I’ll discover more when I start to write the story. I usually do, no matter how much I uncover in the plotting process.

  4. Well there’s a bombshell and a half. But at the library? I’d be like… I don’t even know what. This is not a situation I’ve had to handle. Probably someplace like a playground and not someplace where you have to watch the volume of your voice and be nice and calm. I think it’s great you have a character who sees the library as a safe place. πŸ™‚ That’s pretty awesome. I love our local library and so do my kids. πŸ™‚

  5. Wow, that would be a jolt for sure!

  6. Oh. Em. Gee. O.O
    ….
    LOVE!!!

    I would go for something more elegant and/or mature, but that was my honest reaction. πŸ˜‰ Nice work!

  7. I can guess about the reaction. ~raises eyebrow~ πŸ™‚

  8. Wow. Lots of conflict here. Looking forward to reading more about his reaction!

  9. Big shock for Callum, but at least he murmured the words – could have been a little awkward if he yelled.

  10. Congrats on all your progress!

    Liked the snippet, but put me in the confused category as to who and what and where at times. πŸ™‚ But that should be easy enough to fix in the rewrite. And there’s obviously lots of emotional conflict getting put in place here. πŸ™‚

  11. Wow… that is some bombshell to drop on someone after four years of silence… I can see how she’d want to do that differently, though the library is definitely a good choice for ensuring Callum keeps his voice down! I can’t wait to find out why Megan kept her a secret from him.

  12. […] So, getting right into it. Today, for my WiPPet, I have 9 paragraphs(1+8 for the day) just a few lines down from where I left off last week. […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

