Home of a mother, wife, writer

We may have lost an hour last night, but I was falling asleep on the couch before 7 last night, so I probably made it up in there somewhere. One nice thing about this time change is it’s easier to change the clock. Also, my kids actually almost sleep in. Hey, I’ll take whatever positives I can. πŸ™‚

Also, it’s warming up here now. Yesterday, it actually made it above freezing. And we were outside in just sweatshirts. It’s supposed to be in the 40s the rest of the week, so maybe spring is on it’s way here. Today I need to shovel the snow that slid down from the roof off our sidewalk. This is from the garage roof, at least my husband got most of it off the roof of the house, so there won’t be as much. Thursday I spent a good three hours in the morning shoveling off our back porch. We don’t use it in the winter(it just goes down into the back yard), so it hadn’t been touched since the first snow fell really. The snow came up to my waist. I didn’t get it completely cleared off, but shoveled about 3/4 of it. If that started to get wet and heavy, it would have probably collapsed the porch. Doing that also meant I fell behind in my goals, but I did manage to mostly get caught up yesterday, except for with my knitting. And I’m still looking for beta readers for The Choice if anyone is interested in giving feedback on a ~69k contemporary romance.

  • Flames of Recompense – get to 39000 words – got to 39150 words, wrote 15,110 words. And things were going a little too well for my characters, so I had to screw with their lives a bit. I’m evil like that. πŸ˜‰
  • Healing the Heart – Fix Fragments – this is done(cut 690 words doing these fixes) and sent off to my CP. Instead of chewing my fingernails down while waiting for her feedback(ok, still doing some of that), I’ll be focusing on my other projects.
  • Western Hearts – Brainstorming – finished this yesterday. Will be starting character work this week.
  • Take Me Under – Revise – Haven’t done too much on this. Working on the first read through though.
  • Read: Oaths of Blood(S.M. Reine), Unmasked Alloy(Becca J Campbell), Pulled(Becca J. Campbell), If I Stay(Tamara Morgan), & Tell Me When(Stina Lindenblatt) – I finished reading all of these and really enjoyed them. Started another one but couldn’t quite get into it. Don’t know if it was the present tense or the flashbacks, but something just didn’t work for me. So I set it aside. I’m reading Relax, I’m a Ninja(Natalie Whipple) right now. I’m 13% through it.
  • Read – Dialogue(A Busy Writer’s Guide) – 25% – got through this. Skipped the first exercise, but I think I’ll go through those once I finish the current revision round of Stained by Ashes.
  • Knit: Faux Crochet Stole – Not finished with this yet. Hoping to get it done this week.

For next week:

  • Flames of Recompense: get to 54000 words
  • Stained by Ashes: Finish 2nd round revisions
  • Western Hearts: Character Work
  • Take Me Under: Revise
  • Read: Relax, I’m a Ninja(Natalie Whipple), Incinerate(Tessa Teevan), Midnight Caller(Haley Whitehall), Chameleon in a Mirror(Ruth Nestvold), & Dare to Surrender(Carly Phillips)
  • Read: Dialogue(A Busy Writer’s Guide) – 50%
  • Knit: Faux Crochet Stole
Comments on: "Sunday Summary: Springing Ahead" (8)

  1. Hugs on all the snow. 😦 Awesome job with your goals. Oaths of Blood is really, really good. I love all of her books (I know her from a writer’s group many moons ago. I actually read — and critiqued — the first incarnation of Death’s Hand from her Descent series. Also great, if you haven’t read those).

    Not a big fan of DST, but I’ll survive. I feel almost normal.

  2. Wow, Fallon, I love your goals! How does one knit a crocheted shawl? My sisters both love to knit; one is getting very good, making up her own patterns for baby clothes, mittens, gloves, sweaters, etc. The other sister knits well, but is in so much pain in her shoulders, she really shouldn’t knit at all. Me, I can do a knit stitch and a purl stitch, but I’ve only JUST learned how to tell them apart from each other, like, Saturday. I may try to learn how to do more than just simple stockinette scarves someday!

    I’m so glad you were able to clear enough snow that your back porch won’t collapse! Wow! I remember Pennsylvania snows. I do NOT miss Pennsylvania snows. Shoveling sucks. Best of luck with the rest of winter! πŸ˜€

    • Thanks. And it’s knitted to look like crochet. If I’d known this was going to take so long, I may have chosen a different project. I like doing both, although I find crochet faster.
      The snow wouldn’t have been as bad if we didn’t get it all at once. We hardly had anything before Christmas. Then, the next 2 months it didn’t seem like it would stop. Usually we get some, then some of it melts before we get more. No such luck this winter. But, it’s almost over. Then, I’ll be complaining how miserable I am in the summer(I really don’t like extreme temperatures. give me Fall/Spring weather all year round)

  3. It’s warming up here too. I can’t ever remember being this eager for spring to come. The warming temps and melting snow are making me very happy. You did fantastic with your goals. Kudos! And I hope your week got off to a great start. All the best.

  4. It’s melting here too! Cleaning the walkways, porches, and such, in the end just glad to have Spring beginning to encroach on everything πŸ™‚

    Hope you continue to get caught up. I am in the same boat. Only 1 brush up rehearsal and the second weekend of performances. So, I have a bit more time to get back on the wagon! Here’s to a great week!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

