Home of a mother, wife, writer

Sunday Summary: Snowed In

When I got up this morning, I could barely open our front door. Almost thought I would have to climb out the window to shovel out the door. Turned out, I was able to open the door just far enough that the dog and I could squeeze out. I figured we’d had a ton of snow dumped on us. Not quite. The wind just blew all the snow right in front of our door. This isn’t unusual with the way our house and garage are set up. It makes a nice wind tunnel right there. At -10(F), I didn’t really want to go out and shovel, but I got bundled up, and it didn’t really take too long to clear out the door and a path along the sidewalk. We’re running out of room to put the snow, though. Hopefully we don’t get too much more, or at least some of this melts before we do.

This week’s gone pretty well. I got The Choice back from my CP on Monday and started working on those edits. I got through all her comments, a lot of them were more general things, and decided to add in a few scenes. So, I’m still working through writing those. I’ve added almost 2500 words this week. Also rearranging things a bit. I had an alternating timeline, but I may take out some of the ‘past’ scenes. I’m still trying to work out which ones are needed and which can go. I’ve also still been working on the short story/bonus content from Flames of Retribution. I added 5430 words to that this week. Some of those(mostly dialogue) were copied over from that scene. I have 1 maybe 2 more scenes to write, and I think this will be done.

I also have been running a free promotion forย Duty to Protect this weekend. My expectations may have been low, but I think it’s done pretty well. It had over 220 downloads by Saturday night. I figured I’d run a sale on Flames of Redemption for Valentine’s Day as well, and dropped the price to $0.99 for yesterday. It’s still there for now, if anyone wants to grab it before it goes back up.

  • Buried Secrets โ€“ finish outline – didn’t get to this as I was working on The Choice. Once I have that ready to send to beta readers, I’ll get back to this.
  • Read: Dark Paradise(Angie Sandro), Scarlet(Marissa Meyer), Tell Me Something Good(Jamie Wesley), This Weakness for You(Wendy Sparrow), & Outsider(Becca J. Campbell) – had finished all of these before dinner Saturday, which was mostly a reading day. Enjoyed all of them. This Weakness for You had me laughing so many times, which seems to be typical for her books. I loved the interactions between all the characters. I also read The Binding(Kate Sparkes) last night. Interesting look at what happened before Bound. And I started The Duchess War(Courtney Milan). About 20% through that.
  • Read: A Lawyerโ€™s Primer for Writers – had this finished earlier in the week
  • Knit: Cap with Beaded Flowers – finished this earlier in the week
  • Crochet: Broomstick Lace Hat – finished this too, on Thursday. IMG_0465

So, I did get a good bit done, even if it wasn’t all in the plan. Next week’s goals:

  • The Choice: Hoping to at least finish those last couple of added scenes & organize the ‘past’ timeline. If I can, do my search & destroy mission for all my crutch words/phrases
  • Flirting with Flames(that bonus short story) – finish drafting this
  • Read: The Duchess War(Courtney Milan), Halfway to Nowhere(Steena Holmes & Elena Aitken), Easy(Tammara Webber), Maybe Someday(Colleen Hoover), & Finding It(Cora Carmack)
  • Read: Writing Fight Scenes(Rayne Hall)
  • Knit: Faux Crochet Stole
Comments on: "Sunday Summary: Snowed In" (13)

  1. You did get quite a bit done, and even the thing you didn’t get done was pushed back for good reason. Nice going!

    We’re expecting “winter weather” tonight. We’ll probably be snowed/iced in for a few days.

  2. Seems like a pretty productive week. Love the hat!

  3. You are impressive with the crochet production. What is a CP???

  4. You are a machine! Great work this week ๐Ÿ™‚

    I get you on the issue of drift. One year I came downstairs to find a pile of snow right at the base of the stairs, it had come in under the back door even though that had never happened in the years before, just the way the wind was blowing that night. Hopefully the snow will ease up and give you a break soon ๐Ÿ™‚

    Best for the coming week!

  5. Sounds like a productive (if chilly) week to me!

    Do you make up your own knitting patterns or find them online somewhere? That hat looks great! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It was pretty productive, even with the change in plans.

      For the most part, I find them somewhere else. I have a few books my MIL gave me, also on Ravelry or Lion Brand’s website. I’ve done a few hats on my own, but for the most part I’m not good at seeing how to get the final product without a pattern.

  6. I wouldn’t mind if more snow came, but I’d like at least half of what is out there to melt first. Not the all these high’s in the teens is going to help with that. At least we’re living near Boston?

    Totally dig the hat. As always, jealous of all you get done. Keep being awesome!

    • I’m sure we will get hit with at least some more snow, but yeah, we could lost some of what we have first, and I’d be happy.(Ok, no, I wouldn’t be, but I’ll complain less).

      Thanks

  7. Hard to get work done when it is this cold. Huzzah for the productivity!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Been fighting my own cold versus productivity this past week.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

