Home of a mother, wife, writer

Today I only have two posts, and they are both from Ava Jae. The first is on why she Loves the Writing Community. I have to agree with everything she said about it. Now, I’m not the most social person. I have trouble even putting myself out there online. But, I’ve made a lot of friends in the writing community. If it wasn’t for twitter and this blog, I wouldn’t have my CP. I wouldn’t have found the RoW80 community either, and without that I’m not sure that I’d have two books out there right now.

And the other post is about Confessions of a Binge Writer. As a fellow binge writer, it hit a chord. I mean, NaNoWriMo has become barely a challenge for me now. This past year, I hit 50k by day 24. I usually take weekends off, so that was 18 days of writing. By the end of the month, I’d written over 80k. And this isn’t an unusual thing for me. Last year, I wrote almost 560,000 words between short stories, plotting, drafting, and editing. 5 months I surpassed at least 60k.

I write fast. And writing energizes me, so I don’t usually feel like I have to take a break between projects. It’s the editing that gets to me. Not so much the initial revisions, I don’t really mind those, since it usually means adding to the story, digging a little deeper. But, I’d rather be creating new. Of course, that first(and even second or third) isn’t all it could be, so I have to work the edits in. But, even when I’m plotting or editing, I’m probably writing something on the side, even if it’s just a short story.

Like I said above, I usually take weekends off. Unless I wake up early(which isn’t unheard of since I’m so used to doing it during the week), I don’t write on Saturday or Sunday. Of course that doesn’t mean I don’t think about the story and the characters. And by Monday morning, I’m so ready to get back to it.

How about you? What’s your favorite part of the writing community? Are you a “write every day” person or do you tend to binge? Or do you fall somewhere in between?

Comments on: "Monday Mentions: Writing Community & Binge Writing" (2)

  1. I love the ROW80 community. I’ve also started participating in WIPpet Wednesdays and in the weekly #StoryDam chats on Twitter and have met great people through those as well. Having that community definitely helps encourage me as a writer.

    Like you, I take weekends off from writing, although now that I’ve discovered a writing routine that works for me, I’m sometimes itching to do some writing on weekends–especially Saturday if I left off in an exciting place on Friday. I blog on Sundays, so that helps. I’m definitely not as prolific as you, but I’m aiming for about 1,300-1,500 words per day this year. I feel like that’s a good goal for me.

    Have a great week, Fallon!

    • I don’t participate in too many chats. I’m not usually on the computer at night when they’re taking place.

      Yeah, that’s why I give myself the early mornings if I’m up. Once the kids are up, though, I set it aside. Plus, that’s usually when we’re running around, so there’s not as much time to devote to it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

