Home of a mother, wife, writer

Sunday morning the girl woke up with hardly any voice and complaining her ear hurt again. So, Monday morning we were back off to the doctor. She was just in there two weeks ago with an ear infection. It was so bad, the doctor wanted us back in next Monday to make sure it had healed up. After she’d started the antibiotics two weeks ago, it seemed fine. Until Sunday. Her throat was inflamed but strep test was negative. The doctor more antibiotics for the ear, so hopefully this will knock it all out. And the perforation to the ear drum is healed, so we don’t have to go back in. In good news, girl brought home her report card yesterday(the first part of that sentence pretty much sums it up). Most of it is either satisfactory or unsatisfactory(she got all S for those). The 3 things they actually grade(word study, math, & reading) she got advanced(95-100%). And the testing they do, she way outscored the goal(goal = 43,23,8. she scored 123, 155, 43).

I’ve been fighting a sinus/cold thing since Sunday. That seems to be getting better now at least.

Despite that, I had everything for Monday done by dinnertime. And everything for Tuesday was crossed off by 10 Tuesday morning. So, I got ahead and started on today’s goals. So, it’s still been a good start to the week. Before I get to that progress, it’s

WIPPET WEDNESDAY!!!

Today, I have 14 paragraphs(28-15+1) from Scars and All. This is the same day as what I posted last week, but later, after dinner.

When their sundae came with two spoons sticking out of it, Doren lifted one of them out, fudge sauce dripping off the side of it, and held it out to her. His body heated as her tongue flicked out and licked ice cream from the edge of the spoon. He could imagine that tongue wrapping around him. He nearly groaned. This needed to stop, or he was going to embarrass himself. Then, she was pulling the spoon into her mouth, her eyes still fixed on him. Her eyes were filled with just as much desire as he felt.
She released his spoon and lifted her own, holding it out to him. Payback was a bitch, right? He didn’t take the spoon into his mouth, but scooped his tongue through the ice cream on it, bringing it into his mouth. He heard her release a breath, tinged with a moan. Doren didn’t lick the ice cream from his lips but leaned over the table, pressing his mouth to hers. Her moan was a little louder this time, but he swallowed it.
“Maybe we should go,” she murmured. “I think it’s already freezing our brains.”
“But, we haven’t finished our ice cream.” God, why did he even care? He just wanted to touch her again.
“We keep this up, and it’s going to melt anyway. Plus–” she ran a finger along the edge of the sundae, scooping ice cream onto her finger before plucking it into her mouth. His mouth dried up as she sucked her finger clean,– “I can think of another treat we could share.”
Had he stopped breathing? From the way his chest ached, he was pretty sure he’d forgotten how to. “Cassie.” There, he had to breathe to talk.
“Doren,” she said, her eyes shining.
He snatched up the bill the waitress had put down with the dessert and slid out of the booth. “Come on.”
He caught her grin, then she was grabbing her purse and following him away from the table. He felt her right beside him as he paid for their dinner, and it felt like one of the motors he worked on was revving in his chest. He needed to touch her. Not here, he reminded himself. Then, she slipped her hand into his as they headed for the door. The sweetness of it sent a lance straight through his heart.
When they were out in the parking lot, he turned toward her and rested his forehead against hers. “Are you sure, Cassie? That you want me? I’m not exactly a good bet.”
“Why would you say that?” she asked, reaching up to cup his cheek.
“The last woman I was with is dead. Cassie, I don’t-”
She put a finger over his mouth. “Stop talking, Doren.” He smiled around her finger, but she kept going. “I’ve wanted you since I was about fifteen, but neither of us is the same as we were back then. I want to learn who you are now.” Her gaze skimmed down his body then back up to his eyes. “Everything about you. And you did say you’d show me the rest of your tattoos.”
He laughed then. “You have a real obsession with those, don’t you?”

So, will Cassie finally get to see his tattoos? You’ll have to wait and see. 😀

  •  Flames of Justice – Finish 1st draft – Almost there. I’ve added 4489 words this week. I have 1 scene left to write. Once I finish this, I have a short story I want to write in this series. It’ll take place shortly after Flames of Retribution(book 3) and involve one of the characters that’s been in each of the books so far(except Flames of Justice) and a character that just showed up in book 3. That’s all I’m going to say about it right now, though.
  • Brainstorm – idea for Caitie’s(Flames of Retribution) brother’s story. not sure if this will be a full novel or just novella, but he’s been bugging me to write it. – I have started this. Have some of the brainstorming done, and this story is forming in my head.
  • Read: The Minaldi Legacy(Courtney Cole), Calculated in Death(J.D. Robb), and Soulless(L.S. Engler) – I finished The Minaldi Legacy Sunday morning. I found it kind of meh, particularly the second story. It felt like the same things were being said and nothing really happened. I started Calculated in Death on the way to my nephew’s birthday party. I haven’t finished it yet. Part of that is that I’ve been exhausted by 7, and fallen asleep on the couch the last couple nights, so haven’t had as much reading time.
  • Read: Forensics for Writers – Finish – I finished Chapter 18. One more chapter to go.
  • Crochet: Flower Pop Hat – I have this finished. Just need to do the flower.IMG_0451
  • Knit: Baby Doll Dress – won’t finish this, but I want to at least get it started. – not started yet

It’s been a pretty good start to the week. How is everyone else doing?

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Still Ahead" (27)

  1. The story I have banging in my head is also in the category of ‘Novel or Novella?’ We’ll have to see. I’m glad ‘novella’ is a viable option.
    Nice hat!

  2. “The last woman I was with is dead.” haha he really sells himself here. I can hear men everywhere going ‘no no, wait until after to say that’

    Nice excerpt, thanks 🙂

  3. I will never look at ice cream without thinking of this scene. Day-um. Double ummmmmm. Oh yeah. I need some ice cream now. Or something cold. Something really cold….

  4. Man… I wish real life could be like this, just once in a while. Very nice. 🙂

  5. “Not here, he reminded himself.” Wise choice. I used to work in a psych hospital that had a special unit for people who forgot that little social rule. 🙂 Well-written.

  6. Hoooooot. I approve. Also, “The last woman I was with us dead.” WELL. Good to know. (Still hot)

  7. Hottttt. Or cold. Or hot. Um…yeah, let’s go with “sexy” instead. I’m with her, though–I love tats. I’m thinking she’s going to have fun exploring his.

  8. Be right back – need to see if someone turned up the heat in the house again.

  9. Sorry your little one is sick. Interesting exchange at dinner. Good luck on your goals from a ROW80 blog hopping friend.

  10. Love the flower on that hat! Hope everyone’s health improves soon. You seem to be making great progress despite all the sickness.

  11. Oh my, that’s hot. Definitely one (fun) way of finding out more about someone and their tattoos. :p

    Hope you and your little girl are feeling better soon.

  12. Sending all the good vibes for health….

    And that’s a delicious way to share a sundae. I do really love these two!

    One tiny little nit – it feels off, to me, with Doren referencing his dead girlfriend and then the smiling and laughing. That strikes me a little oddly – maybe there needs to be a bit more transition, like he’s fighting to keep his head above the past, but he’s still dealing with it.

    • I’m glad you like them.

      I may end up cutting that part out, or at least rewriting. He’s already mentioned she died & she was the last one he’d been with. I don’t want it to be repetitive. It was supposed to be a gentle reminder to her, in case she wanted to back away, but may not be necessary.

  13. Oh, is it warm in here? 😉 Nice, now you certainly have me intrigued.

  14. Lots of love to you and these two are getting close each time. I really love the buildup. The whole dead girlfriend through me for a spin. Whoa!

  15. Hope your little one bounces back – earaches are soo painful.
    Great excerpt – very hot for sure.
    You’ve done well on all your goals. Love your hat.

  16. I love this! Sexual tension comes right off the page!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

