Home of a mother, wife, writer

I’ve been forging ahead all week. My plan of working through the to-do list until 5 then reading after dinner seems to be working well. I even started working on the scenes I’d planned to write next week. I was actually through almost everything for the week by dinnertime Thursday. Which was probably a good thing, since the boy got sick Thursday night and was home Friday. He spent most of the morning sitting watching movies, so I knew he wasn’t feeling well. For me, Friday was mostly a knitting & reading day.

Yesterday, husband had a class with the fire department, so we just stayed home. So, another reading day for me. Today is my nephew’s 4th birthday party, which I only found out about a couple days ago. My sister said she sent a message last week, but I never got it. Already had his present(well the second one, because I got the first before Christmas, and he ended up getting it for Christmas, so I had to get something to replace it). It’s about an hour drive over there, so I’ll probably read on the way.

  • Flames of Justice – halfway through Chapter 5(which is 5 planned scenes. more may jump in there). I’m through Chapter 5. Ended up moving one scene to the previous chapter, & added another one to chapter 5. Wrote 7 scenes in all, almost 8525 words.
  • Flames of Restoration – Outline – finished this
  • Read: Animal Attraction(Jill Shalvis), Half Bad(Sally Green), The Sweetest Thing(Jill Shalvis), & The Raven Boys(Maggie Stiefvater) – Read all of these. Had trouble connecting with the characters in Half Bad. Everyone raved about this book, and I wanted to love it. I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t love it. I still added the next one to my wishlist. Might not be a high priority buy for me, but I’ll probably end up reading it sometime. I also finished The Sweetest Thing Friday. I really liked this one, and the next one is added to my wish list. And I had The Raven Boys finished by lunchtime Saturday. It just pulled me right in. And I read Archer’s Voice(Mia Sheridan) yesterday. I really enjoyed this one. Got weepy(with mostly happy tears) several times, and nearly threw the book(well, kindle) toward the end(thought one of the characters had died & I was gonna be really upset. It all turned out good, though). I started The Minaldi Legacy(Courtney Cole) last night. This is actually 2 books in 1, and I read the first one a couple years ago(I think). So, I’m doing more of a skim read-through of that before I read the second half. I’m 16% through that right now.
  • Read: Forensics for Writers: Read through Chapter 16 – finished this Wednesday. Only 3 more chapters to read.
  • Knit: Vertical Stripe Tie – get through row 11 – I finished this project Friday night(well, technically Saturday when I wove in all the loose ends. Although I still need to block it so it doesn’t roll up)IMG_0450

I love getting everything finished. Even getting ahead. And I’m hoping to finish Flames of Justice early this week.

  • Flames of Justice – Finish 1st draft
  • Brainstorm – idea for Caitie’s(Flames of Retribution) brother’s story. not sure if this will be a full novel or just novella, but he’s been bugging me to write it.
  • Read: The Minaldi Legacy(Courtney Cole), Calculated in Death(J.D. Robb), and Soulless(L.S. Engler)
  • Read: Forensics for Writers – Finish
  • Crochet: Flower Pop Hat
  • Knit: Baby Doll Dress – won’t finish this, but I want to at least get it started.
Comments on: "Sunday Summary: Forging Ahead" (15)

  1. Hope “the boy” feels better. Flu, or just the crud?

    • He was better by Friday afternoon. Just an upset stomach, it seems. The girl woke up yesterday morning with no voice, though, and now complaining her ear hurts again. So, if it’s not one kid, it’s the other it seems.

  2. Sorry your boy got sick. I hope he’s better.

    It looks like you’ve gotten a LOT done. Your updates always inspire me. They kind of scare me, too. LOL

  3. Great job on your goals! And hope your son’s feeling better, and doesn’t pass it on.

  4. Glad your being ahead helped you out. Sorry to hear your little guy was sick. Hope he’s all better by now. Hope you had fun at the party. Awesome on all your goals! Keep up the great work.

  5. What a productive week! Hoping to see a photo of the crochet hat next week. I like to crochet too, though it’s too hot at this time of year for it.

    • Thanks! It’s perfectly cold here right now. My knitting/crochet does slow down during the summer though(we’re still in the middle of winter)

  6. Hope the yucks pass the rest of you by.

    I love it when a week is full and productive. We are getting a bit of’ snow and I’m thinking that I will have a productive week too, curling up with a good book and/or hashing out the next project. Have a great week.

    I love how you make all this neat things, ties, hats, and such. I tries to crochet once and got really irritated. Maybe I should try again. Is it easy to learn?

    • well, his yuck seems to have skipped the rest of us. We’re still dealing with colds, though.

      I didn’t find it too difficult. I’d already taught myself to knit. My MIL, though, who also knits, could never figure out crochet.

  7. Another fantastic week – well, with the exception of the boy not feeling well. Hope he was all better to enjoy the party!

    • He was feeling better. The girl woke up that morning with no voice, though. It’s nearly never-ending this time of year, it seems.

      • The kids not being in school tends to keep us all healthier – although last winter, we seemed to catch everything out there. It was unreal.

        I hope you get a healthy spell soon! =D

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

