Home of a mother, wife, writer

It’s been a good week so far, even with both kids being home on Monday. Part of that could be that I only have 1 plotted scene a day to write. I may add more in as I go, but if everything sticks to the outline, I only have to write 1 scene a day to finish this by the end of the month. And the way I’m going, I could have it finished by the end of this week. More on that later, but first…

WIPPET WEDNESDAY! Okay, maybe I’m more excited about that than necessary. I’m still sharing from Scars and All. This week I have 13 paragraphs(1+2+1+2+0+1+5=12+ 1 bonus). This is right after last week’s. Doren & Cassie are in his office & just kissed again.

“I, uh, I had that…that thing to, um, show you. Right.”
Damn, he was cute when he stammered. And he was apparently as off balance after that kiss as she was. He moved around the desk, and she went to his side. She couldn’t quite keep her eyes off the large tattoo on his arm though. She hadn’t been able to make it out too well at the picnic, other than the Celtic cross. Now, she could make out more of the details. The top of the cross was covered by his shirt, but she could see the horizontal beam wrapping around his bicep and the rest of it going down almost to his elbow. Now, she could read the words in the middle, inked in a fancy script. “Always loved, never forgotten.” They came out as a whisper, and he jerked away shifting so his arm was away from her. “I’m sorry,” she said and felt tears spring to her eyes.
He shook his head. “No, I am.”
His voice was rough, but when she looked up into his eyes, they were filled with sorrow, nothing even close to anger. She reached out toward his arm, but was surprised when he didn’t pull away, letting her run her fingers down the tattoo. He even pulled his sleeve up so she could see the rest of it. In a script like the words, a name was written above the top of the cross. “Your girlfriend,” she murmured.
He stiffened. “You’ve heard then?”
“A little. Mason said no one really knows what happened, but there are a lot of rumors. Why don’t you dispel any of them?”
He wouldn’t look at her. “What good would it do? People will believe whatever they want. I lost everything that night. The woman I loved, any future I had in football, my chance at a college degree. My whole goddamn future, Cassie. And my father’s respect. What do I care about what everyone else thinks of me? I’m good enough to fix their cars but not to even keep eye contact with.”
She shifted to the side and nudged him so his body was facing hers again, but he still kept his head turned away. Cassie reached up and cupped her hand under his chin, tipping it down so he had to look at her. “What they think doesn’t matter. But, you haven’t lost everything. You still have your family, I’m sure they believe in you.”
He shook his head. “Dad believes every damn thing people say about me. He’ll barely look at or even talk to me. All anyone sees are my scars. No one looks at me anymore, Cassie. They only see what they think I am. I haven’t-I haven’t been with anyone since I got out of the hospital. No one will even look at me.”
“I’m looking at you, Doren,” she said softly. “At you, not your scars. Or at your tattoos. Although,” she added, tracing a finger down one of the lines on his other arm, “I have been wondering just how many you have. Do you think I could see the rest of them?”
He let out that choking laugh again, and she looked up to see color flooding his face. “They may not see you, Doren, but I do. You’re still that sweet boy I knew in school.”
He gave a quick shake of his head. “Sweet boys don’t chase thrills. They don’t race cars or bikes.” The color left his face again at that. “Susan thinks I’m trying to kill myself.”
“Are you?”

Like I said above, I’m doing very well this week. In fact, by the time the girl got on the bus Tuesday morning, I was all but done with my goals for the day(only had to do laundry) and was starting on today’s. This post was actually mostly written yesterday. My plan had been to keep working through each day’s to-do list. Then, I decided that I’d work through the lists until 4-5, then after dinner, as long as I have everything else for the day done, I’ll read the rest of the night. We’ll see how this works out.

  • Flames of Justice – halfway through Chapter 5(which is 5 planned scenes. more may jump in there). – I’m almost through Chapter 4. Have at least 2 more scenes to finish(I’m part way through one of these). I’ve written 3717 words this week. I’m just glad the characters are talking to me again.
  • Flames of Restoration – Outline – I did the plot summary, signpost scenes, and beat sheet for this. I just have to do Chapter & scene summaries now. Although, I don’t know why I bother with the chapter summaries, as it always seems to change once I write.
  • Read: Animal Attraction(Jill Shalvis), Half Bad(Sally Green), The Sweetest Thing(Jill Shalvis), & The Raven Boys(Maggie Stiefvater) – I finished Animal Attraction Monday night. Loved it! Started Half Bad Tuesday morning. The beginning was really weird for me, but sticking with it. I’m 64% through right now.
  • Read: Forensics for Writers: Read through Chapter 16 – I’m through Chapter 14.
  • Knit: Vertical Stripe Tie – get through row 11 – finished through row 7 right now.

I’m well on track for getting everything done this week. Hope everyone else’s week is going well.

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Pulling Ahead" (28)

  1. Doren just wrenches my little icy chunk of a heart out and smashes it on the ground, then jumps up and down on it, and I want to be tracing tattoos down his biceps. Yup. I surely do.

  2. I haven’t been to sleep yet, and I’m hanging out with my girl, who’s on a early to bed, early to rise rhythm just now.

    I’m trying to get three posts up before I can’t go any more, so that I won’t be tying up too much of the Internet later, when she wants to Skype with her best friend, who lives a few hundred miles away…

    But I just KNEW I wouldn’t be sorry if I popped over her to do my sponsor thing – and lookee – I get your awesome progress, and the edgy sweetness of Doren and Cassie.

    I like them both better, every week!

    Now I’ll get on with sharing the second-to-last snippet of Trip and T’Pol in the cell, but I’ll be wondering if Cassie gets to see all the tattoos! =)

  3. Oh, I do like him.

  4. Oh, my word. That’s absolutely heartbreaking. Wow. What a powerful scene. I think I’m just a little in love with these two.

    • I was actually a little worried about posting this scene, afraid it would come off as over dramatic. Glad it hasn’t. And glad you like them.

  5. Doren past is so fantasizing to me. At first I thought he was a mucho I-dont-care-about-what-people-say guy, but he turned to a be little sensitive. Go, Doren! I hope Cassie really makes him feel wanted and not jerk him around.

  6. Don’t know Doren, but I really like him based on these few paragraphs. Sounds like he needs someone like Cassie.

  7. Oh, man. I’ve kinda hooked now and have the feels!!! Good job, Fallon!!

    Have an awesome week (sounds like you are already on the road). 🙂

  8. Starr Bryson said:

    You certainly are an inspiration. I’ll take some of your energy.

    And more of Doren, please.

  9. Aww… 😦 Poor Doren. I think that’s the most backstory I’ve picked up on with him. Cassie’s a sweetie. 🙂

  10. Ooooooooh. I like this. I like this a lot. FANTASTIC closing lines, there. I’m going to have to see if I can hunt down a few more snippets on this blog thingy of yours.

  11. Awww… So sweet and so sad all at once, and Cassie was just adorable towards him too.

  12. Congrats on being mostly ahead! That Monday with the kids home did interrupt my flow. I’m made of envy! Keep up the great work. 🙂

  13. wow!!! Impressively productive, and I like the segment very much.

  14. Congrats on keeping up, even with those pesky kiddos home on Monday! 😉 Holidays sure put a wrench in plans sometimes, huh? Regardless, looks like you’re doing fantastic! I envy your productivity!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

