Home of a mother, wife, writer

I have a few different posts this morning.

First, from Ava Jae on how she Became a Morning Person. I’ve always been a morning person, although I used to be a bit of a night owl as well. This was fine in high school. I could stay up(usually reading or writing) until 1 or 2 in the morning, and still not have a problem getting up at 6 for school. Even when I started college, I tended to do this. Then, I started having more trouble getting up for those morning classes. And, then, I got married. To a truck driver. There were some days he wasn’t home, and I found it harder to sleep when he wasn’t, so I ended up staying up all night, usually writing. But, I still couldn’t sleep during the day. Then, I got pregnant with our daughter. I’m not sure if she slept late from the time she was born. I didn’t really have much choice but start waking up early again. But, I wasn’t getting up early to write. In fact, in those years, I wasn’t doing much writing at all. That wasn’t until after my son was born. And I found if I got some writing done in the morning, I tended to be in a much better mood the rest of the day. So, I started setting an alarm to wake up a little earlier every day. My son is now 4, and I’ve been doing this since he was about 6 months old. I’m currently waking up around 4, if I actually sleep all the way to my alarm. The kids get up around 6 or so to get ready for school. So, that’s about 2 hours to get things done before the day really starts.

Last week I also saw this post from Jami Gold on Handling Negativity. I’m not always the most positive person, but I try. In my spaces, particularly online, I try to keep things positive. I may rant/vent occasionally, but I try to keep that to a minimum. And I certainly don’t like to take any negativity to other people’s spaces.

And another post from Ava Jae on Writing and Fear. Some good thoughts on writing what scares you, and the fact that it doesn’t get less scary the more you write. I’ve been stepping more and more out of my comfort zone with my writing, and it does scare me about how these stories will be received. But, the secret is not letting it stop you. Sometimes the scariest stories are the ones that need to be told the most.

And finally, L.S. Engler posted over the weekend looking for Reviews for a Review. She put out the first volume of the World Unknown Review last month, but even though it’s selling moderately well, it’s still lacking reviews. I have a story in this, and there are several others as well, including a novella from L.S. herself.

Comments on: "Monday Mentions: Writing and Fear, Negativity, and Reviews" (2)

  1. Thanks for the shout out to my blog! 🙂 I can’t imagine waking up that early, but my day job will be changing in a few months, and I might have to figure it out. Wish me luck. LOL!

    • You’re welcome.

      It took some time to adjust to waking early. Now, I’m so used to it, it’s hard for me to sleep in at all.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

