Home of a mother, wife, writer

So, the break is over. Well, what passes for a break for me. I, of course, kept working. I didn’t get as much done this week as I’d hoped. We were at a friend’s twice this week while my husband helped with the remodel of her bathroom. The kids got to play together. My daughter and her son are in the same grade, and her daughter is just a few months younger than my son. I did still manage to finish the second read through of Stained by Ashes and added about 3800 words to Chasing the Ghost. Finished reading 2 books so far. Was going to start knitting the Baby Doll Dress, but I needed some fun fur yarn. I thought I could start it without that, then realized the pattern starts with that. So, I had to wait until I got some, which I did today. In the meantime, though, I started crocheting a Sleigh Bell Scarf(pattern came with some yarn I got for Christmas). Don’t have a lot done on that yet though.

I posted my goals for January on Wednesday, so you can go check them out if you’d like. For this month, my focus will be on drafting. I’ll switch back to editing for February, then back to drafting again.

Plotting:

  • Flames of Restoration(Nolan’s story)
  • Denise’s Story(Gilbert, CO #5)
  • Josh’s Story(Kurztown #3) –
  • South of Cimmaron(this is part of a series, but I need to come up with a series title still)
  • Buried Secrets(this is actually a standalone. maybe) – Outline through at least love interest’s back story

Writing:

  • Chasing the Ghost(Gilbert, CO #4)
  • Flames of Justice(Flames #2.5)
  • Guarding the Heart(BC Security #1)
  • Stained Blood(Stained #3) – probably won’t finish 1st draft, but hoping for at least the first ~35k

Editing:

  • Healing the Heart(Gilbert, CO #2) – send to CP
  • Stained by Ashes(Stained #2) – 2nd revisions & send to CP
  • Demons Rising(Gilbert, CO #3, but I need to change the title of this) – first read through.

Reading:

  • Listen: 3 audiobooks
  • Read: 61 fiction books(short stories/novellas count)
  • Read: 3 craft/research books

Crafting:

  • Knit: 7 projects
  • Crochet: 7

For this week:

  • Chasing the Ghost – Write 4 hours/day
  • Flames of Restoration – Brainstorming & start on back stories
  • Read: Against the Wind(Kat Martin), Shadow Spell(Nora Roberts), One, Two, Three(Elodie Nowodazkij), His Obsession Next Door(Cathryn Fox), All Lined Up(Cora Carmack), & Bound(Kate Sparkes)
  • Read: Forensics for Writers – through Chapter 6
  • Crochet: Sleigh Bell Scarf
Comments on: "Sunday Summary: Round 1 2015 Goals" (8)

  1. Sounds liked a good start! 🙂 Be seeing you around….

  2. theworld4realz said:

    I’m attempting 500 words per day, with hopes of completing my WIP by June 30, 2015. Your goals are way more ambitious than mine! I’m participating in a reading challenge, as well, but nothing extremely structured. I made a list of 50 books I want to read this year, and if I hit ‘em all, that’s awesome, but if I fall short, that’s okay. I see you listen to audio books — I love ’em! I plug in when I’m doing dishes or grocery shopping or basically anything menial that doesn’t take up brain power. I need to work in some exercise, too, so maybe I’ll concentrate more on that next round. Good luck! We can do this!

    • That’s a good goal. I’m a pretty fast drafter. I can usually whip out 500 words in half an hour, or less. And I don’t have a regular job to go to and both kids are now in school for most of the day, so I don’t have an excuse to not use my time for my writing(and it’s much more enjoyable than chores).

      That’s mostly when I listen to audiobooks, too. And, when it’s warmer, when I go for a walk.

      Good luck to you, too!

  3. An ambitious list of goals, but you work fast, so I have no doubt you’ll be able to meet them. Best of luck, Fallon!

  4. I love your list, Fallon! I’m with you; I didn’t take a break either; I just shifted focus. Sure I’ll see you here and there along the way!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

