Home of a mother, wife, writer

First, some news. Back in October, I submitted two short stories for the first edition of L.S. Engler’s World Unknown Review. One of them was accepted. So, next month, ‘Forever Again’ will be published along with several other stories. And the other story, well, I have some ideas for that. Mostly, as a starting point for a potential series(which I got the idea for as I was fleshing the short out from a flash I wrote a few years ago). And unlike most of my series, connected but with different main characters, I think this will be more of a traditional series. Because, you know, I don’t have nearly enough ideas. πŸ˜‰

As for the changes: I’ve been drafting my NaNo project as well as editing Flames of Redemption, and working on a side project this month. And while I could probably keep that up, I’m thinking it’s not the best use of my time. So, for the rest of this month, I’m concentrating on just Scars and All. Once I finish that, I’ll finish up edits on Flames of Redemption, and hopefully The Choice. Basically, December will be dedicated to editing. In January, I plan to go back to drafting. I’ll probably switch back and forth like that. I have a lot of first drafts that need revised, but if I go too long without any actual drafting, I might lose my mind. πŸ™‚ I’ll also probably be plotting. I’ve taken a break from any of that for the last couple weeks, but I think I’m going to start brainstorming for At Her Hands.

When the boy came home from school on Monday, I was told that his preschool is cancelling transportation for the rest of the week due to staffing issues and the weather(which we have gotten pretty much no more snow). If we had another way to get him there, he could still go. If not, it’s not a problem, since they cancelled it. Well, there’s a reason he rides the bus there. I don’t have another way to get him there. So, he’s been home the last couple days. And probably will be until Monday. I’ve still managed to get a lot of words written. Yesterday, I wrote just over 4800. Doren and his father finally had it out about something they’ve both been holding onto for the last six years. I always seem to find that the emotional/argument scenes come really easy. Kind of surprising, considering how much I avoid conflict and confrontation in my own life.

Anyway, it’s Wednesday, so I’m sharing another snippet from Scars and All. Today, I have 10 lines(1+9) from Chapter 2.

β€œDon’t worry, Mom, everything’s fine.” Cassie nearly rolled her eyes, but she was sure her mother would somehow know even over the phone.
“Are you sure? You said your car broke down. That doesn’t sound fine to me.”
She could hear the worry in her mother’s voice and wanted to soothe it. “I am fine, Mom. The car might not be, but I am. It was just a flat tire, and there might be something wrong with the engine. I’m here at Aunt Beth’s though. So, you see, I’m perfectly fine.”
Her mother’s sigh came through the phone. “I just don’t want to worry about you. I’m starting to wish I hadn’t suggested this.”
Cassie smiled and leaned against her aunt’s kitchen counter. “You act like I’m by myself in the big bad city or something.”
Her mother laughed. “I know Kurztown is about the farthest thing from that, Sweetie. I’m still allowed to worry though. We didn’t always have the easiest time there.”
“I know. People are jerks. But, it’s not like moving to Ohio got us away from jerks.”
“You’re right. That’s not all I was thinking about though. You left a lot behind when we moved. I didn’t know if you were ready to face it all.”

Since I’m only working on Scars and All for right now, I changed how I figure out my goals for it. I have figured out which scenes I need to get to each day to finish by the end of the month. Of course, that’s judging by what I have outlined right now. I ended up moving several planned scenes to my ‘cut scenes’ folder, because it felt like they would be too forced. I’ll probably end up adding other scenes in as I go though. Here, though I’ll still be tracking by word count. It’s the easiest thing to measure and report on.

  • Scars and All – add 18000 words(this will get me over the 50k for NaNo). – I’ve written 9995 words so far this week, and I still have at least 2 more scenes to finish today. I’m just over 46k right now.
  • Flames of Redemption – edit 5 chapters – edited 1 before I changed my plan.
  • Chasing the Ghost – add 1500 words – added 349 words on Monday
  • Read: Where You’ll Find me(Erin Fletcher) & What Once Was Perfect(Zoe York)Β  Finished Where You’ll Find Me on Sunday and What Once Was Perfect yesterday. Both very good reads. Started another book last night, but right now it’s not drawing me in. Think I’ll give it at least 1 more chapter before I decide whether to set it aside or not.
  • Read: How to Write Dazzling Dialogue – still going through the section on dialogue issues. Only have a few more to go.
  • Knit: Lake District Hat – finish – I’ve got about 9 inches on this. Still on track.

For the rest of the week, I’ll only be tracking a few of these goals. We’ll see how long I can stick to the simplified goals.

 

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Some News and Changes" (24)

  1. Moms can TOTALLY hear eye-rolls over the phone. It’s a fact.

  2. I love this scene – it shows the mother/daughter relationship so well. Really engaging πŸ™‚

    The achievements towards you goals are awesome – impressive stuff!

  3. “Cassie nearly rolled her eyes, but she was sure her mother would somehow know even over the phone.”

    Bwahahahaha! Cuz we’re special like that. πŸ™‚

    I think the mom’s concern is cute. It would bug the daylights out of me as a daughter, but it’s a nice touch. πŸ™‚ I hope you can get transportation worked out soon.

  4. Nice little scene. πŸ™‚

  5. I agree, mum’s (sorry, mom’s) can totally hear eyes being rolled over the phone. It’s spooky! Well done on all your goals so far!

  6. Moms are just super freaky in all sorts of ways. Like magicians, or psychos…erm…psychics, that’s what I meant. *cough* Love ya, mom.

    Hey, so, moving on–great exchange between the mother and daughter here. Shows that they have a good relationship.

    And awesome news about the story. Many congrats and happy dancing and flying monkey shindigs. Wow, they’re busy this week. πŸ˜€

  7. Congrats on the story sale — and all the progress on all your goals!

    Great scene. The dynamics between mother and daughter are well drawn, and there’s lots of potential conflict hinted at.

  8. haha that sounds exactly like a conversation or two or three my mom and I have had. Great job!

  9. Congratulations on the story acceptance! That’s great!

    I like the idea of switching between drafting and editing. It seems like that would be a good way to keep your mind sharp as you go through each process. No time to get into too much of a potentially mindless routine. I can’t wait to hear how it goes.

    • Thanks.

      Yeah, I’ve done it this way before, and it seems to work for me. I just seem to have a problem focusing on one thing for long, especially if it’s not actual writing.

  10. Congrats on getting your story accepted and on all the words written this week! Excellent progress. Best of luck with your writing this week.

  11. LOL! I can read eye rolls in texts, too. Great excerpt, and it has me wondering what kind of troubles they had in the town.

  12. Wonderful progress! And good on you for having your short story accepted. Congrats. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

