Home of a mother, wife, writer

I had thought about titling this ‘before and after’, but that doesn’t quite fit. When the idea for The Choice jumped into my head last summer(2013), I knew it was going to have an alternating timeline. I’ve never done that before, but once I realized how entwined the two character’s pasts were, it seemed the only way to do it. Now, when I started plotting out Scars and All, I knew they didn’t have quite the same history. They did know each other in high school, but it wasn’t a relationship and barely even a friendship(although I’ve come to find out they both had a crush on the other). But, when I started writing it, I decided to throw in a prologue from when they were still in high school. I figured that was going to be the only past scene. Well, I’m just about 30k into the story and already there are 9 ‘before’ scenes, counting the prologue. Not only do these two characters share some history, but the antagonist also shares some with one of the characters.

I’ve only written 10 out of the last 12 days(I could call this 8 since I only wrote a total of 1k the first 2 days). And like I said, I’m almost at 30k already. It seriously feels like they’re just telling me the story and I’m writing it down. This happened with Flames of Retribution too. I’m hoping its a good thing. The characters aren’t exactly following the road map I laid out for them, but they’re sticking fairly close to it at least.

Of course, there was this typo this morning: …the press of his thing against her…no, no, no. I meant thigh. Not going there quite yet. πŸ˜‰

So, with that, I bring you this week’s WiPPet snippet. WiPPet Wednesday is hosted by the wonderful K.L. Schwengel and her flying monkeys. *glances back at the monkeys* whoops, was supposed to leave that part out. *hides from the monkeys* Anyone’s welcome to join with your snippet with a connection to the date(sometimes it’s a very loose connection, but still). Today, I have 5 paragraphs(11+12=23= 2+3=5) from the end of the scene I shared last week.

He caught her frown from the corner of his eye. “Well, okay then. I don’t remember Jesse ever doing business like that before, but whatever.”
“Guess it’s a good thing I own the business now then, I guess.”
She’d been about to climb down, but that stopped her. “Jesse doesn’t own the garage anymore?”
“Retired. Couple years ago. I really need to get going.”
Her eyes narrowed, but she turned away without another word. He watched her walk up to the house then turned and pulled away from the curb. Siddell. Her aunt was Beth Siddell. He hadn’t paid attention at first, but that last glance told him that he’d been right and wrong about his first assumption. She had been from around the area, but she’d been gone for almost a decade. “Cassie,” he murmured. Cassie Siddell was back in town.

She hasn’t recognized him yet, but that’ll be coming.

Yesterday, it was in the 60s. Today, 30s. As soon as I finish this post, I’m getting potato soup ready to throw in the crock pot. Yep, it’s that time of year again. πŸ™‚ First, how I’ve done so far this week.

  • Scars and All – Add 17000 words – at 9838/17000 words. Right on track for where I want to be. Hoping to be close to the midpoint by the end of the week.
  • Flames of Redemption – Edit through Chapter 16- finished Chapter 11 yesterday. Will be working on 12 & 13 today.
  • Chasing the Ghost – Add 1500 words – At 613/1500 right now. Haven’t written yet today, but on track.
  • Read: First World Problems(Leigh Ann Kopans), Full Measures(Rebecca Yarros), & Anything For You(Jessica Scott) – Finished First World Problems last night and loved it. Especially Callum. And the fact she made me like Sofia who I absolutely hated in Solving For Ex is incredible. Planning to start Full Measures today.
  • Read: How To Write Dazzling Dialogue – working through this. starting the section of dialogue issues next.
  • Knit: Lake District Hat – have 2/3 of it knitted(so 8 inches long) – I have about 4 inches right now, so on track.

Like that they’re all at least on target. Now, off to get that soup started then time for editing.

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Before and Now" (20)

  1. Nice! I love the way he figure it out. It’s a great reveal.

  2. I really like your ROW80 reporting: succinct and yet covering a lot of territory, including writing craft (which I set aside for November) and handcraft (ah, the joy of knitting in the cold). Today’s snippet was fun to read, leads right to that ending line of Cassie’s back in town and we see complications ahead. Well done!

  3. Hah! Lol’ing at that typo. I’m always impressed at how much you manage to get done. You are an inspiration to me, Fallon!

  4. Sounds like an interesting story structure! And it’s so amazing when you learn new things about fictional people, isn’t it?

    “His thing” made me giggle. I need to borrow that some day.

  5. Some history between these two, perhaps? Has to have been a long time ago, though, if they don’t recognize each other.

    • they went to school together, a year apart. It’s been about 9 years since they’ve seen each other. Doren has changed a good bit in that time, and he was kind of hiding himself and barely looked at her. Or at least her face. πŸ˜‰

  6. “the press of his thing against her…no, no, no. I meant thigh.” *snort* Uh-huh. Sure. That’s one for the blooper reel.

    I like how you do the reveal with this. I’ve done that with people…realize I recognize them but can’t put it all together until later.

  7. Interesting snippet. Want to find out more. Loved the mixed up word – Freudian?? lol Great goals achieved! All the best in week ahead

  8. Still giggling at the typo. Sounds like a bad YA novel. LOL!

    Great reveal. It’ll be interesting to see how she figures out who he is.

    • Yeah, i giggled when I noticed, almost as soon as I typed it. I mean, i might not always use exactly clinical terminoligy, but i don’t think I’ve ever referred to it as that. πŸ˜‰

      Thanks

  9. Nice excerpt Fallon. Intriguing and interesting. πŸ™‚

  10. “Thing” instead of “thigh.” Love it. I was reading a book that contained the phrase “pubic pressure” instead of “public pressure.” Completely different thing. Definitely a LOL moment.

    Isn’t it great when the words are flowing and the characters won’t stop talking to you? Those are the best writing times for me, when I just can’t get the words onto the page fast enough.

    Great progress on your goals, as always. I hope you’re enjoying “How to Write Dazzling Dialogue.” I know I found it helpful.

    • yeah, I went and did it again yesterday, only I was trying to type her thigh. and went, ummmmm. πŸ˜‰

      Oh, yes, and they quite surprised me yesterday with something that happened. Wasn’t expecting that at all. They aren’t exactly sticking to my plan. πŸ™‚

      Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

