Home of a mother, wife, writer

I’ve been staying caught up with my goals, at least my writing ones. Some of the others have been falling behind though. In fact, on Friday, even after writing over 3700 words on Scars and All, I wanted to keep going. Some of this may have been wanting to procrastinate on editing Flames of Redemption(which actually wasn’t so bad). Friday night we went and met my mom and stepdad for dinner then to their house to look at a toolbox my stepdad had. So, now we have a “new” toolbox for our “new” truck. Saturday was mostly catching up on the stuff I fell behind on during the week and cleaning the garage so we could get everything put away for the winter. Today, husband is out staking parking lots with the company he plows for. So, just me and the kids this morning, and I’m still catching up. My new knitting project is taking longer than I expected. For some reason, I’m always surprised that it takes longer to get any sort of length when knitting with fine or superfine yarn. I’m used to using a medium weight yarn.

IMG_0270

To stay on track with NaNoWriMo, I have to write at least 1667 words a day. Of course, I usually take the weekend off, so I’d have to write 2500 a day during the week. Except, I’d like to write the first draft of Scars and All this month. It wouldn’t be the first time I’ve done this. Last year I wrote all 80k-ish words of Flames of Redemption in November. I’m shooting for around 70k for this one. Which means an average of 3500 words a day, 5 days a week. I thought this would be a struggle. It really hasn’t been. Even though I haven’t written anything the last two days, I’m still predicted to finished by 11/24. As long as I can keep up this pace, I’m hoping to have the first draft finished by Thanksgiving.

  • Scars and All – Add 17250 words 17922/17250. An extra 672 words. Stopped in the middle of a “discussion” that I can’t wait to continue. May write a little on it today if I get everything else done on today’s list.
  • Flames of Redemption – Edit through Chapter 8 – this is done. cut 260 words from this during the week.
  • Chasing the Ghost – Add 1250 words – 1877/1250. An extra 627 above my goal. There may be some setting up of another story here, which I hadn’t even planned to write until Patrick showed up. *sigh*
  • Flames of Recompense – Outline -this is done. The plotting is rather spare at the end, so I’ll probably be reworking the outline as I write it, which probably won’t be until next fall, unless I move it up the list.
  • Read: Delusion in Death(J.D. Robb), Tangled(Emma Chase), & Sea of Secrets(Amanda DeWees) – I enjoyed Delusion in Death(although I felt like it dragged more than some of the others and Sea of Secrets was good. But, I only got through about 10% of Tangled. I just…didn’t care. Particularly once the protagonist compared women to toothpaste. So, I set that one aside. 
  • Read: How to Write Dazzling Dialogue – Get through Chapter 5 – I did get through this.
  • Knit: Finish slippers – Finished these on Thursday. Just in time for it to get cold again Friday. IMG_0268Then, I finished the Autumn Slouch Hat I’d been crocheting. The new yarn I got wasn’t quite the same shade as what I’d been using, but it’s almost close. IMG_0269And I started knitting the Lake District Hat. Like I said, this one may take a while because of the finer yarn.

Goals for next week:

  • Scars and All – Add 17000 words
  • Flames of Redemption – Edit through Chapter 16
  • Chasing the Ghost – Add 1500 words
  • Read: First World Problems(Leigh Ann Kopans), Full Measures(Rebecca Yarros), & Anything For You(Jessica Scott)
  • Read: How To Write Dazzling Dialogue
  • Knit: Lake District Hat – have 2/3 of it knitted(so 8 inches long)
Comments on: "Sunday Summary: Staying Ahead" (4)

  1. Mary said yesterday that she needs to make herself some new slippers.

    Another good week!

  2. Great progress, good for you!

    See, I’m used to using fingering weight yarn, so I’m always amazed how fast a project goes when I knit it in worsted – or even crazier, in bulky. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

