Home of a mother, wife, writer

For some, October might seem early to be getting ready for winter. But, considering it’s only about 37 degrees(F) here this morning. We have two tons of wood pellets stacked up in the garage right now and three more waiting for us down at the co-op. We can only haul one ton at a time in our little trailer, so we’ll be getting the rest throughout the week. Over the last few years we’ve developed a good system of unloading them. I pull them down and hand them to my husband, and he carries them into the garage. Works good until I actually have to climb into the trailer to get the last of them, and have to stay crouched down since the trailer isn’t quite tall enough.

I fell a bit behind on my goals on Wednesday. Editing out ‘was’ too me all that day. I played catch-up on Thursday and Friday. I had all my writing goals finished by 6 Friday night. Yesterday meant playing catchup with crafting and other goals. I finally figured out the new sewing machine and fixed the girl’s nightgowns that my MiL had made for her. And cut out two pieces of white fleece to make the boy some pants for his Halloween costume(seriously, we could not find any white sweatpants anywhere). And I’ve been fleshing out a short story. It started as a flash pieces I wrote during the Story a Day challenge a couple years ago. It was less than 500 words then. Right now it’s sitting at a little over 1800 and I think there’s 2 more scenes to add. And it’s putting ideas in my head for a new series.

  • Healing the Heart – finish polishing – I finished this up on Friday and rearranged chapters Saturday(I had some around 1k and at least one that was over 6k. now all are between 2-3k-ish). It’s now ready to send to my CP as soon as she’s ready for it.
  • Chasing the Ghost – Draft through Chapter 8 – this is done. Added 5857 words this week. Chapter 9 starts with a scene that would happen about a month after chapter 8 ends, so I need to figure out what happens between then. That will probably move the current start of 9 to a later chapter.
  • Flames of Justice – write another 1250 words – I wrote exactly 1250 words this week, and no, I didn’t end in the middle of a sentence.
  • Brainstorm Pirates idea & Nolan’s story/decide what to plot next – decided to put the Pirates idea aside for now. Did some brainstorming on Nolan’s story. Realized it’s going to start later than I’d planned, so thinking Callum’s story might come first after all(which had been the planned next story until Nolan started telling me his).
  • Revise RoW80 sponsor post – done & sent in on Friday. Keep second-guessing what I wrote, but I just need to stop worrying about it.
  • Read: finish Firelands & Summer of Change(Elena Aitken) – just finished Summer of Change last night. Really enjoyed it. That finished my goal of 10 books for this month. Also finished listening to The Collector(Nora Roberts). I may have loved the side characters’ love story even more than the main characters’, but I liked it.
  • Read: Rise of the Machines – Through Section 3 – got through this on Friday.
  • Crochet: Lamb hat – finished this yesterday. I have 2 more projects on my list for this month, but I don’t have the yarn for either of them. So, I’m going to make myself a pair of slippers instead. IMG_0236

Goals for next week:

  • Healing the Heart – send to CP
  • The Choice – start revising as soon as I get it back from CP
  • Chasing the Ghost – write 5 scenes
  • Flames of Justice – 1250 words
  • Short Story – finish fleshing out & read over again
  • Callum’s Story – Brainstorm
  • Read: Rise of the Machines: Section 4
  • Knit: slippers
Comments on: "Sunday Summary: Readying for Winter" (8)

  1. I love the hat, so cute.

  2. An excellent week! Cute hat. Have a stellar week, Fallon! 🙂

  3. Not too early for winter prep at all! I already have snow at my house…something I am not too thrilled with! Good luck in preparing!

  4. It’s really felt like autumn for the last few days. I actually had to turn the heat on this morning for a few minutes just to warm up the apartment.

    Looks like you had a productive week. Congrats!

    • We were at almost 80 degrees the other week(for like 1 day) and then it got suddenly cold. It’s supposed to stick around 50-60 for the next week. That’s not too bad at least.

      Thanks

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

