Home of a mother, wife, writer

I have been making a good bit of progress this week. I’ve made it more than halfway through the list of words I need to kill in Healing the Heart. ‘Very’ wasn’t too bad. Only about 12 of those through it. ‘Was’ on the other hand…let’s just say, I edited for about an hour & a half this morning and still not quite halfway through the MS. And that’s even with going through a couple chapters last night. Doesn’t seem to matter how many times I edit it out, I keep putting it in first drafts.

Yesterday morning I went for my usual walk. The weather was really warm, especially for mid-October. All of a sudden, I see this large black dog running right at me. A moment of “oh crap” then he runs around me and starts back down the road. It kept stopping and looking back though, like he was making sure I was following. Thank goodness it was friendly at least(and someone did come and get him).

For today’s WiPPet, I have 7 sentences(1+0+1+5) from Chapter 4 of Law of Choice.

He’d always been told what a chip of the old block he was of his father. It had made his little boy heart proud at one time. Until he’d realized his father was just like the bullies at school. Then, he just wanted them to stop saying it. People did when they noticed Brian and his mother leaving the house with bruises. It still slipped out sometimes, and the words seemed to shadow him.
If he stayed here in town, he’d end up just like his father.

WiPPet is hosted by the wonderful K.L. Schwengel each Wednesday. Feel free to join us or read all the wonderful snippets here.

Anyway, onto RoW80. Like I said above, I’ve made some nice progress this week.

  • Healing the Heart – finish polishing – like I said, I’m more than halfway through this. Still should be able to finish by the end of the week.
  • Chasing the Ghost – Draft through Chapter 8 – I have 1 more scene in Chapter 7 to finish then 2(at least) in Chapter 8 to write. Still on track with this.
  • Flames of Justice – write another 1250 words – 540/1250 so far. Haven’t worked on it yet today, but should be able to stay on track.
  • Brainstorm Pirates idea & Nolan’s story/decide what to plot next – didn’t work on either. Decided to flesh out the outline for my NaNo instead. I should finish that today, then I’m going to start brainstorming Nolan’s story since I’m more excited about that one than the Pirates idea.
  • Revise RoW80 sponsor post – this is done. Going to read it over again then send it off.
  • Read: finish Firelands & Summer of Change(Elena Aitken) – finished reading Firelands last night. Enjoyed it. haven’t started Summer of Change yet, but I probably will today.
  • Read: Rise of the Machines – Through Section 3 – Finished Section 2 & am not quite halfway through section 3.
  • Crochet: Lamb hat – almost finished with this. Just need to finish the ears and sew them on.
Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Search & Destroy" (19)

  1. I have to do a search and destroy before I send to my editor. Ick. I guess we all have our habits (though I don’t think “was” is always bad, I know I need to cut back more. Just, very, possibly, might… ugh.)

    • not always bad, but I use it way too much. cut over 700 words while searching for it(some of those were whole sentences I realized were unnecessary). I also have a problem with filter words: thought, knew, saw, heard. *snip, snip* 🙂

  2. My search and destroys are for laughed, chuckled, sighed, and smiled. I have this apparent opposition to traditional dialogue tags and those are my replacements. Unfortunately, they’re no better if I use them FOUR THOUSAND TIMES. Slight exaggeration there. Okay, slightly more than slight. You get the picture.

    • yeah, I should probably add those to my list too. My characters tend to shrug a lot. and sigh and smile. or shake their heads.

  3. Great progress on your ROW80! And good luck on your Search & Destroy quest! I won’t start editing until the new year.

    • Thanks! I have a lot of projects sitting, so I alternate my focus each month between drafting & editing. This month is more for editing, but I can’t let many days go without writing new words.

  4. How do you do your search and destroy? I found out that Scrivener will actually give you a list of words and how many times they are used in your project, starting with the most used. My characters sigh a lot. LOL

    I haven’t written my sponsor post yet, but I know what it’s about. 🙂

    Good luck the rest of the week!

    • I use the find feature in Scrivener and have a list of the words I need to search for, which always seems to be expanding. 🙂

  5. Great progress 🙂 It sounds like you’re right on track – a great place to be. I enjoyed the snippet, it packed a powerful punch, creating a shocking picture of Brian’s life.

  6. =( this is a very sad and yet very true excerpt. I’ve seen it countless times. Well done on doing it so succinctly and powerfully.

    Great job on progress this week!

  7. I admit, I tripped over the first sentence. It just reads a bit awkward. But the paragraph definitely packs a wallop. It really grabs at the heart.

    Search and destroy…I tend to have people cocking their heads, cocking a brow, cocking an arm…yeah. Great fun. 😉

  8. This is intriguing Fallon. I want to know more about the main character and how what his dad’s done has affected him and how this develops the story. 🙂

  9. Search and destroy – great way to refer to those painful deletions and replacements! Glad I’m not the only one that runs those kind of missions at the end of a book. 🙂

  10. A lot of powerful truth in that excerpt. Really makes me feel for Brian.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

