Home of a mother, wife, writer

We had the boy’s birthday party on Sunday. 4 years old. I can hardly believe it.

he used to be a lot smaller than that dog.

he used to be a lot smaller than that dog.

10 months old(oldest pic I have on here of him with the dog)

10 months old(oldest pic I have on here of him with the dog)

We almost had a disaster with the cake. I baked it Saturday morning, and when I went to take it out of the pan, it kind of fell a part. A chunk in the middle of the one side didn’t come out with the rest of the cake. Added to that, the boy tried to take another chunk out of it while it was cooling off. I thought I’d have to bake another one, then husband had the idea to make it a construction site cake. We got different sprinkles and some little toy construction equipment. And he set about decorating it(I may be able to make up stories, but I’m not very visually creative). It did turn out nice(and even tasted good).

IMG_0206 IMG_0209

He had a good party and got some new clothes and toys(and got to put some Legos together with Daddy).

Anyway, you’re probably either here to read another snippet from my WiP or to see how I’m doing with my goals for the week. First up: 9 paragraphs from the next chapter of Flames of Retribution. It’s a few days after the last snippet. Caitie was on duty, spotted a fire, called it in. Mark & other firefighters responded. This is right after, and Mark has pretty much told her she shouldn’t have even been there.

“Why, Mark?” She asked again. “Why don’t you think I should be doing my job?”
He turned to her, and she was surprised to see the misery ravaging his eyes. “Because,” his voice ground out, “you could be hurt. You could be killed. I don’t want to have to see you buried too.”
Too? That made her wonder who else he’d seen buried. “Mark, I’m not hurt or dead. You could be just as easily. So, why-”
“That’s different,” he snapped before she could finish her question.
“Why?” She asked. But, the anger had drained out of her at the anguish she saw in his eyes. “How is it any different?”
“Because I don’t give a goddamn about what happens to me.”
She drew in a sharp breath and reached out for him. “Mark, how can you even say something like that? What about the people you’d leave behind?”
“Who?” He demanded. “My mother has never cared about anyone except herself. My father practically disowned me when I came back from the Marines. My little brother agrees with everything he says. And my sister,” his voice broke then. “My sister has a family of her own to worry about.” He sucked in air, and she was sure he hadn’t meant to say all that. “You, though, you have a whole big family who cares about you. A family who would be devastated to lose you. I don’t have anyone.”
“What about me, you fuckhead?” Nolan said, stepping up behind them. “How about all of them?” He gestured back toward the trucks. “Josh’s family. Kayla. Every goddamn one of us. So stop being such an asshole.”

Nolan’s actually very pissed with him right now, and he’s not the type to get worked up about much.

As for my ROW80 update, things are going well. Not as high a word count as I’d planned, but it’s going well.

  • Flames of Retribution – 4 hours a day for hopefully around 20k(which will bring me to around 75k) – I’ve gotten the 4 hours in the last 2 days. Not there quite yet for today though. I’ve written 6733 so far this week. At least 10 more scenes to go.
  • Healing the Heart – 1 hour a day & hopefully half way through it I’ve gotten my time in the last two days and am part way through Chapter 10.
  • GH&SF – finish character work – this is done & I’ve started figuring out the plot summary
  • Read: The Coldest Girl in Coldtown(Holly Black), Ashes and Bone(Stacy Green), Dare to Desire(Carly Phillips), & Hanna, Hanna, One-and-Two(Myndi Shafer) Finished Coldest Girl in Coldtown on Monday. About 40% through Ashes and Bone right now. Wanted to just sit down and read straight through once I picked it up. So, I have to make sure to get everything done before I open it up again.
  • Read: Writing about Magic(Rayne Hall) – Through Chapter 9 – I’m through chapter 6 right now.
  • Knit: Bee-utiful Dishcloth – about halfway through this. At least I’m making progress now.
Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Post Birthday Party" (17)

  1. LOVE the cake! Again, enjoyed your dialog and the emotions you get from it. Wishing you continued success with your goals.

  2. Still not reading the WIPpet, LOL. But the cake looks (looked, I guess, by now!) awesome and a lot of fun! Happy birthday to the little (maybe not so little) guy, and great job on the goals, Fallon!

  3. The cake looks awesome! Very nice.

    Love the WIPpet, too. Even if you hadn’t said anything, it would have been obvious Nolan’s not pleased. I hope Mark listens to him.

  4. I have a feeling that if Nolan and Caitie team up, Mark will have no choice but to get his head out of his…

    I love the cake. And he got bonus toys, so that’s extra awesome!

    May the next year be amazing for you all!

  5. I’d be right there with Nolan being pissed. This is one of those scenes where you want to scream, “Snap out of it!” and award the idiot slap. Grrrr.

    That cake is amazing! Way to turn a near-disaster into a triumph de arte!

  6. Love the cake! I concur on the slapping Mark. He deserves it and Nolan is rightfully pissed off.

  7. They grow up so fast. I’m headed into kid birthday season myself and it is hard facing it sometimes.

    Great snippet and great job on your goals.

  8. Awww, love the little guy. What a sweetie. And great save with the cake! I think that’s quite brilliant to turn it into a construction site

    Intense scene here. I love the contrast in how Caitie responds and how Nolan responds. Nolan is such a guy – made me smile to read his dialogue.

    My God you’re productive! Go you with the excellent word counts. I’m a bit jealous!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

