Home of a mother, wife, writer

Both of my kids started back to school yesterday. The boy is going to a preschool program in town. It’s not through the school, but the building is right across from the elementary school. They even provide breakfast and lunch. He had a good first day. They send home a little note every day with what they did and even what they ate. True to form, he ate all of his breakfast and lunch, and even had seconds of a few things. The girl didn’t tell me too much about her day, except that one of her friends from last year is in her class, a little boy that she usually ate lunch with last year. They were both excited to go back today(so was I since for the hour they were awake, they were constantly fighting).

For today’s WiPPet, I’m sharing the beginning of the next scene, which switches into Mark’s POV. This is the first 9 paragraphs(2+7).

Mark thought his head was going to explode. He’d expected he’d probably see Caitie around again. At some point. But, not like this. Never like this. She was a goddamn cop? This was almost more than he could take. He turned on her when they were outside. “What the hell, Caitie?”
“You know that’s the third time you’ve said that tonight, Mark. Are you having memory problems?”
“No, I’m not fucking having memory problems. I remember every word that’s passed between us. Never once did you say you were a fucking cop.”
“I didn’t think you were all that concerned about my occupation the other night. I’m not a different person just because I’m wearing this uniform.”
Maybe he had been hit in the head. He felt like his brain was scrambled. He couldn’t even grab on to any words. He could feel the anger reach up and grab him by the throat. “You-God, Caitie. How can you put yourself into a position like this?” Okay, he could find words. Not the right ones, but they were words.
“Like what, Mark? I’m not putting myself into any kind of position.” She took a step closer to him. “I’m a cop. That’s my job.”
“And it’s a job that could get you fucking killed,” he cried. Then, he cringed. He hadn’t meant to lose it. And he realized it wasn’t just anger he felt. There was fear buried in there too. He saw Erin laughing as she’d swung up into the truck. Then, the blast when the IED had gone off. And then Caitie’s face above him the other night. He couldn’t deal with this. Not again. “Not fucking again,” he muttered.
“What’s the matter?” He kept his eyes closed, but he could feel her hand press against his chest. “Mark, will you look at me?”
He couldn’t though. He was afraid everything would shatter if he opened his eyes. “Damn it, Mark.” Some of the calm she’d shown started to slip. “I’m not the only one with a dangerous job. You run into burning buildings. Don’t you think anyone ever worries you won’t come back out?”

I haven’t been sticking with my working 6 hours a day plan. Instead I set up goals and work until I reach them. It hasn’t taken me even 5 hours a day to do that. I think I may end up raising those goals next week(other than the side projects. I’ll be keeping those at 1 page a day)

  • Flames of Retribution – At least 10k words – I’ve written 6070 so far this week. Should be able to hit this goal by Friday.
  • Healing the Heart –  get through Chapter 25. – I finished Ch 24 and 1/3 scenes of Ch 25.
  • East of Abilene – finish replotting
  • Green Hills & Smoky Fields – brainstorm(this is a historical that I wrote years ago. But, I want to start basically from scratch) – brainstorming characters right now. have had a few different ideas on where to take the story. Thinking it won’t look a whole lot like the original, which is probably a good thing since I wrote that when I was about 15/16. These characters have stuck in my head though.
  • Law of Choice – 5 pages – 3/5 pages. about 725 words once I typed everything up(and probably added/changed some words)
  • Flames of Justice – 5 pages – 3/5 pages. about 785 words
  • Knit: Finish Turtle Love Bib – finished this yesterday
  • So far this week, I’ve finished reading: The Knight(Monica McCarty), Three Little Words(Lauren Hawkeye), Beauty and the Best Man(Maureen Child), and Weekend with the Tycoon(Kaira Rouda). Also finished listening to Timebound(Rysa Walker) and started Under the Never Sky(Veronica Rossi)

It’s been a really good start to the week.

 

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Back To School Edition" (23)

  1. Brilliant WIPpet! 🙂

  2. Great excerpt Fallon. I like the tension between the two characters and the way you get inside Mark’s head. I got a good sense of his frustration and unease. 🙂

  3. Was Mark also in the military? That’s the only way I can see an IED being used. I don’t think fire fighters see them that often. Other than that, I love the tension between Caitie and Mark and how well you’ve drawn the characters. I feel like I know them.

  4. Wow–some really powerful emotions coming out in the WIPpet. Nice!

  5. I love these characters. Can’t wait for you to be finished so I can read them all! =P

  6. “He could feel the anger reach up and grab him by the throat.” Excellent, excellent line. Very evocative.

  7. Great progress, Fallon, And a great scene!

  8. Love the WIPpet! Glad to see your week’s been good to you! 🙂

  9. I love them! I love the tension here. He’s so hot-headed about it, but she’s all calm, even when telling him people worry about him, too. I can’t quite tell what I think of Mark, but man, I absolutely love Caitie.

  10. Sounds like things are coming together for you. I love being in that place.

    Mark and Caitie are definitely growing on me as my understanding of them deepens. Poor Mark – it can be hard to open up again, after tragedy, and especially if there’s risk of tragedy in the current situation.

    And Caitie…seems like she just doesn’t seem to understand the depths of Mark’s anguish and distress.

    • Thanks. Well, there are only 2 other characters that know exactly what happened. So, she doesn’t really understand why he’s reacting like this.

  11. I love this, “Okay, he could find words. Not the right ones, but they were words.” But man, talk about reaching into my chest and ripping my heart out. I wasn’t sure at the beginning if Mark’s reaction was justified. By the end I just want to snuggle him.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

