Home of a mother, wife, writer

I realized that I am currently working on three different stories that are all in the same series. I’m editing Flames of Redemption(#1), drafting Flames of Renewal(#2), and plotting Flames of Retribution(#3). This is something that probably won’t happen very often. It probably wouldn’t be now if Mark would leave me alone and not insist I get to his story(which is #3). I’m almost done drafting Renewal and almost done plotting Retribution, so I may be able to start writing it before next week. Renewal is low on the word count. Only have 1 more scene left to write and it’s just over 60k. I do usually add words during the 2nd draft, so I’m sure it will end up longer before anyone else reads it.

Now, before I get to my ROW80 check-in, I have my WiPPet snippet to share. I couldn’t decide on anything to share from Flames of Renewal, so I decided to share a bit from a kind of bonus scene I wrote. It’s from this scene that I shared a couple weeks ago. Only it’s something that James didn’t see happen and could only be told from Mark’s POV. These 2 will be the MCs in the next story. But, Mark’s first impression of Caitie is that she’s a teenager(she’s actually 28). So, he’s rather disturbed by his reaction to her. 32 sentences(7+30-1-4).

The girl’s eyes came up to his, and he was almost knocked over by them. They didn’t look like a teenager’s eyes. Too much heat, too much knowledge. Not nearly enough innocence.
One of the men stepped in front of her, nearly eclipsing his vision of her. “Who are you?”
β€œMark Young. I’m with the fire department.” He pushed the glasses up to the top of his head now. “And you?”
“Damn it, Brann,” the girl said, stepping in front of him. “I don’t care if you are my big brother, I’m the one that set this detail up.”
“You did?” Mark asked, although he was still stuck on the big brother part. They didn’t look anything alike. She was tiny and light. He was big and dark.
She turned to him, her eyes like blue fire. “Yes, I did, Mr. Badass Marine. What did you think? A woman couldn’t handle this kind of thing? I’ll have you know,-”
He held up a hand. “What did you call me?” He could barely keep a quiver of laughter from his voice.
“You heard me. That’s what your tattoo means, doesn’t it? Don’t all you Marines think you’re badasses?”
“Caitie,” the man, Brann, groaned behind her.
But, Mark’s lips twitched. “Sure we are. Now, what do you have for me to do?”

Oh, I’m sure I’m going to have fun with these two. πŸ˜‰

WiPPet is put on by mastermind K.L. Schwengel and anyone is welcome to post their snippet over here. Just watch out for those monkeys hovering in the corner. πŸ˜‰

Now, for my RoW80 Check-In:

  • Flames of Renewal – Finish 1st draft – so, so close. I have one scene left to go. Was struggling a bit with one earlier today. So just wrote the first thing that came into my head for it, and then the words rolled out from there.
  • Flames of Redemption – Finish edits – Close on this one too. 4 more chapters to get through.
  • Flames of Retribution – Finish plotting – another close one. I just have to do my scene list and summaries, and I’ll be ready to start writing.
  • Rick & Leann – 500 words – 346 words so far.
  • Read: Because of You(Jessica Scott) & Finding Perfect(Susan Mallery) I enjoyed because of you. And enjoying Finding Perfect, although I think it’s in the middle of a series. It doesn’t effect the story too much really. This was a thrift store find, but I may have to pick up the others in the series.
  • Knit: Leaf Lace Washcloth – More than halfway through this. I made a mistake in one of the rows of the pattern repeat and slipped the stitch the wrong way, I think. Didn’t notice it until I had several more rows done. Other than that, it’s looking nice so far.

I should certainly have all of these finished up before the Sunday check-in. Most likely even before the end of the month.

Comments on: "Writing Wednesday: Three In One" (22)

  1. Oh! I officially like Mark. I love the exchange and the twitch of his lips as he tries to keep that smirk away. I’m assuming it’s a smirk. Catie, however, seems to have somewhat of a chip on her shoulder. I’m guessing she’s used to people–especially men–judging her by her size and sex.

    • yay! I’m glad someone else likes Mark. He really was a jerk through most of the first book. It’s not really too big of a chip. She is used to getting crap from people though and she doesn’t take much of it. She’s also very open about what she’s feeling and thinking.

  2. Looks like you are doing great with your goals. I’ve seen people post pieces of WIPs, I must admit, that makes me nervous. Sounds great. Keep it up.

  3. Man, this post made me miss the days of working on multiple WIPs at once! It’s good that I’ve forced myself to focus on one big one at a time (FOR NOW), but I always did like working on several projects at once, especially when they were interconnected.

    Great job on the goals, Fallon! So close to the end on so many of them, all you need is just that one last push and they’ll be done before you know it.

    • I’ve tried working on only one, and it just doesn’t seem to work for me. I do put most of my energy to the one I’m drafting. I’m actually planning on trying a time goal for when the kids go back to school(actually I’m going to try it out next month to see how it goes).

      Thanks! This month has been really good for me especially since the kids have been home(and I am so ready for summer break to be over).

  4. I love it when my characters assert themselves and ask to be written! I just wish they had better timing. They always tend to do it when I need to work on something else.

    • It is nice. He just needs to have a little more patience. Of course, that’s not something Mark has a lot of. πŸ™‚

  5. You’re doing well on the goals, as always. I have faith that you can do everything on you list here by Sunday.

    Mary doesn’t call her knitting mistakes “mistakes”; she calls them “on-the-fly design changes.”

  6. I completely adore Caitie’s spunk. I love how Brann’s super exasperated with her, but she just ignores him. I would too! πŸ™‚

    • Yes, she’s gotten used to ignoring both of her older brothers. Don’t really meet them in this one, but they’ll be in the next story quite a bit, I think.

  7. Great excerpt! You had me smiling with that exchange. Good luck on finishing up those goals. You’re right… so, so close! πŸ™‚

  8. I love these two so far!!! They’re awesome

  9. I love the interplay between these characters and it seems very natural.

  10. *snork, snicker* I love it. She’s all geared up for a fight, and the guys are just there. πŸ™‚

  11. Teehee, this made me grin. I really enjoyed the banter.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

