Home of a mother, wife, writer

This month has already gotten off to a good start. By the time I went to bed on Friday, I had written 13,688 words on Stained by Ashes. And was able to write ‘The End’. Still more work to do on it, but the first draft is finished. And I wrote 381 words on Flames of Renewal(my 2nd Camp NaNoWriMo project) yesterday. I’d been stuck on this scene when I was working on this WiP before and had moved onto the next. I seem to have gotten past that block with pen and paper though.

Of course, that’s not all I’ll be working on this round. Since during the last round, I figured out I work best when I have a few projects going in different stages, I’m going to continue with that. Also continuing with breaking quarterly(round) goals into monthly goals. And monthly goals into weekly. I’ve already finished one goal I had for the third quarter(finishing Stained by Ashes), and just about finished with revisions for The Choice. Also have 3/10 of this month’s books & finished one of my crafting projects. As for the rest of them:

Writing:

  • Flames of Renewal – 1st draft
  • Law of Choice(working title for The Choice prequel) – 1st draft
  • Chasing the Ghost – pick back up(about 11-12k already written)
  • Stained Snow – get ready to publish
  • Flames of Redemption – send to betas
  • The Choice – send to CP and hopefully edit
  • Stained Blood(follow-up to Stained by Ashes) – Outline
  • Flames of Retribution(Flames #3 – Mark’s story for anyone who’s read #1) – outline
  • Fantasy story idea – flesh out & outline
  • Pirates story idea – flesh out & outline
  • Rick & Leann(short story) – finish

I know, it’s a lot of goals, but it is for over 3 months and some I’ve already started on. I have about 11k of Flames of Renewal. I’ve start my plotting process on Stained Blood already and have some brainstorming notes for Flames #3. Still I know I may not get to everything.

Reading:

  • Listen to 3 audiobooks
  • Read 27 fiction books
  • Read 3 writing craft/research books

Crafting:

  • Knit: 9 projects
  • Crochet: 6 projects

And for the rest of July, I will be focusing on:

Writing:

  • Flames of Renewal – add 50k
  • The Choice – polish & send to CP
  • Flames of Redemption – work through CP’s comments
  • Stained Blood – outline
  • Flames of Retribution – Write back stories
  • Rick & Leann – write 500 words/week

Reading:

  • Finish listening to Days of Blood & Starlight
  • Read: 7 fiction books
  • Read: Myths and Legends of the Great Plains

Crafting:

  • Knit: 2 projects(I’ve already finished 1 this month) – Basic Newborn hat & Leaf Lace Washcloth
  • Crochet: 2 projects – Flower Power Dishcloth & Round Basket
Easy Stay On Bib

Easy Stay On Bib

And for the first week of this round:

  • Flames of Renewal – 15,000 words
  • The Choice – Polish & send to CP
  • Stained Blood – Character work
  • Rick & Leann – 500 words
  • Read: The Star Thief(Jamie Grey) &  Tall, Dark, and Dangerous(Suzanne Brockmann)
  • Crochet: Flower Power Dishcloth

Hope everyone has a great round!

Comments on: "Sunday Summary: ROW80 Round 3 Goals" (7)

  1. Hi, your goals sound very, very ambitious but from the looks of it you will probably be able to reach them. Breaking the big round goals down into smaller and smaller pieces is really smart, it stops them from being overwhelming and forces you to think about what it’s going to take to reach those big goals using lots of little steps.

    I look forward to reading more and can’t wait to see how you do.

    Nicole

    • I’ve found breaking them down really does help. At least this seems to be the way it works best for me.

      Thanks

  2. That’s an extensive list. 😉 But I know you can hit your goals.

  3. Wow, that is one comprehensive – nay, exhaustive! – list you’ve got there. Well, for me it would be exhausting, at least. I wish you the best this Round! I’m sure you’ll reach most, if not all of your goals!

  4. Most excellent breakdown if I do say so. I would love to be that streamlined. I am still a WIP myself, working on making small goals a habit and building other smaller goals into bigger goals over the Round. I shall be a cheerleader on your sideline though (when not working on my own goals). ~pulls out pom poms~ 🙂 Have a great week, Fallon.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

