Home of a mother, wife, writer

So, I’ve had a productive week. So productive, that I’m actually writing this up on Friday. I probably won’t do much over the weekend anyway, and if I do, I’ll update this post. 🙂

The girl got home just before lunch on Thursday. And of course, the boy wouldn’t nap. So, we ended up going outside shortly after lunch. And spending most of the afternoon out there. Between that and when I was outside with the boy in the morning, I wrote over 1000 words in my notebook. Not too bad. Friday morning we were outside by 9 and didn’t come in until lunch time. And the boy fell pretty much right to sleep. And we spent all afternoon out there.

Mowing the lawn

Mowing the lawn

Saturday was my husband’s cousin’s daughter’s birthday party and my MIL took the kids to that. My husband was working so I had the house to myself. I figured I’d use that time to get some writing done. Yeah, not so much. I wrote about 200 words while bingeing on Supernatural then kept watching and playing solitaire. I don’t usually just let myself sit, so the break was nice.
Today is my niece’s birthday party(I was just saying that a few weeks ago too. That happens when you have 5 nieces/2 nephews). Also a benefit for my husband’s old boss who died the Friday before Memorial Day. So we’ll be out most of the day. This is normal for summer weekends.

  • Healing the Heart – Read through & make notes on scenes to add/cut – Done. I ended up with about 55 highlights & notes on my kindle for this. And after I put everything into the scrivener file, I had a few new scenes added as well.
  • Stained by Ashes – 12k words – done. I had almost 2k written by about 7:30 this morning which put me just over 12k. Wrote even more Friday night, and happened to wake up early Saturday morning so decided I might as well write. Ending up getting it up to 14,650 words.
  • Flames of Renewal – Read through what I wrote in February(about 10k words, I think) A lot of typos and some things I’m not sure about, but a good start.
  • Brian’s Story – brainstorm – worked on this while sitting outside Friday morning. Not sure exactly sure where this story will go, even though I know the basics of what it will be about. Thinking about mostly pantsing it.
  • Rick & Leann – 500 words – Only wrote on this 3 days this week, but got 505 words.
  • Read: Gypsy(Trisha Leigh), Swords & Salt Collection(Lindsay Buroker), & Against All Odds(Angie McKeon) I really enjoyed the first two. The third…wasn’t bad, but…I don’t really know how to describe how I felt about it. There were a lot of flashbacks, and a lot of dysfunction. And it was almost too much for me. Since I finished these, I started Celebrity in Death(J.D. Robb) which I had picked up in paperback back on Mother’s Day. Finished this Friday night. I still love these books. Whether she’s writing as J.D. Robb or Nora Roberts, I love the interactions between characters, romantic or not. I still have I think 3 more to catch up in this series.
  • Knit: Schooner Hat I didn’t work on this, but I did finish the Headwrap. If I can pick up the yarn I need this weekend, I’ll start the hat next week.

20140605-055122-21082013.jpg

Goals for next week:

  • Stained by Ashes – Continuing with goal of 2k/day during the week & 1k Saturday & Sunday. So, I hope to have 26k by next weekend
  • Healing the Heart – Revise through chapter 10
  • Flames of Renewal – Write 5 scenes
  • Brian’s Story – character bios
  • Rick & Leann – 500 words(was going to up this to 1000, but with the other projects, I may not get to this)
  • Read: No Regrets Trilogy set(Lauren Blakely)
  • Knit: Schooner Hat

Not sure if I’ll be able to get to all of this, but if it is too much, I’ll reevaluate for next week. I hope the way I’ll have it broken up for each day will help.

Comments on: "Sunday Summary: Getting Ahead" (4)

  1. Congrats on getting so much done! I can so relate to your home-alone time–I always have big plans to get a lot of writing done, and mostly end up playing computer games. But we all need a break, sometimes from everything. Your little guy mowing the lawn is so cute!

  2. Oh, Summer *sigh*, how I miss thee. One of the disadvantages of living on the bottom of the world is that I have to read all about your beautiful Summer weather while freezing my rear end off (I hate Winter – could you tell?). Awesome job with the goals.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

